10/15 Lilly AMPS 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

terri1962

Member Since 2011
Lilly received .5 units of insulin this morning. She was at 187 preshot. Her numbers have never been very high. She has been off insulin since 9/25 due to my fault.
I did spot check over that time here are some numbers she had while off the insulin.
9/28 190
9/29 155
9/30 193
10/1 191
10/2 209
10/3 210
10/4 234
10/5 230
10/6 219
10/8 215
10/9 194
10/11 207
10/12 208
10/14 217

I did not check her a all the time as she was not on insulin and I was sick with the flu or something for about two weeks.
 
How about getting some tests early in the cycle? Generally, when you're starting (back) on Lantus, it can be helpful to get a mini-curve (i.e., testing every 3 hours). The following information from the [b]Tight Regulation Protocol[/b] sticky should help you to get re-started:

Tight Regulation sticky said:
WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:

Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.

It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.

Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.

Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).

Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.

Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.

Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.

Many Lantus and Levemir users in this forum have been successful following a somewhat modified version of this Tight Regulation Protocol for the last few years. These "general" guidelines are based on anecdotal evidence and personal experiences of laypersons frequenting the forum.

"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
 
I read all that I have it printed out. I will test her when I can, she is not the moist cooperative cat. I initially tallked to the vet about having her euthanized because she was most uncooperative with anything. She can not be pilled at all.
So I will do the best I can with her as she allows.
She and the other cats only get canned Fancy Feast Classic varietys, no dry food. I do use the U-100 3/10 cc so I can give the smaller dose.
I will do the best I can for her as she allows me to do.
I actually have a cat I brought in that was once feral and I can actually handle him much better than this who I have had since she was 8 weeks old. I have four cats and she is the least cooperative of the four and she is the diabetic one.
Terri
 
Hi-

There are some tips for cats who are more difficult to handle. Other's here can direct you on where to find information and suggestions for that.

One thing that worked for me and others was to make sure she gets a treat each and every time a test is done...this way she will associate something good with getting tested and in time she may start coming to you to be tested. I've seen that happen a lot around here!

I now have a cat with asthma and he gets the inhaler twice a day. I use the treat method with him and he gladly comes for his puff because he knows he'll be rewarded every time!
 
Lilly will get more used to the testing as time goes by. Give her some extra pets and praise and maybe a treat after each test whether successful or not. She'll begin to associate the good stuff with the testing, eventually.
Good job getting the spreadsheet up :-D

Here's your link to your 10/13 thread: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54215

Let us know how we can help you.
 
She won`t eat any kind of treats. I have not tried the ones that everybody here uses that are real expensive the Halo ones as I can not afford them. I have two real fat male cats and they will scarf anything. I have to constantly watch to make sure she gets enough to eat. She likes to go in my bedroom so I put food in there for her.
She is better now for her testing than when I started and does not seem to mind the shot at all. I guess she will get better over time. I have had to dig her out from under the bed or chase her through the house a few times.

Terri
 
If you have a Chinese Market near you, you can buy Bonito Flakes or Fish Flakes there, and they are very inexpensive.
You could also give her a tiny piece of deli lunch meat or tuna. I will buy chicken breasts when they are on sale, and boil one for my cats, and then give small pieces of that for a treat. I don't buy Halo cat treats because they are too expensive. There are less expensive cat treats out there.
 
Halo is expensive. There are other brands of freeze dried chicken that are less expensive. However, if Lilly will eat cooked chicken, lots of people here will cook off some chicken, cut it up, and freeze what they are not going to use in a few days time as treats. Treats don't have to be anything over the top -- it's whatever Lilly likes. If there's a place that sells Asian food, you can often find bonito (aka tuna) flakes. They are smelly and fishy and many cats like them. If she likes table food, she can have leftovers (providing they're low carb -- so no pizza!). The idea is that you want to reinforce her good behavior. If she associates getting a treat with testing, she'll be easier to test. No matter if a test is successful or not, Lilly gets a treat. FWIW, treats don't have to be food. There was one member who's cat loved to be brushed. Every time she was tested, she got brushed. It worked!
 
Here's another idea- when I clean chicken I tend to cut off a lot because all that white stuff grosses me out (eew). There tends to be some meat on each piece because it's impossible just to get the gross stuff off without wasting the meat. I've since started microwaving all the gross stuff and then cutting it up and giving it to the cats. They love it...and it would have gone it the garbage anyway!
 
The only thing I can think of that gets her out of the bedroom is canned tuna fish. But someone told that is not good for her as it has to much salt in it. I could always buy some of those Fancy Feasy Appetizers and try those. I looked at them at the store and they did not seem to have anything nasty in them.
I don`t cook chicken because I don`t eat it, I only eat fish and I know to much of thats not good for them. I will figure something out.
 
Hi Terri

Here is what we use with Zoe.....

Treats or Treats 2 ......yes, they are both dog treats. They are just plain chicken breast that has been freeze dried like the Halo brand, just cheaper!

Zoe also likes plain cooked chicken breast....sometimes I boil it and sometimes I just microwave it....this is really cheap and she loves it both ways. Lilly may surprise you and come around to the testing. Zoe surprised me......she hated testing and hated me for trying....I think she picked up on MY apprehension about testing and it stressed her out. Someone here, told me to be calm, even if I had to fake it, which at that time I did. Once I grew confident in my ability to test her....she calmed down and did well with it.

Good luck with Lilly....and keep asking questions!
 
Also I left the Lantus out on the counter today for about 4 hours, this is not the first time this has happened. Do I need to get another bottle? How long do you guys use a vial of Lantus? The vet told me it was good for 6 months but I am sure she would not anticipate I would leave it out several times.

Terri
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top