10/15 Teronto PMPS 234 and 204;+6 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teronto and Pauline

Member Since 2012
Morning Everyone.

Today is the start of a new shot time. An hour before I was originally giving it. Hopefully that gives me a little wiggle room when needed and I can start getting some better data.

His AMPS was high but I expected it since I skipped his shot last night in an effort to start a new time for his shot and also reduced his dosage. Down to .75 units. :thumbup Teronto reacts to Lantus really well so after yesturday's little fiasco it was decided that 1 unit might be a little too much. Here's hoping to the 75's.

We are still continuing with a strict no dry food diet. Both him and sister are on canned Wellness scheduled feeding. I'm also happy to report that he's no longer being a lazy bum...LOL! And he's obsessed with the kitchen and me. He's taken to sitting next to my head on my bed in the morning and singing to me as soon as the alarm goes off. I press snoozed shhush him to be quiet and as soon as the alarm goes off he's singing at me again. LOL! He sure has been a joy to be around the last few days. More lively. I can tell he's feeling better and I swear he might actually be gaining some weight. Which is nice to see since he lost so much weight before he was diagnosed.

All and all this has been a tough week for me trying to manage the animal children and the human children. This gal needs more coffee to start her Monday off right. Maybe a Coffee IV Drip.

Many Thank You's to all who have supported me and Teronto while we are starting out on this new journey. I've learned a lot from all the advice everyone's given me and the suggested reading. I know there's still lots more to learn.

OH! Almost forgot. My Condo.

Have a great day all.

Last day to turn in my mid-term....YAY!
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513 Reduced Dose and New Time

Hi guys .. can't remember if we've stopped into your condo before or not, so welcome from us! That sure is an ugly start to the day, but those sure were some beautiful greens yesterday! :-D I wish you guys luck with this new dose and hope it brings nothing blue blues and green's your way .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513 Reduced Dose and New Time

Hi Pauline,
Sorry that Teronto decided to bounce so very high. But it will turn around.
Those schedule adjustments can really help. I had blinders on trying to keep a time that wasn't helping the process.
Hope Teronto reacts quickly and gets back down to business soon.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS ; +6 133 Reduced Dose and New Time

I expected him to bounce up pretty high since I didn't give him a shot last night.

On the good news. It's lunch time for me. I just got home and tested him +6 and he's at 133. He dropped some before I left for work. 483 at +1 and 341 at 15 mins to +2. I sure wish I could have gotten a +3 and +4 on him since looking at his SS that's when he has the biggest drops on me. But I'll be getting those tonight for sure.

I'll make it home just in time to get a +11 and PMPS on him so we'll see where he's at then.

Time to go and feed me.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133 Reduced Dose and New Time

Hi Pauline, This may be my first time psting in your condo, welcome to LL! Glad Teronto is feeling better and lovey in the mornings. Good luck with your new shot time, hope that helps with your logistics and gives you less worry while you are away. We ended up trading shifts and moving our shot time to get more PM tests before we zombies had to crash, late night brains are in short supply here. Enjoy your day!
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133 Reduced Dose and New Time

Weird! +11 and we are at 98....Not sure what the heck is going on. Does anyone else think this is weird? Should I be concerned? I have an hour to go until his PMPS.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Weird? We're talking about cats. You expect predictability?

Teronto is clearing bounces quickly. If you look at 10/12, he bounced off of the blue numbers. In 24 hours, he was in the greens and surfed there for the cycle. You skipped last night's shot. We don't know if he would have bounced if you had given him a shot but it looks like between the skipped shot and a probably bounce, his AMPS was way high. Now, 24 hours later, he's back in good numbers.

You're likely going to be in a similar position as last night with a low pre-shot number. You might as well start thinking about what you want to do.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Well ya! But cooperation is not to be had. LOL!

I hate being in this position of not knowing what to do. But I can't keep skipping. It really can't be any good for him.....or me! I almost wish I would have started him on a .25 dose. It seems like the descision would be easier to give more vs. less or none at all.

I had my hopes up today. Now I just want to sit and cry and give him Catty Glares.

I guess the good is that the new time works better for me. I get more tests in before I leave for work in the AM and an +11 when I get home.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

You can always drop the dose. And, you're right -- it's easier on the nerves to increase the dose than to be nervous that the dose is too high. Whatever you decide is fine. You just want to stick with the decision and not keep changing the dose.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

first, no crying! Remember, this morning you said this:

He sure has been a joy to be around the last few days. More lively. I can tell he's feeling better and I swear he might actually be gaining some weight. Which is nice to see since he lost so much weight before he was diagnosed.
So no crying unless they are happy tears. :mrgreen: I love that he sings to you in the mornings.

