10/15 Ozy AMPS-359,+7-190,PMPS-241,+2-323

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/15 Ozy AMPS-359

Oh no, the unmistakable smell of Lantus, sort of like a Band-Aid.
I hope he slides down soon!
 
Re: 10/15 Ozy AMPS-359

saw his 190 @+6 today. a peek of blue to give a little hope. maybe this bounce isn't going to last too long! hang in there.
 
Re: 10/15 Ozy AMPS-359,+6-190,PMPS-241

Thanks Amy and Marje and Lara and Carla and Amy and Julie and Rhiannon. Nice of you all to check in. I buped him again tonight. He doesn't seem quite himself. He is asking to eat and then refusing his food which is very unlike him except before he was diagnosed. He definitely had p'titis signs this AM so I gave him some bupe again tonight. Still, I think his numbers are going to come down.

Those fluids we gave him today disappeared quickly into his body. Does that mean he was dehydrated?

donaleen
 
Re: 10/15 Ozy AMPS-359,+7-190,PMPS-241

How quickly, Donaleen? When Bob was getting fluids, the "hump" went away within an hour or so. But many times, all part of it did was "slide down" around his armpits I guess you'd call them. Like he was carrying a water saddle instead of a hump. Usually, all signs of the added fluids went away within an hour or two, and he was getting them at least every other day for a while. He wasn't really dehydrated for much of the time he got fluids. They were a way to "deliver" supplements rather than a way to rehydrate him. Looking back on it, I probably could have just gone with the pills for supplements, but I already had bags of fluids that had them added, so I used them.

Are you shooting insulin and giving fluids in different locations? You probably are but thought I'd ask to make sure.
 
Re: 10/15 Ozy AMPS-359,+7-190,PMPS-241

Hi Carl. I am giving fluids between his shoulders, where the skin is thick. I am giving insulin along his sides close to his belly.

As to absorption, within a few hours I can't find any trace of the fluids. He hasn't seemed at all dehydrated but I did have two incidents in a week where he smelled like Lantus a few hours after his shot when he had NOT smelled like Lantus until then, so it seemed he leaked. Marje asked if he was dehydrated. I hope that makes sense. It seemed difficult to explain.

He feels good tonight. I like that. Maybe the bupe REALLY helped.

donaleen
 
Everything you've done today - the bupe for the p-titis, the fluids which can also help with that, and a dose of insulin that seems to agree with him (BG not too low, and then not too high later) - has him feeling good tonight. Overall, a good day, no?
 
I'm glad he seems to feel better. If he is refusing food, I wonder if he has a little nausea? Have you ever used ondansetron (zofran). If a kitty acts hungry, smells his food, and walks off, he's likely nauseated.

I agree with Julie that the blue is promising. Even so, if he doesn't show some better numbers tomorrow in the a.m. cycle, I'd raise the dose again by .25u.
 
I've taken Zofran before and after surgery, and it's amazing. It's supposed to be better than Cerenia for cats - sorry, I can't provide you with a link or citation for that. Sad that Ozy is off. I hope the bupe and something for nausea gets him over the hump. Do you give him Pepcid?
 
Thanks Lara, Carl and Marje. I did not think of that as nausea, so great tip. I do have Cerennia. I will check out the Zofran. And thanks especially for the pro-active dosing tip because I would have been fretting all day about that.

donaleen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top