10/14/20 Abby AMPS 156 / +6 80 confirming dose drop

SDAbby

Member Since 2020
last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-268-5-75-6-77-pmps-237.236671/#post-2654714

hi, all - I hope everyone is having a good day.

I just wanted to confirm that with Abby's 80 mid-cycle today we should drop her to .5U [.25 units less than her current dose of .75] tonight and going forward (for a week or until numbers indicate otherwise). While Abby remains upset on the testing, I am able to do it more consistently now. Given her numbers to date, do you think I should switch over to TR (now that she is completely off of dry food -I took away even her ability to nibble on a few kibbles because she was eating too many!) She is very vocal about missing her dry food, but is still eating about 2 cans of FF a day. I know the board indicates that cats more consistently go into remission under TR (although I know not all cats achieve that), but have you had successes with SLGS as well? I know each cat is different and it seems Abby's numbers are heading in the right direction; however, given that we are almost 2 months out from DX, I want to be sure I am doing everything I can to help her go into remission within the "magical" 6 month window.

Also, I just wanted to reiterate how much I appreciate the guidance and resources this board provides. I haven't been able to find a definitive answer so I'll just ask - is it better to post on the board every day (even when things are going smoothly) or is my habit of posting to confirm changes/issues ok? I know the board has a lot of volunteers so I feel like if I'm smooth sailing I shouldn't post (to allow resources to help the other kitties that need it more), but I also don't want the volunteers and moderators to feel like I only pop up when I have a question.

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Good catch on that 80 today! :D Yes on the reduction tonight if following SLGS. You are testing now enough for TR and good job with the food transition. TR does allow them to spend more time in healing green numbers. Whether you switch is your decision, based on ability to monitor, lifestyle, and goals for Abby.

How much you post is up to you. For new people, posting daily in the beginning can help as those of us looking at new people can see if they are missing something. But if you just want to post when you have questions, that works too. We're flexible. :) We also like seeing good news stories.
 
Back
Top