10/15 Heart - And the low BG spiral continues

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
Been going pretty low despite dose decreases, now (half hour late) his PMPS is 79, two hours after eating. I'm thinking of skipping a shot and seeing what happens. I don't want another bounce since we just got over one yesterday morning. Or if it rises before going to bed, maybe giving him 0.5?
 
Tough call, since it looks like a "dropping number" after a possible bounce. If you can catch a rising number, it would be okay, IMO, to shoot. But it would mean getting a couple of tests tonight after the shot. Does that totally mess up your schedule?
 
You've done this dance before, so you know you need to find a dose you can give twice a day, but I agree that it sure looks like Heart cleared that bounce really quickly!!

Might do a BCS tonight so you don't drain the depot too much if you're not comfortable giving the 1 unit...or if his number rises in the next 30 mins to an hour and you can change your schedule, you might want to go ahead with the 1 unit...IF you can test tonight if necessary
 
Not a big rise. But not a drop at least. I agree with Chris that a "BCS dose" makes sense over skipping completely. If you can test by or before +3 to see if you get another drop in numbers.
 
Sorry!

Big Chicken S**t dose. A term we use to describe a "token" dose that is significantly lower than the normal dose.
 
I guess I am chicken ****, because his remission happened so quickly in 2010 after I completely eliminated dry food. And his brief relapse in 2011 went away super fast as well when I stopped my parents from sneaking him dry food. I wonder if this time it was him getting into some kibble outdoors somewhere (and now that he's indoors, that source is gone, so dropping quickly again?). Ugh.
 
Getting a +10 or +11 test will help you to know if the preshot is dropping. It makes it easier to judge whether shooting these lower numbers is safe or not. Eventually you will need to start shooting lower and not skipping or delaying shots. Keeping the shot times consistent will help w/ the wonky numbers too.
 
Sophia

The way to get him into remission again is to shoot, not skip. There is no difference between a 79 and 85.

When you stall, we don't feed because we don't want to shoot a food spike. The only time we feed in the two hours before shot time is if kitty is in the 40s or lower. The link to "Dealing with Low Preshots" in my signature block gives the specifics. :-D

Yes, Heart was clearing a bounce but you've shot dropping, bounce clearing numbers before and 79 is plenty safe for you to shoot on time if it is not a food spike, if you have supplies, and if you can test. I say "for you" because you are experienced with FD.

Also, if we stall, we don't shoot a BCS.....that's a double whammy as shooting late acts like a reduction.

So strap on those BOS for next time :-D and let's get Heart back to the Falls :-D
 
Well I gave him 1 unit this morning (he was back up at 193). It's probably a bit much for him, but I'm thinking most of it will go to the shed anyway?

I probably should have given him his 1 unit yesterday just to see if it causes another very low BG or if he surfs on it, but I knew last night was not the night for me to be setting my alarm every hour nailbite_smile

Jeez, I wonder how women with kids do this constantly getting up in the night thing :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top