10/17 Klinger AMPS 473; +5 265; +9 168; PMPS 265

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning,
AMPS 473 3.6 u
+5 265
+6 230
+8 161
+9 168
+10 181
PMPS 265 2.8 u
His neck looks a lot better. Fur is finally growing in - he has two scabs left that look like they're getting smaller. He still might need a winter scarf :lol: , but he's getting there.
 
Re: 10/17 Klinger AMPS 473; +5 265; +9 168

Wow, what a great day he's having. Glad his neck is getting better, what happened, sorry I've been MIA for a while. Life got in the way.
 
He did have a great day. My boy. His neck scratches were from his allergies - a month or two ago. They (vet) shaved the area and it took forever for his fur to grow back and for him to stop scratching. We finally had to wrap his back paw.
No need to be sorry for living your life. :smile: Hopefully everythings going well with you and Harley.
 
Re: 10/17 Klinger AMPS 473; +5 265; +9 168

hey Marcy
How it going?
I noticed that today his nadir seemed to be +8/+9 which is good. It means hopefully you are going to get some carryover into the next cycle. he's not consistant yet though because 2 days ago it was closer to +6/+7 wasnt it?

It will be great to get that dental next saturday- hopefully you will see more consistancy. If you are getting blood drawn seems like they shouldn't charge you to draw up enough for the other 2 tests. Be sure to get the IAA test, because I think he actually might fit the profile for that and it costs $14. The shipping is actually the worst part....I gave them my husband's fed ex number.
fyi the only place in the country that does stereotactic radiation on the tumor is in Colorado- Dr Lunn.

When/if you are ready to increase the ss/dose, I would probably bump the cutoffs on the top doses 15-20 points , and 5-10 points on the lower doses. In other words for example, change the cut off for 3.6u to 445-525, instead of 460-540 like it is now.

I started this awhile ago so I don't know his pmps and I'm afraid of losing it. I've written you 2 previous posts that I lost when I went to check the ss.

It is worth sending it Fed Ex so you avoid the university mail room delay on such a time sensitive delivery.
 
Thanks Marcy,

Harley and I are doing well. Life has gotten very busy and I realized I didn't have my P's in place.

I havn't been purring or playing much lately. So I'm working on finding a balance between getting everything done and playing once in awhile and unfortunately some things are falling by the wayside, something had to give.

But I'm glad you and Klinger are doing so well, good luck on the dental, I hope that will improve his bg's some.
 
Hey Nancy!
It's going. How about you?
His nadir was +6 and probably +7 two days ago.
I'm scared out of my mind about his dental. I pray he comes out of it. I plan to print off the sheets to bring with me on Saturday. I think you or maybe Gator said that the samples could be frozen, so I'm planning on getting the blood drawn for those test too.
fyi the only place in the country that does stereotactic radiation on the tumor is in Colorado- Dr Lunn.
that's extremly handy. :smile:
I think the lower doses need some tweaking. I'm not sure if this 2.8 I gave him tonight will last through the morning. I think I'll keep using the scale for this week. I'm hoping that we'll need to adjust it after Saturday.
Ok - question - Vet told me to test him the morning of his dental (at normal time) and if his amps is over 250 to give him 1 unit of insulin and do not feed him. Since I free feed Klinger - what time should I make sure all food is picked up off all surfaces. His procedure is scheduled for 8:00 a.m.
Thanks,
Marcy
 
My Tenderfoot, Cody's brother, just had his last 4 teeth removed and the vet told me no food after midnight, but not to restrict his water. I made sure he ate well at midnight, and he drank quite a bit after that, and had his dental at about 10:30a, and was still zonked at 5:30.

But for a dental I think they use very light anesthesia, so I wouldn't worry too much. I think they have short acting stuff, and the cat doesn't need pain med after, so he should recover quickly. i think the procedure only takes about 15 min, unless he needs teeth removed.

If you think the lower half needs work you should bump it. If you retested in 15min (or even now) you would probably see that he is already back up in the mid 300-400's , so for that you need more juice. I agree, bump it a bit, especially if you retest in 10-15 min and its rising.
 
I'm pretty sure some people freeze the blood. In fact I think Dr Lunn had some of her clients freeze it for follow up tests. If you have any time at all I would drop those info sheets off earlier in the week so they can call the lab to get the "real down low " on whats OK and what's not. Also they will need to give a clinic credit card number for the billing, then MSU sends out an info packet for the clinic to use next time.
 
hey if they are doing the dental at 8AM, and he is awake and eating before noon, they could give him a small amount of humulin R (Regular) insulin which is a short acting insulin that would help him through the day, and probably be out of his system in 5-6 hours, so you can stay on his normal 5:45 pm schedule.
R is used as an ER insulin and they most probably have some and are familiar with using it.
- it has a very long shelf life (and is available without a prescription)( a lot of acro moms use it in addition to levemir/lantus. )
 
431 was not a bad amps on the 265 2.8u pmps last night, but if you want to increase it you could try a .1u bump on the bottom 3 or 4 levels of the ss if you want to.

If you test twice near PMPS, about 15-30 min apart, you will see if his readings are hovering or increasing quickly. If they are increasing quickly, you can feel a bit better about increasing the lower part of the scale safely.
to eliminate the food spike factor you could :
test at PMPS
shoot per the scale
retest in 20 min
THEN feed him
or
if you get home early enough
test at +11.5
test at PMPS
then feed and shoot
 
Sorry I'm answering things here without reading super careful as I'm sort on time. AFIK blood samples for IAA etc. should probably not be frozen?? As Nancy mentioned they should be shipped in a insulated container and I said they should be sent on a frozen gel pack AFIK. Sound right Nancy? I would definitely contact the University to get their requirements and then even those are the MINIMUM requirements. If they say do not freeze then do not freeze :smile: .
 
Gator,
I don't really know for sure. I would definitely have the vet call and talk to some one higher up about the freezing or not- I dont think the info sheet is real clear on that. Cody's blood was sent insulated with cold packs, not frozen, but I think I remember Heather /Boo who went through the zap treatment was told to freeze the blood by Dr Lunn. I'm really not sure of the details. Dr Lunn does not work at MSU lab, she works in Colorado so I dont know if her direction is ideal. She may have been freezing it for a later comparison, to see if the stereotactic treatment worked.
Marcy- you are in charge of finding this out for us confused_cat :-D

Rob,
I havn't been purring or playing much lately. So I'm working on finding a balance between getting everything done and playing once in awhile and unfortunately some things are falling by the wayside, something had to give.
Just wanted you to know I really appreciated this creative analogy- IT IS SO TRUE and it is a real problem-
wanting to help on the board/ keeping family happy/staying employed/having time for ourselves/getting enough sleep. At the moment I should be sleeping, but once hubby is asleep I don't get the " FDMB again?" looks :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top