10/15 Callie AMPS 268

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby & Callie

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good morning .. I awoke with all kitties aboard (kitty pile on the other side of my bed).This is when they all sleep in U formation right at my head .. ok so it's the window they crave and not me ..lol It was wonderful. Lately Callie has been absent .. under the dresser .. but today she was in her regular spot (VBG) I had a hard time getting her to bleed and stuck her 4 times .. ooooh ouch for her (and me). I had gotten 3 of the FF florentines and rewarded her with the salmon. She gobbled and I gave a bit xtra. I am going back to work and need to do different feedings now. Today I am feeding her 2oz for breffis. I'll feed 1 oz after work and 2 oz at PMPS. A snack in evening will give her 5.5 oz and I believe that since she is a small female (has almost gotten back to weight before FD) she is supposed to have 5oz to 5.5 daily. Am I right? Dr. Lisa says to feed according to what their normal weight should be. I have been feeding too much! I took it upon myself this morning to add oomph to dose without going to the .25 and hope that she will get to green on this. I need to get her steady now that I will be working. We are all hanging in here, but I need to add some exercise to kitties day. They are 10 YO but still need to play and run a bit. I am locking the other cats.. roomates .. in roomies room for 2-3 hours today so my cats can play in the hall. I have new toys and will play till they are pooped ..lol. All the diet, insulin and food regulation will work better if I can get some exercise added I hope. Let the experiment begin! Added opinions welcome here!

Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
It looks to me like you are shifting around your doses without waiting for a new dose to settle. Unless numbers drop below 50, in which case a dose reduction is earned, each dose is usually held for 3 days (6 cycles). You noted on your SS that you'll be dropping Callie's dose back to 2.0u tonight. Callie had a great cycle yesterday morning and there is room to increase the dose. However, if you're going to add fat to the dose, if would be best if you held this dose for a total of 6 cycles. It also looks like you reduced from 2.25u only 3 cycles ago. The concept of the shed is a little hard to really describe. What it functionally means is that each dose has a cumulative effect. Every time you change a dose, it effects the shed. As a result, doses are changed once they've had a chance to settle and so you can evaluate just how effective it is since sometimes numbers get a little wonky after a dose change.
 
The bounce looks like it has cleared so now we will see what she does with the reduced dose....I agree that it would be best to hold this for the 6 cycles/3 days. Doing good...have fun in the hallway with the play time. the other kitties in the roomie's room will be so jealous!! :lol:
Sometimes, a lot of activity and exercise lowers the BGs...maybe check to see if Callie reacts that way....
 
Good morning Libby! Congrats on the job! Like Sienne said, it's really not a good idea to keep changing the dose. You should continue to shoot the F2.0u unless/until Callie earns a decrease. Lantus likes consistency. The change in the amount you are feeding her may have an effect on her response as well...less food may require less insulin. I would watch her closely since you increased dose and cut back on food...she did have a big response to the last increase!

I would suggest that you count calories, not oz, when you evaluate how much food Callie needs. Some foods have more calories than others. Good for you for watching her weight and adjusting so she doesn't gain too much! I had to do the same thing when Tinkles got back up close to ideal weight. As Pat said, exercise is great, but watch her BG after she plays, it may drop.

Have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top