10/17 remi AMPS 414,+2 405, + 4.5 356,+8 342, PMPS389,+2 374

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

Not sure what is going on. I guess remi is still bouncing from the lower numbers he has been getting the last day or two. He jumped when I gave him his shot this morning but I am hoping that the insulin still went in.

I am wondering what will stop the bounces if he keeps dropping into the blue numbers, does the pancreas eventually get used to it?

I do feel bad for posting these messages as I don't feel that I have enough knowledge to help anyone else and I don't want to just take, take, take :?

Cheers

Sarah
 
Re: 10/17 remi AMPS 414,+2 405, + 4.5 356,+8 342, PMPS389,+2

So I think remi must still be bouncing from yesterday blue number. I hope it clears soon as it is a worry that he is high again

Yesterday's condo

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127033
 
Re: 10/17 remi AMPS 414,+2 405, + 4.5 356,+8 342, PMPS389,+2

Hi Sarah - I think you are right about the bouncing on a blue. As kitties spend more time in green and blue, their liver learns that it's the new normal. My Neko used to love the higher colours and I knew when she was in low pink because that's when she's start playing. :roll: Now it's low blue. She's a slow learner. :lol:

I think you could increase Remi again to 1.25U. He's just had blues and the goal is to get him seeing greens and most of his time under 120. From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
As for helping others, I've seen you posting supportive messages on Health and that's great. Newcomers appreciate hearing from other new people too. Over time you'll learn more that you can share.

Also, you made a comment yesterday on how much you should or should not test based on how Sienne tests Gabby. Gabby is well known as the Diving Queen in Lantus Land. Sienne has to test her more to slow down those early dives. Remi doesn't look like an early diver to me.
 
Re: 10/17 remi AMPS 414,+2 405, + 4.5 356,+8 342, PMPS389,+2

Thanks Wendy for your reply

Okay i was wondering about an increase. So I don't have to wait for the bounce to clear before increasing? I was thinking that I had to see the numbers settle first but of course am keen to get him into good numbers sooner rather than later. Or maybe I am thinking too linear - that you get to one dose and things settle and then you move as when I look at the spreadsheets I see cats bouncing even when on a steady dose.

I do find it difficult to work out a good testing regime as I get influenced by every spreadsheet I look at. I agree remi doesn't look like an early diver so will try not to get too paranoid about testing.

Wishing you and Neko a great start to the weekend. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top