10/17 Sarge AMPS 322

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
AMPS 322

10/16
PMPS 349
+5.25 311

Looking over Sarge's last four cycles I am not seeing much cycle (or really any change good or bad) despite the dose increase. That combined with the 10 cycles before the second dose increase and I am very suspicious of his Lantus pen. It is nearly empty anyway so I am picking up a new one today. This just looks like un-medicated Sarge to me. I could be wrong but I need to know before I would increase his dose again. Happy Friday to all!! The sun is shining and it is shaping up to be a beautiful warm fall day. Hope it's nice in your neck of the woods :)

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127047
 
I see you replaced pens on 8/29 and 9/1 already. Were they bought from a pharmacy? If so, i'm thinking that you just need to increase. Pens should be lasting you at least 4 months and some people get 6 months out of them. Unless you have a box that are all bad.

Glad you're noting your new pens on the spreadsheet. That can be helpful info.

Fingers crossed that he comes down with the new insulin. If you don't see greens very soon, don't wait too long before you increase to 1.75u - what you may be seeing are the effects of Glucose Toxicity. When a cat stays too long on a dose that isn't getting them into green numbers, they become used to those higher ranges and the body accepts them as normal. Then it takes ever increasing amounts of insulin to get the blood sugar moving into lower ranges. That's why the protocol suggests re-evaluating the dose every 6 cycles and deciding then if you should hold a little longer or increase the dose.

I know you have to adjust things when you can't be home to check him during the day - i'm not criticizing, just explaining for the future.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top