judy and squamee(GA)
Member Since 2009
AMPS 365 .6U phenobARB 7.5MG
+ 4 272 Gabapentin 25mg
+10 Phenobarb 7.5mg
+11 PMPS 263 .6U
+3 Gabapentin 25mg
+4 127
Horrible morning! SHe didn't eat at all during the night, and this morning she struggled and struggled and was totally unable to eat. SHe was also refusing the pill pockets. I called the vet and he said it was ok to give both the phenobarbital and the Gabapentin. I was able to get the phenobarb down her throat, and a little while later she was able to eat. SInce this symptom is episodic, I can't be sure that her difficulty was connected to stopping the phenobarb.--I stopped it on Oct 12 when I started the Gabapentin. But it seems likely, especially since she was able to eat after I gave it to her. On the other hand---I don't know how long it takes the phenobarb to work---she was able to eat about a half hour later. So for now, I think I will give her the phenobarb 2X/day (I had been doing 3x) and continue with the Gabapentin. I found bigger dog pill pockets that cover the big capsule better (tho I don't use the whole thing) and she seems to like the beef flavor better than the salmon flavor. (it really smells like bacon, and the salmon didn't smell that much).
I knew giving her the Gabapentin was going to be a problem as the tablets are big and she was getting increasingly reluctant to take them. I decided to be proactive and order them in fish flavored suspension. I ordered yesterday from a compounding pharmacy in NJ and paid $30 extra to have it delivered next day express---they said it would get to me by 10:30 AM today. At 10 it had not arrived, so I called them. THe order had never gone out!!! THey apologized,said they would not charge me shipping, but that it could not get to me till MOnday! I was freaking out (at that point I did not have the beef pill pockets and was not sure I would be able to get her to take the medicine.) and that's when I decided I would have to go back to the phenobarb. and then I lost a contact lens!!! (luckily I found an extra I had stored away)
Her BG has been going up, and I have increased her dose to .6u. I am thinking of going higher. THe vet had thought that the diabetes would stop as her steroid injection wore off, but that does not seem to be the case. Phooey!
After spending a couple of exhausting days helping my daughter with her adorable 8 month old twin boys, we now away for the weekend at a small place we have on the Hudson RIver in the foothills of the Adirondacks. The foliage is magnificent, and Squamee likes having us around all day. Having her off the phenobarb was nice because she seemed somewhat less dopey and wobbly. But not eating is too great a price to pay! I am really hoping that she will adjust to the meds and not be so sedated.(it feels like she isn't really here when she is dopey).
+ 4 272 Gabapentin 25mg
+10 Phenobarb 7.5mg
+11 PMPS 263 .6U
+3 Gabapentin 25mg
+4 127
Horrible morning! SHe didn't eat at all during the night, and this morning she struggled and struggled and was totally unable to eat. SHe was also refusing the pill pockets. I called the vet and he said it was ok to give both the phenobarbital and the Gabapentin. I was able to get the phenobarb down her throat, and a little while later she was able to eat. SInce this symptom is episodic, I can't be sure that her difficulty was connected to stopping the phenobarb.--I stopped it on Oct 12 when I started the Gabapentin. But it seems likely, especially since she was able to eat after I gave it to her. On the other hand---I don't know how long it takes the phenobarb to work---she was able to eat about a half hour later. So for now, I think I will give her the phenobarb 2X/day (I had been doing 3x) and continue with the Gabapentin. I found bigger dog pill pockets that cover the big capsule better (tho I don't use the whole thing) and she seems to like the beef flavor better than the salmon flavor. (it really smells like bacon, and the salmon didn't smell that much).
I knew giving her the Gabapentin was going to be a problem as the tablets are big and she was getting increasingly reluctant to take them. I decided to be proactive and order them in fish flavored suspension. I ordered yesterday from a compounding pharmacy in NJ and paid $30 extra to have it delivered next day express---they said it would get to me by 10:30 AM today. At 10 it had not arrived, so I called them. THe order had never gone out!!! THey apologized,said they would not charge me shipping, but that it could not get to me till MOnday! I was freaking out (at that point I did not have the beef pill pockets and was not sure I would be able to get her to take the medicine.) and that's when I decided I would have to go back to the phenobarb. and then I lost a contact lens!!! (luckily I found an extra I had stored away)
Her BG has been going up, and I have increased her dose to .6u. I am thinking of going higher. THe vet had thought that the diabetes would stop as her steroid injection wore off, but that does not seem to be the case. Phooey!
After spending a couple of exhausting days helping my daughter with her adorable 8 month old twin boys, we now away for the weekend at a small place we have on the Hudson RIver in the foothills of the Adirondacks. The foliage is magnificent, and Squamee likes having us around all day. Having her off the phenobarb was nice because she seemed somewhat less dopey and wobbly. But not eating is too great a price to pay! I am really hoping that she will adjust to the meds and not be so sedated.(it feels like she isn't really here when she is dopey).