10/18 Leo PMPS 104, +2.5 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Last condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54394

Morning LL,

Just wanted to stop by with an update on Leo. He is ok i guess, i spoke to my father this morning and he relayed to me that Leo was in a bit of pain this morning and hasn't really moved much. Leo is due for another dose of bupe in a bit so hopefully that will help. Leo is still wearing his tshirt that my mom made him, although he went outside yesterday and lost his tshirt, so my mom made another one, this time with 2 loops that go around the neck so he can't lose his shirt anymore. I kinda picture it being like a tank top, with loops going around the neck instead of the shoulders. His belly is drying and starting to scab over, gross i know, but that's what we want to happen. Leo has been taking his AB's twice a day, crushed up and put into his food and getting bupe twice a day as well. He's been putting up one he!! of a fight when it comes to bupe time, my parents have to roll him up in a towel to give it to him. My poor parents, and my poor cat, life would just be so much easier for them all if i was home, but momma has gotta work to pay off all those darn vet bills, speaking of which, i can't wait to see this last one................sigh :roll:

I called Leo's vet yesterday to find out exactly what she thought was going on with Leo. She said when my dad brought Leo in on Saturday he had severe ulcerations to his belly flab, just around his belly button. Apparently it was so bad that it looked like a severe burn and asked was there any possible way he might have burned himself? My dad didn't figure there was any way he could have burnt himself that badly. At the point she saw Leo, he was self-mutilating and just making things worse. She now thinks it is pain related stress due to his dental, she told me that some cats are wussies and just need more pain meds to help get them over the pain, she thinks Leo could be one of these wussies!!!! Not my LEO!! :o She also mused about it maybe being a food related allergy since i discovered his allergy to Sophisticat duck dinner, she wondered if we had fed him anything new in the last few days. Turns out this momma bought Leo some Weruva Chicken Soup with Pumpkin and gave some to Leo on Thursday night with his insulin. All the licking started on Friday/Saturday so she told me, no more weruva for now. She prescribed Clavaseptin as an AB to prevent infection, it is a broad spectrum AB that contains both amoxicillan and clava-something? Must be something new. She also said it was very nice to see how much my dad cares for Leo, she said he was very worried and phoned her a couple of times on Saturday night because he was so worried.

So thank you to all who stopped by our condo to tell us that Leo was in their thoughts and prayers, i was a nervous wreck this weeknd and don't know how i could have gotten thru it all without my LL family! :YMHUG: Love you all!!!!!
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

I hope it was only an allergic reaction to the new food. Scary! It must be hard on you to only be able to get 2nd hand reports, but you know Leo is in good hands with your folks.
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

Tracy, It certainly sounds mysterious what could have happened to Leo. I guess it could have been an allergy, but that's a weird way for an allergy to show up. Could he have gotten into a neighbor's animal trap or something? Perhaps he got into contact on the ground with something that contains acid or lye? Anyway, we are sending lots and lots of healing vines to Leo and we hope he will be all better soon. When will you be able to see him? Is it possible for your parents to keep him indoors while he heals?

Hugs to you and Leo (and to your parents!)

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

Very good ideas Ella! Were you a detective? :lol: but no acids or bases around my parents place that I can think of. They live on an acreage out in the country, no neighbors around for at least 1 km. Leo doesn't venture far while hes there, he's got his usual mousing spots that he visits but that's it. I don't know if we'll ever know what happened to cause this belly licking.
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

Oh wow .. I had to go back a few condo's and catch up on what has been happening with sweet leo .. That had to be so scary, to not know what was going on with leo and to not be there either .. darn work! I'm glad your parents got him in right away and that he seems to be feeling better .. Lots of hugs and kisses from all of us here to leo over there ...
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

Hi Tracey

Thank you for the report for Leo. I really hope he starts feeling much better soon. I picture him in a wifebeater shirt ;-) ;-) I'm glad you got to talk to the vet. I know you will be much happier when you can get home and see it all but your DPs are incredible!!!!
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

Hi Tracy, so glad to hear Leo is on the mend and you've spoken with the Vet as to her reasons for the antibiotic. I hope you can get to the bottom of what caused this issue for Leo. Your parents are so precious the way they care for Leo. Give Leo some gentle pats on the head from Mags and me. Hugs.
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

Poor Leo!! Feeling so poorly, and getting so much attention to get him to heal!!
What a lucky Boy to have all this Love around him!! Great DP's caring for him like that--
I had a dog once that was allergic to grass, certain kinds, & broke out so fiercely, she was on steroids constantly. same situation, tore at herself. Maybe Leo should go outside with the shirt on!
Hope the cause can be found--He will be happy to see you--Hugs & lub from us!!--Feel good Leo!
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

Thanks for the update, Tracy! I've been wondering how Leo was doing. LOL...he lost his t-shirt!!! I've got friends who lost articles of clothing way back in our college days....hehe.

I hope Leo starts feeling better ASAP. I'm sure this is really difficult for you to be away from him right now, but at least his grandparents love him and are taking great care of him. I've got some food sensitivities in my house, but no full-on food allergies. I thought I have read in the past, when researching it, that excessive licking is a symptom/sign of an allergy...could be worth looking further into.

Feel better, Leo!!!
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

I'm glad Leo is feeling better!! I think it's very necessary that your parents take a picture of Leo in his wifebeater (thanks, Marje, for that visual!!) so you can post it. I think he'll look increadily sexy!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/18 Leo AMPS 191, +3 133

Hi guys!! I am so glad that Leo is feeling better. :-D Also glad that you were able to talk to the vet. I too think your dad is incredible... he really does care for Leo's well-being. :cool: :cool:

Looking good Leo - keep on getting better!
 
hahaha on the wifebeater! awesome visual! ihascheeseburger could have fun with that one.

thinking about leo - i hope it's just an allergy to the weruva. poor little buddy. i hope he's crusty and scabby and then it all falls off so it doesn't itch anymore!
 
Yeah the tshirt business has had me giggling a few times. When I asked my dad this morning if Leo liked his tshirt he said, 'yeah he loves his little tshirt''. If I know my mom, she probably dragged out her sewing machine or her needle and thread to make Leo a shirt. She could go onto business making kitty wifebeaters!! Thanks Marje for that visual, now you've got me picturing my kitty sitting on the couch wearing a mustard stained wifebeater!!!! :lol: :lol:

I sure am glad to see Leo is back in green, I was a little worried we would have to raise his dose again.....only time will tell.

I am sorry I haven't been able to visit condos lately but I've been busy with work, just got back late from a very cold 50 km ATV ride and the afternoon was spent standing in a very cold creek doing some sampling.....every joint in my body hurts, plus it doesn't help that it's darn near full blown winter already.....we already have snow! I hope all beans and kitties are doing great......nighty night all!!!
 
Tracy - I have been offline for over a week and just got caught up on Leo. Poor guy!!! Your parents are such great grandparents. I bet your dad is beside himself. I can't even imagine what you are going through since you are at work. I am sending all kinds of healing vines, hugs , prayers and scritches that Leo gets better quick. ((((Tracy)))). ((((Leo))))
 
Oh, poor Leo! To be slandered in such a horrid fashion!! I hope the custom wifebeaters make up for it a little?!? Hope the little guy is feeling better soon!!
 
I'm glad to hear the Great Mouser is doing better. I hope it is just a food allergy that can be cleared up soon. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top