10/16 Leo PMPS 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54327

Well i don't really know what to say about Leo and what is wrong with him. I just got off the phone with my father, Leo was doing VERY poorly last night, not eating, not moving. His sugar was over 300...... :sad: WTH??? I said to my dad "Andrea says there is nothing wrong with him? why, if there is nothing wrong with Leo is he acting like this?!?! " He explained to me that Andrea told my dad that Leo is self-mutilating at this point, because he's in pain....PAIN FROM WHAT?!?! I asked my dad why she put him on AB's then if nothing is wrong with him? They started the AB's last night and continuing with the bupe. Leo is wearing a cone and will lick his belly every chance he gets when his cone gets taken off. I am so pissed off at this point because i have no idea what the problem is, its Sunday and i can't call Andrea to find out what her take is on this. Of course she gave my dad the metacam speech yesterday and told him that if i had only let her give Leo the metacam like she wanted, none of this would be happening right now, so i try explaining to him that metacam has a blackbox warning and is known to cause kidney failure in cats, he laughs at me and says that SHE IS THE DOCTOR, and what do i know??? :sad: Now on top of all of this i'm worried about him not eating, drinking and ketones. I told my dad to raise his dose tonight to 1.00 unit, but at this point its like talking a brick wall and he's refusing, he thinks Leo is ok, because Andrea told him nothing is wrong with Leo.......ARRRGGGHHHHH, if nothing is wrong with my cat than why has he been put on AB's and given bupe?!?!?! I would give anything to go home right now :cry:
 
Re: 10/16 Leo AMPS 244, +5 99

Oh, Tracy...I'm so sorry. :YMHUG:

Do you think maybe your Dad should take him to an ER at this point? It might be a good idea to get a secon opinion, since you and Andrea don't quite see eye-to -eye. His +5 looks good. Maybe the ABS made him feel yucky last night, thus the higher numbers and lack fo appetite? Good for you for standing up about the metacam. I know you are very stressed since you're not actually there.

Thinking of you....keep us posted.

Amy
 
Re: 10/16 Leo AMPS 244, +5 99

Sorry I shoulda clarified and said that Leo has been eating today. He ate a teaspoon at breffis and a bit more at his +4. Although my parents had to feed Leo some HC to actually get him to eat.
 
Re: 10/16 Leo AMPS 244, +5 99

Tracy, I am so sorry to hear that Leo is still not feeling better. The AB's may have upset his stomach last night and maybe that is why he is not wanting to eat as much? Way to stick to your guns about the metacam. And I agree with you...why would the vet put him on antibiotics if there is nothing wrong. Can your dad bring Leo to the vet tomorrow for another check? If Leo ate something that caused him to have an allergic reaction, I am wondering how long it stays in the system and when would you see an improvement? Sorry, I am not much help but hopefully, you will get some answers soon. It must be so frustrating being away from Leo. Sending lots of healing vines and prayers.
 
Re: 10/16 Leo AMPS 244, +5 99

Hi Tracy, that's quite a drop at the +5, so hope this means his numbers will improve. The stress of it all, too, could be adding to the high numbers. I wish I knew what to tell you with the antibiotics and all; maybe you will get more answere when you call the Vet when she opens. Sending healing vines and prayers for Leo and for you to get some answers.
 
Re: 10/16 Leo AMPS 244, +5 99, +7 144, +10 158

Golly, Tracy, I wish that it wasn't a weekend and that you could contact the vet. Can you get "compassionate" leave so that you can travel to your dad's house to see Leo yourself? Is it possible that Leo could have been bitten by an animal?
We are thinking of Leo and you and your dad and hope that your vet will see the light about Metacam. When I spoke to Rusty's new vet about it, she said that she would not use it not only because of the black box warning, but because it has a very short shelf life and is impractical in a small practice.

Sending prayers and healing vines to Leo and calm to you,

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks ladies for helping me feel better. I just talked to my dad and Leo seems a bit better tonight, he is more alert and ate a whole can of FF for supper. My mom cut the sleeve off a tshirt and put it over Leo's belly and apparently it fits just perfect and he can't lick his belly with it on, they were feeling sorry for him wearing the cone of shame. His belly has started to dry and scab over, my dad plans on bringing him back to see Dr Andrea tomorrow for some cream and bandages of some sort. Leo's dose was upped tonight to 1.00 unit (thank you dad for listening to me).

