10/18 Stinky-What the heck?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

WickedSteppMom

Member Since 2011
Stinky's PMPS was 196 at +48, so I gave him .4, but this morning his AMPS was 229, which is REALLY unusual after receiving a shot the night before. I'm pretty positive the shot went in, since I make sure to tent the skin & smooth away fur so I can see that I'm shooting into skin, and shoot down instead of sideways. I'm actually hoping that I did something wrong last night though, otherwise I don't know what's going on w/him!
 
Stinky is doing great, 229 is still a good number, we don't know what he did last night, what are you thinking for a dose? .5u maybe?
 
The last couple of doses have been fat .4's, so I thought I'd stick w/that. I'll likely test him again before lunch & see how he's doing, and so I have a better idea if last night was human error or if today is something new & interesting in this dance!
 
Stinky is still doing fine. He has probably just crept up over time. This next round we should probably find a dose you feel safe giving at those 140 type numbers. Even a drop can keep his numbers down and support his pancreas.

.5 sounds good today. Any chance you can get a number mid cycle? And you are still feeding during the day and night - small frequent meals?
 
OK, now I'm thoroughly confused. I just checked Stinky's BG & it was 45!! I'm going to give him some food w/gravy, but now I'm really starting to wonder if this morning's reading was wrong & if I should have waited a bit & retested, since it didn't fit w/his pattern at all. A fat .4 shouldn't have dropped him from 229 to 45 in the space of a few hours. ARGH!! I really need to learn to trust my instincts more.
 
If you havn't already given the Karo, try feeding low carb food first or maybe a med carb before breaking out the Karo. The Karo will send him high and you will have to play catchup to get back where you were.
 
Also,
If you need to feed, make sure to do so at small servings (1 tsp) at a time. You don't want Stinky to fill up quickly, in case you need to keep spoon feeding him to keep his numbers a little higher. And definitely don't want him throwing it back up if he overeats.

Carl
 
What a surprise! Don't beat yourself up. The numbers support your dose this am. I was ready to have you give a drop at lower numbers. Stinky is just being a stinker and making this hard.

Stay on with us and we will help. I will be around this afternoon. See if the gravy food brought up the numbers some.
 
OK, I wasn't sure how much of the gravy food (Fancy Feast Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Gravy, Sliced) I was supposed to feed him (I didn't see the above msgs until after) so I started w/half a 3 oz can, and he ate it like he hadn't eaten in weeks. So I gave him half of what was left in the can...he has licked his bowl so clean, I can see my reflection. I've been keeping an eye on him & he hasn't headed for downstairs-where the carpeting is & the place he chooses to throw up. He's currently taking a nap. How soon should I check his BG again?
 
I think I would check him every 20 minutes or so untill you get a couple of rising numbers. You want to make sure he doesn't dip again.
 
30 minutes after that low reading would be good. The food should bring him up, so you will need to continue testing every 30 minutes or so until you get above 50 For a few readings without food. And around the nadir, you can relax a little, as he is more likely not to be headed down anymore.
 
WickedSteppMom said:
OK, I wasn't sure how much of the gravy food (Fancy Feast Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Gravy, Sliced) I was supposed to feed him (I didn't see the above msgs until after) so I started w/half a 3 oz can, and he ate it like he hadn't eaten in weeks. So I gave him half of what was left in the can...he has licked his bowl so clean, I can see my reflection. I've been keeping an eye on him & he hasn't headed for downstairs-where the carpeting is & the place he chooses to throw up. He's currently taking a nap. How soon should I check his BG again?

This is great! What you have just seen was Stinky instinctively "protecting himself" from going too low. Some kitties, when they get near hypo range, will fuss and insist that you open the cabinet, get out a can, and FEED ME FUDZ!!!!". He gobbled it up because he "knows" that his body needs a food boost to keep his numbers up.
So much kitties can teach us, and lots of times, observing them can be a even greater "reading" than what the meter says.

Carl
 
His reading at +6 (technically, +6.5) was 52. He was still acting hungry, circling the bowls & staring at them as if he thought they might magically refill themselves, so I gave him just a little bit of low-carb food. He's now napping again.
 
Sue,
I think we posted at the same time. His +6 (technically +6.5) was 52. At that point, he was still acting very hungry, so I gave him just a little bit of low-carb food & now he's napping again. I plan to check him again in a little while.
 
Good. 52 is good. Hopefully the food will push him up into the 70-80 range soon. If you can test in another 30 minutes, or 60 minutes, then you'll know he's rising.

FYI the 45 and 52 are virtually the same thing. He isn't dropping, but can't say for sure he's really going up yet either. The numbers fall within the meter's range of error.

Carl
 
This looks fine, Alyssa. 50s are a nice range for him to stay in, even if it requires some food. It may be that he is past nadir and will start going up, or he may just surf along in the 50-60 range for awhile. Either is fine as long as he has you to keep an eye on him..

A test in another 20-30 minutes would be good.
 
And another thing to put in your diabetes tool box. If you see a number that seems wrong, take a second test.

Although, I am guessing the number was right this am, and you definitely dosed it right. He is just being a stinker and throwing us a curve. ohmygod_smile
 
Sorry, nothing like a 6 y/o drama queen getting home from school in hysterics to really throw a wrench into the works. I wasn't able to test as soon/as often as I would've liked, but he was 49 at +9, so it would seem that he's staying right in about the same range. Hubs is picking up more food w/gravy on his way home from work (now.) Stinky is acting perfectly fine, so I'm not terribly worried, just concerned. I really do think this morning's number was a bad reading & I should've rechecked before shooting...all of this could have been prevented. Ahh, hindsight is 20/20.
 
Well, it could be a 16 year old drama queen. :mrgreen:

Interesting. He has been just hanging out in the higher 40s for 5 hours now, right? As long as he will continue to eat a little bit at a time - low carb is okay -and shows no symptoms. I would still test every 30 minutes (sorry about your ears, Stinky, but you are the one who made this difficult.....) just to be able to catch any downward movement. Not likely at this point, but you never know.
 
My guess is that stinky won't be shootable at PMPS. What time would that be?

And a 6 year old would have to be considered a "drama princess" :lol:

Carl
 
PMPS would have been about 40 mins ago, but it has been thunderstorming to beat the band here...hail, wind, heavy rain, the whole 9 yards. Mr. Stink is camped out under my bed, up where I can't reach him & let me know in no uncertain terms that he would NOT be coming out until things quiet down. I figured that since he has been low-ish, I'd just put his food dish under the bed & let him eat. Made more sense to me than aggravating him more than the storm already was.
 
Surely he hasn't gone down any more. And I can't imagine that he would high enough to consider any insulin. Feeding and waiting till the storm passes sounds good.
 
I'd say just test him when he lets you, and keep in mind that the number will include "food boost". Most likely he was too low to shoot at PMPS anyway, and he'll be happy not to get a shot tonight! The storm "stress", if he's in hiding will probably tack on a few points to his number as well.

Carl
 
I took this picture right before everything went crazy outside...maybe the "hand" reaching out of the storm towards my house can pull Stinky out from under the bed! ;-)
 

Attachments

  • hand.jpg
    hand.jpg
    18.9 KB · Views: 759
Nice pic! It does look like a hand about to grab the house too!
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top