10/18Buddy +12 98 n/shot PMPS 385 +1.2 365 +3.5 289 +11 206

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Scientist and Buddy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Morning all,

While this morning yielded unexpectedly low AMPS, all is not lost. Learned a lot from the curve yesterday. Let me recap: I was home, it was sunny so the house was warmer than it's been around 70F. His ears had no trouble bleeding. He also got about 1-1.5 tbps. food with or directly after reading. Some of the time he didn't even eat much. I think he liked knowing he could have some if he wanted it. Also, he was much more lovey than normal. We call it "Buddy burry face", cause he curls up next to you and burries his face in your arm and usually wraps on paw around your arm or hand (see pic in his profile). So he hovered high during the day, yes, he was affectionate in the morning, not so much through +4 but as insulin was working more to bring him back down, he became more lovey again around +7 through +8. I was actually really surprised to see such a high number at +8 based on his behavior. I guess even though he was high, he was also getting nourished as I assume this is about his nadir. Hated going early, but we had plans for girlfriend's dad's birthday and I was 20 min. early on the evening PMPS and shot. Don't know if this has anything to do with his low AMPS or not. Definitely not ready to change doses. I wanted to get a before bed reading, but fell asleep keeping Jade company in the front room trying to get her to eat. This is really a challenge. He was hard to get blood out of today. It was cool in the house and he folded his ears back prior to me trying to get blood - this combo always leads to tough bleeding. On the agenda for review: I not only need some later evening numbers like +4, but also some +0.5's and +1's. I don't know if I'm gonna be lucid enough for a +11 at 4:30ish or not but it would be wonderful if I could pull it off every now and then. I purchased the 2bowl Petsafe timed feeder from Amazon yesterday. Hopefully it comes quickly. Oh, and the girlfriend also saw on Saturday that Buddy gnaws at the kitty pop before it's thawed . . . .
Still pooping a whole lot, relatively formed piles, not quite well formed though. 4p's minus the play.


Tony and Buddy

Edited: I wonder if a lower evening dose is going to be in order (no changes right now just hypothesizing).
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot

Very nice report this morning...glad you were able to do that curve yesterday.
I agree that some more PM testing would be good. Considering his numbers yesterday, I guess he will be right up there again tonight....but there isn't much you can do about that, right? Good about the feeders...things never come soon enough, right? But that is so good that you ordered them. And now for another long week...hope you have a Happy Monday!
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot

Pat,

Thanks. Saturday, I was able to get him exactly 12 hours apart (cause landscaping is only a 35 min drive) instead of being a little late with the PM stuff. Do you think this may be why we saw a nice AMPS Sunday? Also, while I'm trying to be as consistent as possible with the dosing, I was thinking if I could get my hands on the Lantus diluent that having a more diluted insulin would make it easier to be consistent. Small variations would be less impactful if say I was using Lantus25 instead of 100. Just a pipe dream here, but do you have any knowledge on this? I wouldn't want to use something like normal saline based on the way lantus is formulated to precipitate once injected into a mostly neutral sub-Q environment from a pH of 4 in the bottle. Probably just a pipe dream. . . .
Do you think other people would be interested in trying something like this? I wonder if Sanofi would be interested in doing a trial?

Tony
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot

Great job on the curve.

I would not recommend giving a different dose at PM. Lantus is an insulin that likes consistency. Shooting different doses at AM and PM will play havoc with the shed. If it ends up that you have to skip shots on a regular basis, it would be better to consider lowering Buddy's dose so you can shoot twice a day. That's something we can consider if we see a pattern.

I'd like to suggest that you routinely get a before bed test. You do need to start getting tests during the PM cycle. Many cats have lower numbers at night. Skipping tests in the PM means you're losing half of your data. It's particularly important to get PM tests since you are gone during the day. In addition, you're seeing some lower AMPS numbers. Right now, you don't have any idea where those numbers are coming from. I'm guessing that Buddy is running lower at night and like yesterday, you are seeing a bounce at some point in the cycle.
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot

Glad you were able to get a curve done on Buddy ... everyone here is giving you great advice so I'll just say, have a great monday guys!
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot update just realized somethi

Ok, have to get these into the spreadsheet as well. Just checked w/the GF, and he puked a bit Sat into Sun. He did 10/12 into 10/13 as well. Could this be an over night hypo? And then he's bouncing up? So damn confusticated about it all. Now, I'm thinking of lowering dose back to 0.5 or lower and starting over. grrr.

Tony
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot update just realized somethi

If there are no numbers, it's anyone's guess about what numbers he had....maybe he did go a little lower. Even a yellow can cause a kitty's Liver to over react with following highs. So, that is why we stress getting more data ...so you won't have to guess about what happened.
Sometimes, the puking can be from trying to get up a hairball. Have you seen hairballs much with Buddy? They also might puke some bile if they are hungry...or they might vomit if they eat too fast. Keep watching to see if he is doing that each night so you can try to figure out the cause. How is his appetite? What did you leave out for him today to eat?

