10/15 Cooper AMPS 203 +3 126 +4.25 77 +5 74 +6.25 66 +7.25 59 +10 69 PMPS 84 +2 113 +4 130

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Hello :coffee:

A bit dejected yesterday and this morning. Cooper is just so, so skinny. I know he has technically gained weight, but I don't see how as he looks worse than ever on that front to me. And he's been constipated, probably due to not drinking enough. It feels like just one thing after another, and all I want is for my boy to feel better. :( And not just moments of "he seems so much better", but days of it, at least.

Anyway, sorry to be negative. I know many have it much worse, and have been battling this for far longer. Hopefully the vet next week can give me some clarity.

The AM cycle was great yesterday, but not so today. Should I increase again tonight or stick with 3.5U? He was eating much better, but now that he's constipated we're back to the disinterest. :oops:

Yesterday's thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...8-5-93-pmps-145-2-5-173-4-5-168-7-174.282529/
 
Hi Gabrielle,
I would not feel dejected about the BG numbers. He did get down to 70 on the 3.5 dose.
Hold the dose for 6 cycles then increase but only if you can monitor closely.
Is he not eating again now? Are you giving him the ondansetron regularly?
How long since he’s had his bowels opened?
When is he having the ultrasound?
Sorry for all the questions!
 
I would not feel dejected about the BG numbers.

Mostly just feeling upset because he looks so sickly, so skinny. :(

Is he not eating again now? Are you giving him the ondansetron regularly?
How long since he’s had his bowels opened?
When is he having the ultrasound?

No problem at all! He ate last night, but this morning he wants nothing to do with any of it—not even baby food. Yes, I'm giving the odansetron twice per day still. He pooped Friday, and it's now Sunday. We go back to the vet 10/19, and the vet was going to discuss if he felt we needed the ultrasound at that time (since he felt a mass but was not sure if it was stool). I'm going to request it regardless since something is clearly going on with his digestion.

Edit to add: I gave a dose of Miralax yesterday morning, but that doesn't seem to work for him as well as the digestive supplement that I have so I gave the supplement last night. I'm thinking of going to get some Fortiflora today as I've heard that works really well, but the issue will be getting him to consume it.
 
Last edited:
Hi Gabrielle,
It must be so worrisome. Nothing is worse than seeing our kitties not interested in food as they stay so skinny.
Hope the vet can figure this out for you on the 19th.
Hang in there.
 
I’m no help with constipation as I have not had to deal with it with any of my kitties (antijinx)
Maybe @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee may have a suggestion.
I would request the ultrasound because you need to know what is going on, if anything. im
I am sorry he is looking skinny. I thought I remember you saying he looked bloated in the tummy or distended…am I mixing you up with someone else?
 
Oh sweet Cooper. Hoping he feels well enough to eat for you. I hope that miralax will kick in and get him to poop.

Are you adding some water mixed in with his food when he eats?

Will be sending so many positive vibes your way, Gabrielle, you are doing great paying attention to all details and asking all the questions. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I thought I remember you saying he looked bloated in the tummy or distended…am I mixing you up with someone else?

You're right, that was Cooper! Good memory. His little hips bones are jutting out, but his belly is bloated. It got a little better with the ondansetron (could have been coincidental, or even me imagining it looked a bit better) so I was hoping maybe it was gas and would soon go away. It is back to being bloated/distended again though, likely from the constipation. Though, it never did really go away to begin with.
 
Will be sending so many positive vibes your way, Gabrielle, you are doing great paying attention to all details and asking all the questions. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Yes, I do add tons of water to his food, so luckily he is getting some there! Thank you, Staci, it means a lot. I think I am just in a negative head space today, but Cooper and I will get through it! :)
 
Have you ever tried plain mashed boiled pumpkin to see if that helps with the bloating/constipation?

I've tried plain, canned pumpkin and it seemed to work for a short while (back when I first switched him to all wet food and he was having some issues), but then it seemed like I kept needing to add more and more.
 
Hi Gabrielle,
You may have already tried this, but have you tried plain yogurt?
My experience is hit&miss, some cats love it, others don't care much.
At least it has some water content and protein too.
 
Hi Gabrielle,
You may have already tried this, but have you tried plain yogurt?
My experience is hit&miss, some cats love it, others don't care much.
At least it has some water content and protein too.

That's a good idea! And he might actually try it. He's not interested in eating anything at all right now. :( I need a conduit for more Miralax, but he won't eat anything. :arghh: Lol thank you, I hope that will do the trick!
 
You could also try adding some psyllium husk to his food. Start with 1/8th tsp once a day.
http://felinecrf.org/constipation.htm#treatments_chronic

I've heard of this one too! Maybe I'll put that into the yogurt and see how it goes. I'm going to have a pharmacy by the end of the day. :rolleyes: But I'll be happy if any of it helps my pitiful guy! I agree, I definitely think the constipation is what is making him not want to eat this time.
 
If he’s not drinking enough perhaps he needs sub-q fluids?

Perhaps, I was going to ask the vet about that as well. I have a list going LOL.

Thank you for that site, that is helpful! I'm wondering if I should try to gently syringe some water/Miralax a tiny, tiny bit at a time. He was straining to go just a moment ago. :confused:
 
Perhaps, I was going to ask the vet about that as well. I have a list going LOL.

Thank you for that site, that is helpful! I'm wondering if I should try to gently syringe some water/Miralax a tiny, tiny bit at a time. He was straining to go just a moment ago. :confused:
Poor baby. I hope he was able to go :bighug:
 
Back
Top