
Guys I really scared to reduce to .5 units did you check out my personal spreadsheet all the way back to FEB it you can see it went from .5units in Feb to 4.0 units in May He currently has readings in the 400's Why would I revert back to FEB dosage?
How do I collect the urine from Henry?
His next injection is due in 1:15 minutes @ 6:00am EST
Please Check out my personal spreadsheet Titled - Copy of Henry Insulin Injection is (8) months of data with a few BG Curves on it
Bron & Sheba did you check out my spreadsheet attached to my original post you can see how the Insulin injections were administered over the last eight months. The only lapse (No Injections) occurred just last week
So let me get this right after viewing my personal spreadsheet your still recommending .5 units. Guys I'm really scared that you missed the data of the last eight months
I’m looking now and will answer youBron & Sheba did you check out my spreadsheet attached to my original post you can see how the Insulin injections were administered over the last eight months. The only lapse (No Injections) occurred just last week
I’m looking now and will answer you
Make sure you test the BG before giving any insulin please.His next injection is due in 1:15 minutes @ 6:00am EST
Bron I would prefer TR method. OK I will do a pretest at 6:00am and input the results on the spreadsheet and the dosage will be .5 unitsHi (sorry don’t know your name)
Yes I have looked at the data from the last 8 months.
I’m assuming you did the BG curves at home...is that correct.?
I can see you went up in 1/2 unit increments when you increased. Just a FYI ....It is better to go up in 1/4 unit increments so as not to go past the best dose and it is safer for the cat.
In Feb through to May you look as if you took curves every 2 weeks but did not do any other testing such as before shots or during the cycles.
In June there were just 2 BGs taken and one curve in July, then in August no testing. At this post Henry was on 4 units Then after 2 BG tests on the 18sept you increased the dose to 4.5 units having not testing at all since the 12 July...then still no testing until 5 October when you got a reading of 56@+6. Then you did several skips, reduced the dose to 2 units and 0.5 units over the next 10days which brings us up to today.
Insulin needs change in cats. That’s why it is so important that you test before every shot to see if is safe to give the dose and then test again during the cycle to see how low the dose takes the cat.
With an alphatrak meter the BG number you have to reduce the dose is 68. This is when to get out the high carb food and the honey to bring the number up higher.
If you would like us to help you I would suggest you look at the Start Low Go Slow method. It is structured to keep Henry safe. You would need to to reduce the dose when he drops to 90.
The reason I suggested 0.5 units is because, looking at the information you have given us it is obvious that Henry’s need for insulin has dropped and if you continued with the 4.5 units, you would be risking a hypo.
He has managed to stay in reasonable numbers even with the reductions and the skips.
I think 0.5 units would be a safe amount to give him until we see how he goes over the next several days. You can always go up in dose if needed, which is much more preferable than dealing with a cat that is having a hypo from too much insulin.
The proviso would be that you test his urine for ketones.
The reason he has higher numbers today are a bounce from the green numbers this morning.
That doesn’t mean he needs a big dose though.
This is just my opinion and you might like to wait for others.
Please keep asking questions, we are very happy to help.
Bron.![]()
Hi Robert!! Good to meet you.You
Bron I would prefer TR method. OK I will do a pretest at 6:00am and input the results on the spreadsheet and the dosage will be .5 units
I will pickup the ketone test at walmart the problem will be attaining a sample he's both indoor and outdoor cat. So I guess that means I keep him in today and watch him and catch the urine in a cup. That's going to be a challenge. TR regulates has shorter 6 cycles before a change Correct? By the way the name is Robert
Yes I have 150 AT2 test strips good until Sept 2021, I'm retired . We do have karo visible on the kitchen counter proactive just in case. When you say test during the cycle?? at what increments of data would you like. So the dry food even though it's 5% carbs still will be the SLGS method?Hi Robert!! Good to meet you.
Because you are feeding dry food, you can only do the SLGS method, sorry.
Remember to stall, don’t feed and post and ask for help if the number is under 180.
Do you have high carb food and honey or Karo at home if needed ....And can you test during the cycle to give us some information and to keep Henry safe?
Yes, no dry food sorry on TR.Yes I have 150 AT2 test strips good until Sept 2021, I'm retired . We do have karo visible on the kitchen counter proactive just in case. When you say test during the cycle?? at what increments of data would you like. So the dry food even though it's 5% carbs still will be the SLGS method?
Here is his schedule of feeding (4) times a day at the following times no deviation at all 6:00am, 12:00pm, 6:00pm - (This feeding is split in half with respect to calories 1/2 at 6:00pm and the other 1/2 at 8:30pm), & 12:00am equal calories per feeding for a total of 312 calories per 24 hours. The feeding is a combination of both wet and dry(Dr. Elsey's high protein) As you can see he will have (in three feedings) six hours of no food. His demeanor is excellent Runs around and plays with the other cats something he has not done in some time but has been doing so in the last two to three months. The ketone test will be a challenge I just ordered(Amazon) NOSOOB cat litter.Robert, I can see AMPS was 342 and you shot 0.5 units.
Remember Henry is bouncing at the moment and he could do this for up to 6 cycles......maybe less. By testing you will be able to tell when he is coming off the bounce.
Keep giving the 0.5 units and it will fill the depot and stabilise it.
Let us know when you have manages to get a ketone test done.
Try and make sure he is eating well.
Are you feeding before the shots and again during the cycles?
We recommend feeding preshot and again a couple of snacks during the first half of all the cycles. It is ok to free feed if that is what you normally do but please pick up the food 2 hours before the preshots so that the BG isn’t food influenced.
Well done!
Are you able to get rid of the bright green that is covering most of Henry’s SS please Robert.?
During this BOUNCE and the reduce 0.5 units (Lantus) twice daily until the depot stabilizes is it possible for a HYPO event?
The others on this forum seem to think the numbers that are puzzling points to a bounce.
@Bandit's Mom Robert can’t get rid of the green background on the SS. Would you mind having a look please?
I have another question about Henry with respect to the current situation as follows:
1) Henry is a large cat 22 inches not counting tail
2) Henry weighed about 25lbs January 2020 - Very Obese - Vet informed me the idea weight for him is 16lbs
3) Since then we have him on a RER 312 Calories a day The chart shows this is ideal for about 16.5lbs cat
4) Today he weighs 21 pounds 6 ounces.
5) Is it possible that the loss of few pounds can contribute to insulin reduction?
6) Now here's my question is this current calorie reduction making his situation worse?
Thanks in advance
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
One of the food formulas we use is 20cals/lb healthy ideal body weight/day.
Therefore: 20 x 16.5= 330 cals per day.
You don’t want him to lose the weight too quickly otherwise you will run into other problems.
I think I would increase his intake to 330 cals per day.
How often do you weigh him?
The weight loss could have contributed to the insulin reduction but I think it is also possible he is heading towards remission.
Only time will tell..
Keep posting every day and keep asking questions. Thanks for getting the in between tests in...that’s helpful. Hopefully he’ll come off the bounce soon.