10/15/17 Lily AMPS 54 +6 44

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Lily

Member Since 2015
Good afternoon everyone. Not much to report except the past few days having some difficultly finding a good dose for my Lily girl. 30 units doesn't seem like enough, 31 units apparently is too much today too. The only times recently that she went really high was when she had too many kitty treats! :D
Hope everyone is good in L L land. Prayers and vines to those who need them!
 
Lily, stay away from the sharks! :eek: Come up a little higher girl. I hope she's come up from you. Best to test again in 1/2 hour after that 44.

I think I'd go back to 30 units. Last time you were on that dose, you didn't get any night time tests so it might have been a good dose for her. Those yellows you saw might have been bounces from whereever she went at night. I'm also going to emphasize the important of at least one test at night, every night. Neko once went three months going low at night, and sometimes earning reductions, then bouncing during the day. Many kitties go lower at night. Even a before bed test tells you a lot if it's +2 or later.
 
I'm going back to 30 units tonight and see what that dose does. I truly believe the yellows she had recently on her AMPS was because of her eating too many Friskies Party Mix cat treats. I try to avoid giving those to her but the civvies love them and have come to expect them for their bed time snack. Both of those nights Lily stole a bunch of treats from one of the other civvies and the next morning we had yellow. Normally Lily only gets raw chicken thigh or freeze dried raw bits as her treats. But like us humans you have to be bad once in awhile! As far as testing during the night, I am usually pretty good as you can see with getting those tests. But unfortunately I also have a husband who is being treated for stage 4 esophageal cancer and last week he had his first chemo treatment. He is being treated up in Tampa and I think the going back & forth from Naples to Tampa for all the doctor appnts and tests and then the start of chemo and him having awful side effects from the chemo is also taking a toll on me a bit. I promise to do better for Lily! :cat:
 
Hello Karen & Lily. I'm sorry to read about your husband. I wish him a speedy recovery. Chemo is hard. My DH went through it for a year and is doing well now. Medicine has made leaps and bounds with cancer treatments. Its a rough road but there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Warm positive thoughts :bighug:

Lily is such a well regulated Acro cat! Its amazing to see this and gives me hope. I think you're doing a fantastic job with Lily and her SS is really something to see.

prayers sent.jpg
 
Thanks everyone. This past month or so after DH's diagnosis, cat 4 hurricane Irma hitting Naples, and worrying about Lily when I take those trips to Tampa for DH's treatment and having my neighbor take care of Lily, takes its toll. It feels overwhelming at times. Prayers are appreciated :bighug:
 
I had been meaning to ask how your DH was doing. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Sending vines.

No harm in lowering the dose a little if you can't test as often for a while. Lily's numbers are looking really good. You do a great job with her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top