Not pretty but better than the 375 she was at last night at the lights out test.
I did sorta raise her back to the 1u I say sort of because of the change in syringes I changed brands from the Relion to BDs since recently DH helped roof the BD plant here and when the GC learned we had a diabetic in the family (no DH didn't tell him the diabetic child had four feet lol) The GC gave him two boxes of syringes but I noticed the markings are finer on the BDs. So comparing drop to drop what was .75 on the Relion looks like it is closer to 1u on the BDs.
Gotta tell ya I think I'm now hooked on the BDs, they maybe more expensive than the Relion but I think the precision and ease of use may be well worth the extra dollars. I've used a lot of different brands over the years and never saw much difference until these. These are much better marked and way easier to be precise in dosing.
Wow.. she's up there with Alska. Nice that they keep each other warm.
I bought some back-up syringes from ADW - Uti something (can't remember the brand right now) but only used them recently when I ran out of Relions. The lubricant in the ones from ADW is so much slicker. It is easy to push to the correct dosage. I think I am going to switch off the Relions and keep them as backup and order more of the Uti. Maybe give the BDs a try. The funny thing is that my BFF works for Terumo in their syringe plant in Elkton, MD. She handles inspection and customer complaints. I can't seem to find them locally but I always tease her that if I find a deficient one, I am going to make her look at it while we are on our yearly beach trip.
Well the ones I have right now were donated by the General Contractor and Jesse but to keep using them I'm going to have to order them even though they are the popular local brand here locally just no one carries the 3/10 cc ones.
Hi There, my cat Heffernan was 367 PMPS last night, 306 AMPS. He's on 1.5 units bid--was on 3 units last week and came down to 60 +10 on Saturday. SO we started over at 1. I'm using donated syringes right now, that are a bit old. I need to do some research on new ones though, I'm about 1/2 way through the box!
Autumn is a bit of a tricky case as I adopted her as an untreated diabetic and she is also a Levemir catt so what applies to her does not always apply to normal diabetics or other Lantus cats her nadir is routinely near her preshots but then again her onset isn't until +5
The ADW link at the top of the FDMB page is a good place to find syringes. The BDs are there and so are the UtiCare U-100 Vet Rx Half Unit Insulin syringes, 31g 1/10cc which I am using with Lantus. The UtiCares are $10.69 for 60. The BDs are $20.99 for 100. I think that these are much better syringes than the Relion syringes which tend to be stiff or less lubricated. You might want to look at these.
Also, Heff seems to be having vast cycles. They should flatten out over time. I had a foster who would drop from 600 to 100 and then back up to 600. Now that she has been on lantus for a while, her cycle is flattening to AMPS at 300, down to 150 at nadir and then back up to 250 at PMPS. I have heard that Levimir is better for these deep cycles if Lantus is not successful in flattening them out. You have to give Lantus a chance though - It takes a while.
Autumn's story is good one. You should look it up. Mel has done a great job of getting her to where she is now.