10/15 Blackie PMPS 119, +4 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=81129

WCR: Weight - 11.21 lbs., dropped 0.08 from last Thursday's weigh-in; 'tude in place, 4 P's, Clean Bowl Club.

Does the reduction of insulin cause a bit of weight loss, and does it actually put on weight if increased?

WBR: Getting better, I think. Day 9 of cold. I'm alive, though.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115

I don't know the answer to your weight question. I know J.D.'s weight fluctuates daily and also what time of day, depending upon what he's eaten and what he's eliminated.
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115

I have no idea on your question but am going to watch and see if there is any input. More healing vines for you Angela. Yuck on the cold! I can't believe it has hung on that long. Big hugs!!!
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115

Morning Angela, nice blue for Blackie's start of the day. I'm also interested in answers to your question.
Have a nice day. Scritches to Blackie.
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115

I don't believe there is a relationship between insulin and weight. However, in a cat that has high BG and is not getting insulin, the cat typically loses weight because nutrition isn't getting into the cells despite how much the cat is eating. This is why diabetes is regarded as a "starving disease." Once numbers are in a more normal range, along with PU/PD, this resolves.
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115

Angela asked in Gabby's condo what I meant by PU/PD.

PU/PD = polyuria (peeing a lot) and PD = polydipsia (drinking a lot)
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115

Hi Angela,

I would be curious to know the answer to your question about weight gain.

Feel better. Rusty is out gathering some healing vines for you,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115

Hi guys .. that's a good question Angela, I never thought about it before .. I see blackie is staring out in another lovely light blue .. sorry to hear that cold is still dragging on .. hope this is the last of it .. have a great day!
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115

Whenever Rosy is reporting ugly bg curve for a week, I notice she loose weight. I can touch & feel her spine when she sits down. When she's in the blue, green curve, she put on a bit of weight. The insulin dose has nothing to do with her weight.
 
Re: Question 10/15 Blackie AMPS 115, +3 59, 74 (same drop)

+3 59, 74 - 0.35 oz. Evo 95% C&T

I took 2 tests this morning from the same blood poke, and got 2 results. The first is a typical Blackie. The second was because she was done with the first poke and wanted her fuds. She was literally squirming to let me know that she was done, so I'm going to say that the second test was stress related. Both tests were done within 30 seconds of each other.

I give her 1/2 cup of water each day (2 tsps. with each PS, +1, & +2 meal, and 6 tsps. with each +3 snack). I have noticed that she goes to the water bowl on occasion to drink, but doesn't stay there long (no more than 30 seconds at best). She's getting a fair amount of water right now. I'm still not sure why her PMPS #s are going up, other than she's been finding contraband somewhere.

Should I keep her at the same amount of water, or increase it?
 
Re: 10/15 Blackie PMPS 119

PMPS 119, 4.0u, 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T

I'm currently watching her weight very closely, and have revamped the amount to increase it to 5.7 oz./day, which would give her 219.6 cal/day. At this time, she's still getting the current amount of food. If she continues to drop in the next week, I'll set the new amount in motion to hopefully keep her from dropping.

Due to the recent PMPS #s being unusually high, can I still give her the reduction on Thursday?
 
Re: Question (last post) 10/15 Blackie PMPS 119

I wouldn't reduce yet, but I would try to get some data to see what is going on between tests. She's hitting 40s and 50s fairly often so try to make sure you're not missing anything.

What do you mean by keeping the same amount of water or increasing it? She should have as much water as she wants.
 
Re: Question (last post) 10/15 Blackie PMPS 119

I always add water (anywhere from 2-6 tsps., which totals 1/2 cup a day, to her meals), and then she drinks from the water dish, if she feels she needs more. I was considering adding a bit more water to her meals.
 
Re: Question (last post) 10/15 Blackie PMPS 119

I'm not sure what you mean by getting more data between tests. Her nadirs are typically in the 50's and 60's, with the odd 40's thrown in for good measure. I'm not understanding what else needs to be done.
 
Re: Question (last post) 10/15 Blackie PMPS 119

I meant between shots. Try to move your tests around a little more. Nadirs can move (a lot). I see times on her SS where she hit 40s as late as +5 (and not that long ago), so don't assume that she is going up after +3. There are so few late cycle tests that even though I'm usually pretty good at mentally filling in the empty cells on spreadsheets, I can't do it here.

Lots of things could be causing the slightly higher PS numbers (which are still great numbers, by the way!). Normally if a cat is surfing green but with higher PS numbers, if the caregiver wants to try to lower the PS I would suggest fattening the dose and feeding to prevent drops to 40s. For Blackie, my gut tells me that that is not the answer, that she is probably hitting 40s more than you realize (or maybe even 30s), but I can't prove it.
 
Re: Question (last post) 10/15 Blackie PMPS 119

Some time ago, it was suggested that I add carbs to her diet so that I could safely increase her doses in order to bring those #s down. I added the carbs, however it inflated her #s to the point where I had to withdraw the carbs. I increased her doses regardless, and got up to 5.25 before she threw a 39, which warranted a reduction. We've been reducing every 7 days since then until now. After seeing this evening's PS #, I'm beginning to think that she was (and has had a history of) licking the kitchen floor of contraband (Lord knows this bean is very anal about trying to wipe after the civvies eat :lol:). In the beginning, her nadirs were anywhere from +4 to +6. Since I've been feeding her at the PS, +1, +2 and +3 times, I've noticed that the nadirs are typically +3 (for example 10/4 where I took a +3 and +4.5 tests). I can occasionally do +3 to +5 tests to see what she's doing. Later during the day, she begins to rise, and I don't normally test then until the next PS test is due.
 
Recap:

AMPS 115, 4.0u, 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 59, 74 (taken from same drop within 30 seconds) - 0.35 oz. Evo 95% C&T
PMPS 119, 4.0u, 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.35 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+4 69
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top