So now what... Sienne is right, it looks like this morning's high number was probably a combination of a bounce from the lows yesterday and the fact that you skipped last night's shot. When this happens, the numbers can have a lot of momentum behind them. What you'll want to do is be sure he has stopped free-falling before you shoot tonight. Get the +12 and post it so we can see what he's doing then, ok?
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Okay...No crying.

I keep hearing about bounces but I'm not sure what that really means. I don't think I read anything really about that while I was digesting all the info everyone threw at me. :smile: Guess I need to go back through all of those old posts.

He's getting a shot tonight for sure.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Working down the dosing scale is one of the hardest parts of this journey. Of course, the potential rewards are HUGE! You didn't exactly start here in the usual style, so you didn't have the luxury of working diligently up the dosing scale and learning Teronto's patterns as you went.

Let's see what the number is. There would be some merit in decreasing and starting over at a lower dose, if you want to. If you want to stay the course, we're here to support that too. Lots of cats end up taking the trip down the dosing ladder very, very quickly and it's stressful, but there are plenty of people here who can help.

The first thing to ask, if you are considering shooting your lowest preshot, is are you prepared? How long can you stay up tonight? Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb wet food on hand, in case you need it?
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Bounces are a protective mechanism. While we all complain about them, they are actually a good thing (in a perverse sort of way). When a cat either drops into lower numbers than s/he's used to (remember that for most cats, they've been diabetic for a while before we figured it out) or if there's a fast drop, the cat's liver will react. The pancreas dumps out a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) and the liver, not to be left out of the party, released counterregulatory hormones. These function to raise BG numbers. That's a bounce.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Gosh DANG Teronto! Getting Me all CRAZY! His PMPS is 234. Its time to eat according to him. Shot time too. And more Crazy Pauline I'm sure. I have a feeling I'll be up for a while and me and the couch might be getting friendly again.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Just to make sure this isn't a meter or strip error, how about re-testing? That's a big jump. It's certainly possible given your AMPS and drop to a 98 at +11.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Well, you certainly don't have an unshootable PMPS!!

BTW, I defined a bounce a couple of posts above. What you're seeing is a bounce.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Held my breath while I did it, but I pulled up my Xtra Tuf's (those are the fashionable rain boots we all wear here if you're wondering) and got 'er Done..... .75 U's Might have been a smig less.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

Paws crossed for a good cycle with little bouncing activity.

You are doing a great job.
There is so much to learn and so fast and it is all so overwhelming.
You chose to make a difference and you already are.
Teronto will be feeling better and better each day.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto AMPS 513;+6 133;+11 98 Is this good?

I'm betting God in his infinite wisdom and humor, created the bounce to make the Crazy Cat Lady CRAZIER!!
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto PMPS 234 and 204

Hang in there, Pauline. The first several weeks are a steep learning curve and, since you don't yet "know" Teronto's cycles or what he might do, it seems like you are in a constant roller coaster. It gets easier.

We're all here to support and help you in any way we can.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto PMPS 234 and 204

You're so right. I do feel like I've been super glued to a roller coaster ride I can't get off of.

How I ever thought I ever thought this would be easy I'll never know. And the last few days are catching up to me. Plus did I meantion that I have a scheduled dental surgery tomorrow...I HATE THE DENTIST! Yuck. Tonight though it's been hard not to look at Teronto and think Halibut Bait, if you know what I mean. LOL!

Frustration isn't me at all. I usually do pretty good under stress. But this...

I'm glad that I have all of you. I think you get me more than I get myself right now and for sure better than the people I see face to face every day.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto PMPS 234 and 204

nice shooting!

Get some spot checks before bed tonight, so you can see if this is a bounce or just the normal end-of-cycle rise. He cleared today's bounce very quickly, so even if he is bouncing now he might come down again by morning. But this is a GOOD thing because it means healing is happening.

Bedtime for me.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto PMPS 234 and 204

You are definitely in a world here that gets you. :YMHUG:
cat_pet_icon We've been thru it and felt the roller coaster.
When you get further down the road, you'll be able to look back at the big picture and see how far you have come.
It's such a whirlwind of emotions at first, with such steep learning and the world around you doesn't help.
I don't know how I would have gotten thru it all without all the wonderful people here. :-D
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto PMPS 234 and 204

I'm sure I'll look back and laugh....someday. :-D

Welp, I need to get this mid-term done and turned in before 11 pm. But I'll be posting updates as we go tonight. Probably every hour, because I'm obsessed.
 
Re: 10/15 Teronto PMPS 234 and 204

He's looking good so far. +6 and he's at 113.

This gal is pretty happy right now. Teronto is pooped out. He's curled up in his blanket on my lap.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top