10/14 Benjamin AMPS 160 dose ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cindyh

Member Since 2012
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80307

Benjamin is doing well, just trying to decide what to do about his dose. His numbers have been creeping up a little since the last decrease. I should be able to get a few more tests today. My biggest concern is that I will be leaving town for 5 days beginning on Thursday of this week, and my son will be taking care of Benjamin for me. He will test before he shoots, but won't be able to get other tests done, so I don't want Benjamin going too low. Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!
 
I would hold the dose. You're seeing green at nadir so you don't have all that much room to increase the dose. What I would suggest regarding your traveling is that you post on Wednesday. A lot can happen between now and Wed.

FWIW, my cat won't allow anyone except me to test and I have a pet sitter who comes by twice a day to give a shot. I reduce Gabby's dose for safety reasons so that may be a strategy you want to consider. I'd also strongly suggest you set up a sample syringe for your son. Use a colored liquid (milk, juice, etc.) so he can see how much insulin you're shooting. This is a good means to make sure there aren't any mistakes.
 
Thanks, Sienne. I will definitely post again before I leave.

Benjamin is an amazingly sweet kittie who is pretty accomodating about letting us test and shoot. Incredible, actually, since he had never met us till July of this year when he was feeling pretty bad. I think he just knows we are trying to help him. My son (he's an adult, btw, not a kid! :-D )has helped out a few times over the past few months and Benjamin is always good for him. But I don't want any drama while I'm gone! And my son is super good at the dosing, and we have the syringes with the half unit markings, so I think he will be fine with that.

Thanks so much for the help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top