10/17KHANnow@1u,Amps294,+1:318,+4:271,+7244,+10:361,PMSP377

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
Sunday 10/17/10 BG:
Amps: 294
+1 318
+4:271
+7: 244
+10: 361
Pmps: 377, shot 1u Lantus
+2: 372

Sunday morning: Khan is walking on his hocks and peeing a lot more-huge indication BG is out of control.

PRIOR POST: 10/16 KHANs amps 325 +1 302+4 368 +8 358

+12 checked BG = 294, shot 1u in back hind area.. this seemed to be uncomfortable for him. Should I be leaving the Lantus pen out to warm to room temp?

Gave B12, checked ketones in mid stream of urine (yes he peed rt in front of me), ate 1.5 c FF.
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN amps 294, increased to 1u

Good morning

here is yesterday's condo for you guys: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27567&p=281047#p281047

As for leaving the insulin out, I would not for too long.
Room temp should be ok.
Have you tried the scruff area before?
and you are using fresh syringes each time yes?

Good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN amps 294, increased to 1u

You can leave the pen in the fridge and after you fill the syringe with the dose, you can roll the syringe between your fingers to warm that insulin that's in there. Glad you shot the 1.0u...will you be home to do some testing today?
Good job...hope yo and Khan have a great day...
You do have high carb canned foods on hand and karo syrup?
Do you have any questions from the stickies at the top of the page?
How is Khan feeling/acting today?

We believe that our kitties are a lot more than just their BG numbers. We do a WCR (Whole Cat Report) in which we state how many of the important Ps are present in our kitty's day. It's a shortcut to listing the following....
P=Purring
P=Peeing
P=Pooping
P=Preening
P=Playing
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN amps 294, increased to 1u

I'm glad you increased Khan's dose, as well. However, please hold this dose for several more days. You will need to fill Khan's shed at this dose.

I do not leave Lantus out to warm it. I also don't roll the syringe. My thinking is that since it is not advised to roll the Lantus container, I wouldn't roll the syringe. If you want to hold the portion of the syringe where the insulin is to warm it, that's probably fine. Given the small amount that most of us shoot, I doubt that the temperature of the insulin is noticeable.
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN amps 294, increased to 1u

Thank you. Yes I will be home except when I go to church at 1015am until 1230pm.. which makes me very nervous. I don't want to be away and have his numbers drop. I also work 8-5 with the opportunity to come home at lunch- which I can pick the time. suggestions on BG check during the day this coming week?--

5Ps:
Purring- no
Peeing- yes -increased quite a bit since yesterday
Preening- not this morning, last night just a little but not like the past week.
Playing - no---------He has been walking on his hocks, walks a few steps then lays down, is able to jump progressive down the cat tree. can't wait for the methyl B12 to get here.
Pooping- no not this morning. .litter boxes all clean. ( I must say one of my cats sure is stinky!! yuck!) Khan has 3 different litter boxes in his room to pick from.
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN now@1u,Amps294,+1 318,+3.5 271

Glad you shot 1u today, good job! FWIW, Muffin cries when I shoot in the flank, but doesn't mind at all in the scruff, so that's where I shoot. Hoping for some lower #'s for you guys today, but don't be surprised if not much happens for a few days while the shed fills. Good luck!
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN now@1u,Amps294,+1 318,+4 271,+7 244

Khan seems a bit happier and alert so this is good.

Do you think I should have off of work just in case his numbers begin to slide down? if so which day(s) would you guess- friday next week? I just don't want to be away and have his numbers drop and come home to find the worst.
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN now@1u,Amps294,+1 318,+4 271,+7 244

Jenee..how do you leave food for him when you leave for work?
Many people have bought the timed feeders either the 2 or 5 compartment ones. The food is important during the day to keep their numbers us. Many people work all day and either leave the timed feeders or some have frozen some food in ice cube trays and leave a couple of frozen pucks out when they leave.

Much can be seen by checks that are done in the PM cycles too so when you are home at night, maybe do some checks then and at least a before bed check. Is that doable for you?

I wish I could say when/what will go on. A lot of times nothing too much happens until you get up to the best dose which takes time. However, there are kitties who show movement in the numbers right away.
With testing as often as you can, you will soon have lots of data on how Khan is reacting...both to the insulin and to the food. The food does spike their numbers a little so it's good to record how much of a spike can be expected. Some people also will feed High carb food to bring the numbers up. Much depends on the kitty and the situation. You can post here if you are concerned about any number you get, ok?
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN now@1u,Amps294,+1 318,+4 271,+7 244

Thank you.
I can test late at night and many times I'm awake at 2 am or 4am but for sure 530 am so testing in pm isn't a big deal since the BG numbers are very important to Khan's health. I feed Khan everytime I give insulin as well as whenever I check his BG. If I go into his room and if he is hungry he comes down from the cat tree and sits in front of me. Lately he doesn't leave his cat room-except later at night -probably due to neuropathy -hurts to walk.

I have a bunch of High Carb foods from Binkys list on hand. I also have EVO dry-which Khan loves but I won't offer it to him right now due to canned is easier on regulating etc etc..

Few questions:

In regards to freezing food: Is it as easy as taking the Fancy feast from the can and placing into a ice cube tray?
Since I've tested Khan at +7..should I be testing him hrs? or just +9, +10, +11?
 
Re: 10/17 KHAN now@1u,Amps294,+1 318,+4 271,+7 244,+10 361

I would say to mix it in a bowl with some water and then put it in the ice cube trays.
Do you leave food when you go to work usually?

I am glad you increased to 1.0u...the yellows are here now and they are showing improvement. usually it takes awhile though for the shed to fill and to see real action. Good job testing today...and maybe alternate the PM checks (unless there is one that is lower...then you can check the next hour)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top