10/14 Biscuit AMPS 70 +1 53 +1.5 47 PMPS 145. Help down to 44 at +3. Earlier low. See SS

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Well over the weekend Biscuit earned a reduction of .25u. Bracing myself as I get used to shooting Lower and Lower. 70 is the lowest I’ve shot yet but trying to be consistent and with the reduction wanted to stay on track. I’ll be watching him closely over the next few hours.

Second change, we’ve moved from 3 oz of 9 lives twice a day and 1.5 oz of tiki cat at lunch, to fancy feast 4 times a day (1/2 small can 1.5 oz) and still tiki cat at lunch. Hoping by spacing out his meals we can take some of the stress off his pancreas as we space out what it has to deal with.

Let’s hope these changes help biscuit on his road to recovery...
 
Thinking I might need to do some “food bumping” to stave off any too low lows... thoughts? He at 1.5 oz of FF an hour ago but his sugar dropped.

Haven’t been in this situation this early in his cycle.
 
Only give a tsp or two of the HC for now-- we want to keep him a little hungry and willing to eat if we need to.

Sorry for the flurry of replies, I didn't get much sleep last night :coffee:.
FYI. Food on hand is beef FF gravy lovers at 20% carbs and Friskies Homestyle Turkey at 25%.

Gave 1.5 tsp of FF for now, licked the plate clean. (Good Part is, he is a great eater)
 
OK. Hold off on food just now, but test again in 30mins. It's over the take-action number of 50, but I have doubts he's going to hold it. We're still seeing depot numbers right now, but this mornings shot will be kicking in soon.
 
OK. Hold off on food just now, but test again in 30mins. It's over the take-action number of 50, but I have doubts he's going to hold it. We're still seeing depot numbers right now, but this mornings shot will be kicking in soon.
Up to 55. Still test at 30 mins or wait an hour this time?
 
Again, not sure if anyone is up. I meant to test an hour ago at +2 but now it’s +3 and he’s down to 44. Looks ok. Just gave 2tsp of HC. Looking for any advice.
 
Ok. So story thus far. +3 44, +3.25 55, +3.5 59, +4 65, +4.5 57. so guess I’m staying up for another 30 min test. It’s possible HC is wearing off??
 
Ok. So story thus far. +3 44, +3.25 55, +3.5 59, +4 65, +4.5 57. so guess I’m staying up for another 30 min test. It’s possible HC is wearing off??
 
Biscuit might be approaching nadir so that's why numbers are going down. Let's see what +5 looks like.

I'm suspecting the 44 at +3 was a combination of onset + bounce breaking + the higher dose in play. I wonder if you should reduce tomorrow but I'm not comfortable giving dose advice. @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @MrWorfMen's Mom are usually up around now and may have some advice.
 
Biscuit might be approaching nadir so that's why numbers are going down. Let's see what +5 looks like.

I'm suspecting the 44 at +3 was a combination of onset + bounce breaking + the higher dose in play. I wonder if you should reduce tomorrow but I'm not comfortable giving dose advice. @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @MrWorfMen's Mom are usually up around now and may have some advice.
Well +5 was 60 so at least that’s in the right direction. Should I test in 30 or an hour? Thanks. Guess I’m not getting much sleep...
 
I would test in an hour if possible but since you haven't fed anything since +3, I'm inclined to say you're probably safe. If you feel like you can't make it, a test in 30 mins might let you know if you can sleep or not.
 
He's surfing nicely.
When did you last feed him and what was it?
Sorry. Set my alarm for an hours sleep. I fed him at PMPS 1.5 oz of LC FF and 2 tsp of HC 20% gravy FF at +3 we are up to 72 now so I am definitely off to bed. Thanks for checking in everyone.

Should I stick with this 1u dose come morning?
I will be home mostly to watch him and I just reduced it last nights PM cycle.
 
So this is the third cycle at 1 unit correct?
The BG could still be influenced by the previous depot so I think I would stay with the 1 unit.
Test frequently though and early and if he drops under 50 again,I would reduce the dose.
You are doing a great job with him and it's lovely seeing all those green numbers so early in his current journey.
 
Back
Top