10/17 Lulu - first reduction :) PMPS 284 +2.5 214

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Previous post - on health https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-draw-insulin-from-a-pen.236911/

Lulu is being fostered by my friend Rita. Rita has had Lulu for 3 weeks. She arrived on 4u lantus twice a day, we don’t know how she got to that dose but she came with a pen so it would’ve been increased in 1u increments. We believe she’s been on lantus for about 3 months to date. She is still having some dry food (1/4 cup Royal Canin diabetic twice a day) as well as raw food. I asked Rita not to stop the dry food until she could start testing.

We have some numbers from the vet from before Lulu came to Rita back in Sept but we’re not certain about shot times. The lowest number they had, on 9/21 at about what I’m guessing was + 3.5 was 209, we think that was on 4u but may have been 3u the next day the lowest reading they took was 295 at around +4.

Rita has just started testing and the numbers she has on a human meter are:
10/15 +6.5 400
10/16 +7.5 300

And then we have today :D:eek:
Tried for an AMPS but no luck
Lulu was acting strange/hungry
+3.25 - 52 - 2 heaped tsp LC (didn’t have any HC)
+3.75 - 50 - 2 heaped tsp LC
+4.25 - 50 - 2 heaped tsp LC
+4.75 - 47 - 1 heaped tsp LC plus few drops honey
+ 5 - 45 - 1 heaped tsp LC plus bigger drops of honey
+5.25 - 49 - 1 heaped tsp LC plus few drops honey
+5.5 - 58
+5.75 - 61 (got the vein lol- Rita is learning about everything today!)
Yes we are still watching but that’s where we are now.

So the question is - how much of a dose reduction do you think we should give Lulu to keep her safe? Bear in mind that although all these tests have been managed today Lulu is still new to testing and may go back to being uncooperative when she’s not so food driven from these low numbers and her ears might be a bit sore from today. Rita is also new to all this and although she does have me on the phone I can’t be there in person. She does have syringes now so can draw from the pen.

Will be setting up a spreadsheet soon.
 
Last edited:
Maybe try 3.5 units? Is Lulu eating exactly the same thing now as before she arrived as a foster? Just wondering if the proportion of dry food has reduced as the raw food was added or ?
 
She was on tinned food - the diabetic stuff - before she came to Rita (no raw) I’m just checking if the quantity of dry food was reduced, bbs with that info and her next number.

Thank you Wendy :cat:
 
Dry food has reduced by 1/4 cup/day - she was having 1/4 cup 3x day now just 2 x/day

ETA: +6.25 - 59
 
Last edited:
I can't remember what %carb the dry Glycobalance was but do remember seeing some cats numbers drop quite a bit as it was removed. Their wet is medium carb. How much dose Lulu weigh? The Royal Canin site suggests feeding between 1/2 cup and 3/4 of a cup for a 4 kg cat (assuming average girl size) depending on activity level. The 3/4 of a cup might be a full days food. So she's had 1/3 of the higher carb food removed, not sure how much medium carb wet and replaced with raw. Total carbs for the day is down significantly. Let me revise the suggestion to 3 units, until she gets her testing legs.

That spreadsheet would really help. ;) I'm really just guessing until I see that.
 
how much of a dose reduction do you think we should give Lulu to keep her safe?

I agree with Wendy....I'd take her down to no more than 3U until we get some more data on what's going on with her as well as she reduces the kibble.

If ya'll need help getting a spreadsheet set up, feel free to send me a PM
 
Thanks ladies 3u it is. Nice to know my instincts are still good, that was my initial thought but it’s been a while so I don’t trust myself yet - also it’s a bit of an unusual situation (for me not you).

She is 4kg (got to be average at something right) - the previous bean was trying to fatten her so giving extra food - 2 pouches of wet as well as the 3/4 cup of dry per day - she doesn’t need anymore fattening and if anything may have gone a little too far the other way.

Lol - I’m so with you on the spreadsheet Wendy, I was cursing not having it today as I scribbled pluses and numbers and converted them manually in a notebook. Rita definitely sees the value now and it will be done in the next couple of days. Expecting to have some bounce time so should be plenty of time to do it before another exciting episode (though I probably shouldn’t have said that out loud ...)

Thanks for your kind offer Chris. I think you know from the main health board (great advice there too thanks) that Rita is Pork Chop. I will get her to PM you if she has any problems with the spreadsheet.

+6.45 - 65 - have messed up the +’s a little along the way this is now 2hrs since food and honey (will sort it out properly in her spreadsheet)

+8.25 - 95
 
Last edited:
It’s a 25% drop when we were expecting a bounce (I knew I shouldn’t have said that out loud!) we’ll get another one in a hour.

ETA +3.5 194 gave a tsp LC and sent a very weary Rita to bed - what a day!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top