10/16 Apollo AMBG 124, +3 140, +6 117, +9 143

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/16 Apollo AMBG 124, +3 140, +6 117

Oh just LOOK at Mr. Apollo go! Beautiful numbers and no insulin!

John - looking back now, was the dance worth it? :-D
 
Re: 10/16 Apollo AMBG 124, +3 140, +6 117

Squeaky and KT said:
Oh just LOOK at Mr. Apollo go! Beautiful numbers and no insulin!

John - looking back now, was the dance worth it? :-D

It was SO worth it! The change in him is remarkable.
 
Re: 10/16 Apollo AMBG 124, +3 140, +6 117

hi john. i understand you've been concerned about how much apollo is eating despite the fact that he hasn't lost any weight. you do realize not every cat eats 5 - 6oz. a day, right? some kitties maintain their weight on quite a bit less. as long as apollo isn't losing any weight, i don't think the amount should be of concern.

have you given any thought to restarting insulin at 0.1u: http://www.flickr.com/photos/29764149@N02/2783154839/?
while his numbers are looking good it might be a good idea to pull them down a little further in order to give him a chance at a strong remission...

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 10/16 Apollo AMBG 124, +3 140, +6 117

looking good!

I would give some thought to Jill's suggestion to resume a very small dose of insulin. Apollo is doing well without insulin and his pancreas is pulling him down, but his numbers are a little on the high side. Giving a tiny amount of insulin would give his pancreas a little extra support until it can heal fully. We want to give him the best chance at a remission that will last.
 
Re: 10/16 Apollo AMBG 124, +3 140, +6 117

Hi John! I am not one of the experts here but would agree with Jill and others about giving a tiny amount of insulin to help Apollo maintain low numbers and remission. Here is why. When Morgaine was diagnosed she was 291. I didn't start insulin because I was advised to change her diet first. so we went on wet, low carb and her numbers came down within 2 weeks. She tested under 150 and sometimes under 100 so insulin never got started. A year later and after not doing enough spot checking on her, her numbers had creeped up to around 200 and all the symptoms returned. Looking back, I wish I had given her a little bit of insulin to help those beta cells recover fully. Of course ECID and Apollo is looking very good but the protocol is clear and it might be wise to give a tiny bit to help those cells continue to heal. In human diabetes, type 2, some people go into remission with diet and exercise but if they cheat on their diets or stop the exercise, their BS goes up.

Apollo might benefit from a bit of insulin since he hasn't reached the goals of the protocol and his beta cells may need some more time and help. Of course, you can always watch things and resume insulin if need be but the studies have shown that the earlier the protocol is followed, the better chance for remission. Just my 2 cents worth.

No matter what you decide to do, Apollo is doing incredibly well and you should feel proud of how you have handled this.
 
Re: 10/16 Apollo AMBG 124, +3 140, +6 117

Jill & Alex said:
hi john. i understand you've been concerned about how much apollo is eating despite the fact that he hasn't lost any weight. you do realize not every cat eats 5 - 6oz. a day, right? some kitties maintain their weight on quite a bit less. as long as apollo isn't losing any weight, i don't think the amount should be of concern.

have you given any thought to restarting insulin at 0.1u: http://www.flickr.com/photos/29764149@N02/2783154839/?
while his numbers are looking good it might be a good idea to pull them down a little further in order to give him a chance at a strong remission...

just my thoughts...

Yes, I just wanted to make sure he was getting enough food to maintain his weight. I am going to let him keep eating the way he is now and keep an eye on his weight. As long as he isn't losing any weight I'm ok with it.

Yes, I am fine with starting him back on a little insulin. My question was when we left off he had just earned a reduction and was at 0.75 twice a day. Do I start back at that number or go to a 0.25 or 0.1 like you suggested twice a day?

Just trying to give him best opportunity for long-term success.
 
good question! there's no way of knowing for sure what the best dose is for him now. if i were in your shoes i would start out with 0.1u and work my way up... if necessary. it just seems like the safest method since we know his pancreas is sputtering.

i do want to warn you though...
oftentimes when you start giving insulin again you'll initially see a rise in the numbers. don't be discouraged.
i don't know why it happens, but it's happened often enough for me to have taken notice. "if" this happens (it doesn't always) ignore what you're seeing. build that insulin depot/shed. we'll evaluate from there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top