Staci & Ivy
Very Active Member
10/14/24
Amps 220 Libre
Mostly yellow day both cycles yesterday on Ivy‘s Libre. I was able to sleep in my bed last night. It’s such a double edged sword. We want them lower but then we don’t sleep. She’s higher I get to sleep. Not a great balance.
Question:
Issue on my mind and I need to prepare.
Next Tuesday, 10/22 I have to take Ivy for bloodwork as follow up to see if her T4 has changed for her thyroid condition. It’s been a month since we increased her methimazole. Still trying to get her dose right to being down T4 level.
My question/issue is I’ve been fasting her for labs and also giving her half a dose insulin the night before and skipping her shot the morning of her labs.
The problem is it completely wreaks havoc on her depot and cycles by draining the depot. When I resume the full dose the night after labs it seems to be like an increase and she can really go on a rollercoaster ride for several days.
This procedure completely screws up her cycles for many days afterward as she rebuilds the Depot.
The reason we’ve been fasting her is because when she eats before labs (a fatty lamb homemade diet) It seems to affect her lab results and be very lipemic.
My other concern is since I’ve been fasting her (if I didn’t fast her this time), would it be like comparing different situations in her lab work. i.e. fasted versus unfastened so it’s hard to compare the results since the situation/results would be different.
I don’t want to fast her and give insulin without any food on board as I’m afraid she could really crash and that would be really dangerous with no carbs and not have the ability to feed carbs if she’s crashing, especially overnight the prior night of the labs.
(FYI, She does have these cycles overnight, where she drops lower and I end up feeding carbs through the night to keep her from going too low).
Thoughts?
@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thank you
Have a safe day everyone
Amps 220 Libre
Mostly yellow day both cycles yesterday on Ivy‘s Libre. I was able to sleep in my bed last night. It’s such a double edged sword. We want them lower but then we don’t sleep. She’s higher I get to sleep. Not a great balance.
Question:
Issue on my mind and I need to prepare.
Next Tuesday, 10/22 I have to take Ivy for bloodwork as follow up to see if her T4 has changed for her thyroid condition. It’s been a month since we increased her methimazole. Still trying to get her dose right to being down T4 level.
My question/issue is I’ve been fasting her for labs and also giving her half a dose insulin the night before and skipping her shot the morning of her labs.
The problem is it completely wreaks havoc on her depot and cycles by draining the depot. When I resume the full dose the night after labs it seems to be like an increase and she can really go on a rollercoaster ride for several days.
This procedure completely screws up her cycles for many days afterward as she rebuilds the Depot.
The reason we’ve been fasting her is because when she eats before labs (a fatty lamb homemade diet) It seems to affect her lab results and be very lipemic.
My other concern is since I’ve been fasting her (if I didn’t fast her this time), would it be like comparing different situations in her lab work. i.e. fasted versus unfastened so it’s hard to compare the results since the situation/results would be different.
I don’t want to fast her and give insulin without any food on board as I’m afraid she could really crash and that would be really dangerous with no carbs and not have the ability to feed carbs if she’s crashing, especially overnight the prior night of the labs.
(FYI, She does have these cycles overnight, where she drops lower and I end up feeding carbs through the night to keep her from going too low).
Thoughts?
@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thank you

Have a safe day everyone