I seriously would leave this instant.....if I had vacation hours in the bank but unfortunately when my grandmother was sick this summer I ended up going into the negative with my vacation hours. Plus my bosses would never allow me to leave for a cat (yes I work for those kind of people :roll: ) if things get any worse I will find a way to come home to take care of Leo.
 
Geez, Tracy, I feel so bad for you!!! I wish your dad would get behind you with regard to the vet. Leo is like your child and your dad should respect how you want him "raised." Vets, like doctors, aren't always right...which is why they pay for malpractice insurance. I'm wondering if Leo may be having a bout of pancreatitis which is painful and will cause him to lose interest in eating. I suspect that's what caused Champ's problems and his vet did say that pancreatitis can "come-and-go." I think you need to start thinking about a new vet, one who will respect your wishes even though she may not agree, and not talk to your dad about how wrong she thinks you are in your decisions. It's very counterproductive and certainly isn't helping Leo. Is there any chance your dad could take Leo in for an fPL test to see if he's having a bout of pancreatitis? It won't help to have the test done if you wait for the attack to pass. I sure hope this gets figured out. I'm so sorry!! I'll keep sweet Leo in my prayers for a speedy recovery!!
 
I'm glad to hear Leo is feeling a bit better and ate well at dinner tonight. I've been thinking about you guys all day. I bet he looks cute as button in his little t-shirt sleeve! At least he is with his DGP who loves him very much. I find it so aggrevating that your vet is trying to turn this around on YOU with your refusal to allow metacam. Seriously...does she not keep up with information at all? When do you get to head back home?
 
I missed your last post when I posted before....I'm so glad your dad listened to you and upped Leo's dose. I know he loves Leo just as much as you. He reminds me of how my dad is with my daughter...it's always been so hard for him to not give her anything she wanted. Your mom is INGENIOUS!!!! She should go into business making "don't lick the owie" shirts and sleeves!!! If Leo's is eating, sounds like he's on the mend!!!
 
Well I'd like to hope the vet won't give Leo metacam, I've told her several times there is no way he is getting it, and put it on a new consent form I signed last week in big black marker 'NO METACAM or COVENIA'.

I have no idea about the pancreatitis Patty, I don't think this is something like that. I seriously think it is either a food allergy or some sort of stress from his dental. He hasn't gone outside much since he's been at his grandparents, outside for a few minutes to do his business and back in.....it's been cold out and he won't spend a lot of time outdoors when it's cold.

I will phone the vet tomorrow and find out some more information.
 
Hi tracy - oh wow... what a stressful day for you. And I am so sorry that Leo is having problems. It sounds like tings are better tonight. I hope you are able to contact your vet, and get some answers in regards to Leo. Good luck - and vines upon vines for all there. HUGS too!
 
(((Tracy)))...oh what a day you and Leo have had!!! It is interesting that she put him on an AB without any real reason unless she felt he had broken through his skin and could get an infection. Even still.......

Clavamox is notorious for causing tummy upsets and inappetance so if he doesn't eat as much or if he gets sick, it could be the AB. One dose of clavamox made little Tobey heave his little toenails. Bad bad bad. I know Zoe has no problems with it at all but it is veyr typical for it to cause tummy upsets...nausea, inappetance, vomiting.

So glad to see his BG come down tonight. I wonder if the high BG this morning was from a new food or pain? Hard to tell but if you just eliminate one thing at a time, you might get closer to figuring out which it is.

Hope he does better tomorrow and you can relax. I know it's hard when you are so far away.
 
So sorry that Leo is so stressed out!! Is there any way your parents could pick up a feliway diffuser? It might help to calm Leo a little until you can get to the bottom of things. So sorry that you're having to deal with doubting parents AND a PITA vet.... especially from afar. Hopefully, he'll be back to normal soon!
 
oh tracy, you poor thing. to have leo not up to par and then have your vet undermining you and your dad's comments . . . that would worry anyone. sounds to me like it's new vet time. we're going to someone new this week. i would be really angry about those comments the vet made - very not cool.

hugs from me - i don't know what it is, but at least his BG isn't super high. i'm thinking about you both and hope he feels better soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top