10/16 Sue and Samwise If someone could take a look

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
If some of you could take a look at Sam's numbers for the last week and tell me what you think. I know there is not a lot of tests there but I got in as many as i could. I am thinking either go back up in dose or go to vet and try Levemir. What do you think????? confused_cat
 
Sue

As much as I'd like to give you some help here, without some more tests, I'm just not able to do it. My gut tells me that he's going low and bouncing up. But I can't prove it. At some of the recent AMPS, you put that you shot 0.075u instead of 0.75u. Are those errors or were you shooting a BCS (which I doubt since some of the AMPS were really high).

Levemir isn't going to help if you don't get tests. Even if you could get at least a PS, +2 or out the door, and in the door test every single day and a PS and/or +2/before bed every night with perhaps a +10/+11 in the PM cycle (when you first get up in the morning), there would be so much more for us to go on.

I'm sorry I can't be of more help. I don't feel I can say lantus isn't working for him or lev would work better without some tests.
 
Those were typos. It was always .75u not .075u. I doubt I could even load that in a syringe! LOL Okay, I'll just go with the gut here and take him to the vet and get her opinion. I hate like hell to put you all on the spot so no more asking without more testing. Sorry.
Wishing they would come out with a good insulin that would work for cats.
 
Sue --

I tend to agree with Marje. You've been doing better at getting spot checks over the last 3 weeks. Adding a before bed test would also help to know what Samwise is doing at night. I tend to think there's either some bouncing going on or that you need to increase the dose.

Like Marje, I don't know if Lev will be a better insulin for your cat. The dosing protocol is the same for Lev and Lantus and it's all dependent on your being able to test and make dose-related decisions based on the data you collect.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top