BTW, LOVED that picture of your Buddy Love!!! SO cute how he snuggles!!!
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot update just realized somethi

Pat,

Yeah, trying not to jump to conclusions right now. Just throwing out ideas popping into my head. As far as hairballs, to the best of my knowledge, he has never had one. He was on Iams Indoor weight/hairball dry formula for most of his life, but I have not seen an actually hairball in his vomit lately or ever but I can't remember that far back for an ever statement. . . . Puke def has food involved not just empty bile, but also not a regurgitation. So it might be a hypo, might be eating too fast too much still. Yesterday with me home, he was soooo much more relaxed. Appetite still high, a snack was left out for him at 8:15am along with the 2 kitty pops as well - I hope he doesn't eat em right after his snack. Can't wait for the feeder, wish I could have found one locally - went to 3 different stores but all they had was dry food bin style feeders.
As for the pic, that is normal Buddy behavior (before diabetes). it's not even one of his cutter poses, which is nose under my hand and paw wrapped around my forearm. He used to spend about 45 min a night in this position while I watched TV and then at bedtime that's how we would go to sleep. He started this the second night I had him, and I fell in love with him instantly. So can't wait till he is better. . . I think I'm gonna have to put the heat on to keep it warmer in the house over night so that he is easier to get numbers from for AMPS or even morning +8's and +10s - that's going to be so painful for me, but if it get's him better faster, it's worth it. It's been going down to 64F in the house over night and while that's ok to sleep in, it's hard to get his ears to bleed in the morn if it's so chilly. Yesterday, they really did bleed like a dream with it being in the 70F range. I also noticed though, when he's stressed and folds his ears back when I touch them, they don't bleed well. Sunday, he didn't do this much at all, this morning, it was constant.
Thank you so much for all your help and support.

Tony
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot update just realized somethi

Tony..does he groom himself a lot? My Raja preferred her Hills Science Diet to canned and I never saw her with a hairball in oh..uh...12.5 years! Only recently with the canned foods and the added oils in them did I notice that suddenly, there are hairballs every once in awhile from her! The oils help to get them up...otherwise, I assume they go through the digestive tract which can't be all that good for them.

Shadow didn't groom himself while he was in the throes of FD symptons before insulin and when we began on insulin with the canned only, his fur began to have a beautiufl sheen to it. He began grooming like crazy again I guess because he is feeling so much better. he will lick up the oil from an Omega 3 capsule while Raja will not. the added oils help with their skin and fur and generally keep things moving...if you know what I mean. :lol: The oil from a tuna can once a week is good for them too if they don't get oil from other sources.

Buddy sounds hungry right now so maybe he is eating too fast. You might try giving him half first and than a little alter, give him the rest....not sure if that will slow him down. Eventually the terrific hunger should subside....
He sounds like a real darling....so cute!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot update just realized somethi

Perry & Sooty said:
I was thinking if I could get my hands on the Lantus diluent that having a more diluted insulin would make it easier to be consistent. Small variations would be less impactful if say I was using Lantus25 instead of 100. Just a pipe dream here, but do you have any knowledge on this? I wouldn't want to use something like normal saline based on the way lantus is formulated to precipitate once injected into a mostly neutral sub-Q environment from a pH of 4 in the bottle.

The manufacturer specifically indicates to not dilute Lantus. In addition, blood is actually slightly alkaline (i.e., around 7.4). If you dilute, even with a normal pH solution, you are still going to effect the pH of Lantus and/or cause it to precipitate prior to administration.
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot update just realized somethi

Sienne,

I was actually wondering if anyone was able to get a hold of the official Lantus formulation diluent so as not to alter anything but the concentration of the Insulin, like I said - pipe dream. Just a wish so as to be able to be more accurate. I really don't trust these microdoses much between syringe variation and possible user error.

Tony
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot update just realized somethi

I think everyone struggles with the microdosing. If you want to contact Sanofi, I'll happily hold your coat. I tend to think the pharmaceutical companies will be very polite and not do much else!

I think as long as you are as consistent as possible, your dose may not be the same as mine but it will be internally consistent. FWIW, we've had a good number of kitties go into remission despite the inherent inaccuracy with microdosing.
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot update just realized somethi

i just realized something too, tony. it's a good thing we didnt conference before we chose user-names...
or we would've had mybuddybuddy :-D
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot PMPS 385

Found some vomit on the kitchen floor upon returning home from work. Some brown liquid. I wonder if this is from eating the still frozen kitty pop?
PMPS not too bad.
Tony
 
Re: 10/18 Buddy AMPS 98 no shot PMPS 385

Tony, Tinkles also loves to gnaw on the frozen cubes, he would rather do that than eat the thawed food for some reason! :lol: Usually when Tinkles throws up, it's related to a hairball he's trying to get rid of. I hope the vomiting stops soon, it always makes me concerned too. Not a bad PMPS after no shot this morning!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top