10/15 Kaz AMP 166/44 now

Claire and Kaz

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-8-kaz-amp-139-38-now.269378/#post-3008121

@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee

Kaz's numbers have finally moved into the lime green again I think he probably did a couple days ago but as I did not physically catch it left him at the 2.5 units. I will now be reducing him down to 2.25 for the evening shot.
As we are just hitting +6 with the green I decided to go with 7% carb and nothing higher as we are towards the end of the morning insulin shot. I am trying to get it so he does not bounce too much and hope to try and reduce him quickly. Yes I am trying to be a bit more aggressive than normal as I travel to the UK again in Dec.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-8-kaz-amp-139-38-now.269378/#post-3008121

@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee

Kaz's numbers have finally moved into the lime green again I think he probably did a couple days ago but as I did not physically catch it left him at the 2.5 units. I will now be reducing him down to 2.25 for the evening shot.
As we are just hitting +6 with the green I decided to go with 7% carb and nothing higher as we are towards the end of the morning insulin shot. I am trying to get it so he does not bounce too much and hope to try and reduce him quickly. Yes I am trying to be a bit more aggressive than normal as I travel to the UK again in Dec.
Congratulations on another reduction @Claire and Kaz :D
 
Also, he probably will bounce from today’s low. Don’t be surprised if he does. He doesn’t seem to take too long to clear bounces. Bouncing is caused by a cat dropping low - or any low that the cat’s body perceives as a threat because it’s not used to spending time in those low numbers. Also (and I see this happening a lot) bouncing results from a cat dropping down in BG too quickly (when they really take a dive — like maybe 100 point drop in an hour or less than an hour.) You are doing well, and I am really proud of you!
 
Going to ask a question which I doubt will actually happens but wonder what the policy is if this does happen.

If after his PMPS shot at the new dose 2.25 he again goes into lime green does he get two reductions in one day? Watching his numbers and he's still low enough where that could happen. I doubt it will but it could. Just interested on how I should handle this if it was to occur.
 
Congrats on the reduction. When following TR for dosing, we don't take what we call back to back reductions. When you reduce, the larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after you reduce. So any lows happening in the first couple cycles after that reduction, would be because of the 2.5 unit depot.

A couple housekeeping notes. First, our subject titles should be in the format AMPS 166 +6 44. We like to know when the low number is in relation to AMPS. Second, once you've got him out of the danger zone, please update the subject line with the latest numbers, so at a glance at the forum, we can tell he's no longer in danger. So add something like +10 84. And lastly, when you have a question, it helps to change the subject line, once again, to add the "?" prefix and paraphrase the question as part of the subject. So you could put something like "reductions?" added onto the end. All of these suggestions, helps people scrolling through the forum to see who needs now, which crisis are past, who has new questions and whether they have the knowledge to help. Once you've had your question answered, you can remove the "?" prefix on the subject. Thank you!
 
Congrats on the reduction. When following TR for dosing, we don't take what we call back to back reductions. When you reduce, the larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after you reduce. So any lows happening in the first couple cycles after that reduction, would be because of the 2.5 unit depot.

A couple housekeeping notes. First, our subject titles should be in the format AMPS 166 +6 44. We like to know when the low number is in relation to AMPS. Second, once you've got him out of the danger zone, please update the subject line with the latest numbers, so at a glance at the forum, we can tell he's no longer in danger. So add something like +10 84. And lastly, when you have a question, it helps to change the subject line, once again, to add the "?" prefix and paraphrase the question as part of the subject. So you could put something like "reductions?" added onto the end. All of these suggestions, helps people scrolling through the forum to see who needs now, which crisis are past, who has new questions and whether they have the knowledge to help. Once you've had your question answered, you can remove the "?" prefix on the subject. Thank you!

Thanks sorry I should have moved back over to the other forum I'll make sure I rectify this by tomorrow. I apologies for being over here only meant to come over when I was uneasy about first reduction.
 
No worries, this is the best place for quick answers on Lantus. Please don't apologize. I was just trying to give you tips so that your time here would give you responses quicker. I see you haven't posted on the Feline Health forum since late September anyway.
 
I try to post only when I need help as I do not like to both people unnecessarily. However I have always known I could never keep to the strict rules on this side of the forum which is why I have been apprehensive about coming over here as I did not want to be kicked off for doing the wrong thing.
I stay on the welcome side where I know there are less people to help me but I know I am not bothering people by not posting in a specific format or daily which is simply not feasible for me with everything else I have to cope with.
I wish things were less strict but I understand that these are your rules.


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-15-kaz-pmp-154.269672/

Link to new post
 
You won't get "kicked off" for not posting according to our guidelines. My comments were strictly to let you know what you could do to get faster responses here. Your choice if you don't to do it. Posting here when in low numbers was a good call. Good luck with whatever you decide.
 
Hi Claire, I'm thinking about you and Kaz since you haven't posted in a long time. I thought you'd be in the UK right now. So either you are taking good care of Kaz or a pet sitter is (looking at his spreadsheet.) Take care.
 
Hi Suzanne
I started a new post on my home computer and must have forgotten to actually post it. Last few weeks have been a bit of a nightmare with home and work. Work still is bad. When I get home I'll post the other message as I think I typed everything in there however I am going to need some advice on dosage and food.

Be in touch when I get home.
 
Back
Top