10/16 Minnie 275@+6

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-15-minnie-331-amps-292-5-5.236949/#post-2658747

I’m posting again since @Wendy&Neko was the only one who responded and I’m losing my **** right now after 4 days straight of high numbers. I’ve been giving the Lantus forum a try hoping 3rd time is the charm, but it’s really disappointing to not have more support. I was asked multiple times by members why I kept posting my Lantus questions in the main health forum and it’s because I know I get feedback there. Being high is as concerning as being low and should not be dismissed.
 
If you have a specific question, it helps get eyes if you use the ? prefix on the subject line, as well as paraphrase the question on the subject line. Something like “dosing help or furosemide question”. To tell you the truth, there aren’t many active people here who are currently giving furosemide. From what I have seen cats numbers sometimes go high with more furosemide. If she is tapering down, high numbers should be less of a problem.

Sorry for not remembering all your details, but is there a reason you are testing around +6 each day? Not all cats nadir at +6, mine practically never did, and mixing up the tests or doing the odd mini curve can help fill in the picture. We’ve had people refer to the spreadsheet as a jigsaw puzzle, preshots as the edge pieces, and you need to vary the tests a bit to get more of the overall picture.

If you are following TR, you don’t need to hold the dose longer than 10 cycles. It seems to me that something is causing some insulin resistance in Minnie (lots of secondary issues can contribute), maybe she’s even one of those for whom budesonide increases BG. At minimum, there is some glucose toxicity, a type of resistance. Regular increases per the protocol are the way to get over that resistance and bring her numbers down,
 
If you have a specific question, it helps get eyes if you use the ? prefix on the subject line, as well as paraphrase the question on the subject line. Something like “dosing help or furosemide question”. To tell you the truth, there aren’t many active people here who are currently giving furosemide. From what I have seen cats numbers sometimes go high with more furosemide. If she is tapering down, high numbers should be less of a problem.

Sorry for not remembering all your details, but is there a reason you are testing around +6 each day? Not all cats nadir at +6, mine practically never did, and mixing up the tests or doing the odd mini curve can help fill in the picture. We’ve had people refer to the spreadsheet as a jigsaw puzzle, preshots as the edge pieces, and you need to vary the tests a bit to get more of the overall picture.

If you are following TR, you don’t need to hold the dose longer than 10 cycles. It seems to me that something is causing some insulin resistance in Minnie (lots of secondary issues can contribute), maybe she’s even one of those for whom budesonide increases BG. At minimum, there is some glucose toxicity, a type of resistance. Regular increases per the protocol are the way to get over that resistance and bring her numbers down,
I guess the reason for testing at +6 is because when I’ve mixed up, the +6 still seems to be her nadir most of the time. It’s never +5 or +7.

I don’t think there’s a heart issue as in fluid built up due to decreased dosage of the furosemide because I’d see a faster respiratory rate if there was, right? But I could test that theory by increasing the furosemide back up to .6 for a few days to see what happens. Xrays from last checkup were fine as I said before. Wdyt?

yes to all of those things and not being able to pinpoint the issue is stressing me out a lot to be honest. I’m a bit lost and not sure what the next step should be. Maybe I should make the appt with the cardiologist for yet a third echo :(
 
I don’t know. From what I’ve seen I think you have good vets. My bet is on glucose toxicity. If you can handle the necessary testing I would increase aggressively and see if that does the trick before another echo. My experience with CHF was very brief so I didn’t learn all the ins and outs so can’t help with that. I think when people don’t know they don’t respond. Nobody is ignoring you. I do feel your pain. You are trying so hard to help her. Something has to work. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
If it wasn’t for the occasional cough, I would be sure it’s toxicity, but that does worry me because it’s not normal. The tech I spoke with yesterday explained that the cough could be heart related. She was really nice and had a second IM there go over the xrays to assure me the pneumonia is really gone. So that leaves the heart and toxicity. Let’s see what 6 units will do over the weekend.

her behavior is still fine. She’s never been a super active cat and at 12 years old, sleeping a lot is not a red flag for me. Even Bobo sleeps most of the day and 8 hours with me on my bed at night!

Thank you :bighug:
 
Back
Top