SDAbby
Member Since 2020
last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-268-5-75-6-77-pmps-237.236671/#post-2654714
hi, all - I hope everyone is having a good day.
I just wanted to confirm that with Abby's 80 mid-cycle today we should drop her to .5U [.25 units less than her current dose of .75] tonight and going forward (for a week or until numbers indicate otherwise). While Abby remains upset on the testing, I am able to do it more consistently now. Given her numbers to date, do you think I should switch over to TR (now that she is completely off of dry food -I took away even her ability to nibble on a few kibbles because she was eating too many!) She is very vocal about missing her dry food, but is still eating about 2 cans of FF a day. I know the board indicates that cats more consistently go into remission under TR (although I know not all cats achieve that), but have you had successes with SLGS as well? I know each cat is different and it seems Abby's numbers are heading in the right direction; however, given that we are almost 2 months out from DX, I want to be sure I am doing everything I can to help her go into remission within the "magical" 6 month window.
Also, I just wanted to reiterate how much I appreciate the guidance and resources this board provides. I haven't been able to find a definitive answer so I'll just ask - is it better to post on the board every day (even when things are going smoothly) or is my habit of posting to confirm changes/issues ok? I know the board has a lot of volunteers so I feel like if I'm smooth sailing I shouldn't post (to allow resources to help the other kitties that need it more), but I also don't want the volunteers and moderators to feel like I only pop up when I have a question.
Thank you!
hi, all - I hope everyone is having a good day.
I just wanted to confirm that with Abby's 80 mid-cycle today we should drop her to .5U [.25 units less than her current dose of .75] tonight and going forward (for a week or until numbers indicate otherwise). While Abby remains upset on the testing, I am able to do it more consistently now. Given her numbers to date, do you think I should switch over to TR (now that she is completely off of dry food -I took away even her ability to nibble on a few kibbles because she was eating too many!) She is very vocal about missing her dry food, but is still eating about 2 cans of FF a day. I know the board indicates that cats more consistently go into remission under TR (although I know not all cats achieve that), but have you had successes with SLGS as well? I know each cat is different and it seems Abby's numbers are heading in the right direction; however, given that we are almost 2 months out from DX, I want to be sure I am doing everything I can to help her go into remission within the "magical" 6 month window.
Also, I just wanted to reiterate how much I appreciate the guidance and resources this board provides. I haven't been able to find a definitive answer so I'll just ask - is it better to post on the board every day (even when things are going smoothly) or is my habit of posting to confirm changes/issues ok? I know the board has a lot of volunteers so I feel like if I'm smooth sailing I shouldn't post (to allow resources to help the other kitties that need it more), but I also don't want the volunteers and moderators to feel like I only pop up when I have a question.
Thank you!
Last edited: