10/16/17 Buddy AMPS 201 +6=477

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa & KitKat

Member Since 2017
I must have gave Buddy a fur shot this morning, is there anyway that I could do his PMPS earlier. I am concerned about his BG being so high. At 12:08 it was 337, then at 2:31 it was 477, that is a big increase in 2 1/2 hours. What could it get to by 8:00 p.m.
 
Put "FS?" in with the dose for this morning. If it was a FS or partial FS you'll need to restart the cycle count. It's hard to say how much insulin he may or may not have gotten. You can shoot early (maybe and hour at most) and then work your way back on schedule. Please read this post on Shooting Schedule_Getting Back On Time
 
Put "FS?" in with the dose for this morning. If it was a FS or partial FS you'll need to restart the cycle count. It's hard to say how much insulin he may or may not have gotten. You can shoot early (maybe and hour at most) and then work your way back on schedule. Please read this post on Shooting Schedule_Getting Back On Time
Thank you, I am about to have a nervous break down over his numbers. I will read the post, but I know to get back on schedule by 15 min. @ a time. His PMPS will be earlier today than usual, it is hard to believe that his numbers could raise that much. Buddy is IAA, his # is 83, last night I said 84 and I was wrong. Was Doddles IAA, if so would you tell me how long it took for his numbers to go down and if it happened all at once. If Doddle was not IAA, I am sorry I had you mixed up with someone else.
 
about to have a nervous break down over his numbers
I'm sorry but can say I do understand. Please try to remember Buddy is more then his numbers :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Was Doddles IAA, if so would you tell me how long it took for his numbers to go down and if it happened all at once.
Yes, Doodles was IAA only @ 78%. With IAA you have to be aggressive yet cautious at the same time which is tricky. Have you considered following TR? Before IAA he was a well regulated cat on a low dose of Lantus but we climbed to 12u. Since he also got the dx of HCM & CHF at the same time as IAA (after loosing that regulation in Feb 2016) I believe his heart triggered the IAA but that is speculation. I also switched Doodles from Lantus to Levemir on March 17, 2017 because Lantus was clearly stinging him. It was a game changer for him. His SS is in my signature for reference only...never copy :)

I'm not sure if anyone posted this information for you about IAA. It helped me to "understand" what was happening.

Some very important information on IAA to keep in mind (courtesy of @Sandy and Black Kitty )
  • IAA is idiopathic. It just shows up spontaneously for unknown reasons.
  • IAA is self limiting and generally resolves in about a year.
  • The way it works when IAAs are present is that injected insulin first gets bound to the antibodies. Any insulin that does not get bound goes toward metabolizing sugars. How much goes to antibodies and how much goes to metabolizing sugars is anybody’s guess and a moving target
  • IAA can retard the initial rise of available insulin after an injection.
  • IAA can lead to an increase in the half-life of free (unbound) insulin in circulation because some bound insulin gets released into circulation.
  • The increase in half-life can lead to prolongation of action.
  • The release of insulin from the antibodies can happen at inopportune times
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top