10/15 Govie amps 225/+4 240/+6 251/pmps 208

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks similar to the other day.. which means, I'm afraid, that she could have dropped a little low last night, and this is a result of yet another bounce
 
I asked this question the other day regarding Lantus supposed to be a 24 hour one shot a day deal. I understand that cats May respond to insulin,or absorb it differently than humans as reason for 2xday dosing. I'm not feeling that may be the best dose frequency for this insulin in every case. I am definitely going to research this as thoroughly as I can, but would appreciate any advice or thoughts from beans more experienced than I. I just feel that there's some sort of overlap somewhere because there was a point in time that my vet had suggested giving one unit once a day, and I just dug up the papers that I kept from last year which are not reflected on the SS because they were before I got here but it showed that she was pretty darn level at that dose and was not spiking at night. Now that's said I also have heard or read somewhere which I will look again dosing 18 hour intervals. I'm just putting this out there because it's questionable to me and looking at her numbers and realizing what I know now from being here that she was bouncing over and over and over again when she originally had nice numbers wondering if I had stayed with the once a day and tested through the day which I wasn't testing all the time back then, what the outcome would have been. I mean I know she was lower of course I wasn't testing then just like every other day at + 5 but she was throwing up alot. Honestly I don't know how I didn't kill her because prior to that he had me giving her three units twice a day no matter what and I just cringe at the thought and thank God that she's still here what a Survivor these cats are I can assure you they got more than 9 Lives somebody counted wrong! LOL
 
Lantus is one shot a day in humans so some vets think that works for cats too. But cats have faster metabolisms, so except in odd cases on very small doses, what we've seen here is they tend to do better on two shots a day.

Govie will bounce more until she gets used to normal numbers. The best way to do that is to follow the SLGS guidelines and evaluate the dose every week. Don't go by "what might have been". Unless you see it, it didn't happen. Glad you are sticking with 1.25 for now.

Cats insulin needs can and do change. Neko had acromegaly/IAA which put a different spin on things, but her dose ranged from 0.25 units to 8.75 units. I just followed her numbers/nadirs and changed the dose according to the numbers I saw. She lived 5 years on insulin, which is more than I expected given her secondary conditions. It wasn't the diabetes that did her in. Kitties are tough critters.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top