10/13 Missy AMPS 190

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/13 Missy AMPS 190 +207; +4 284; +10 388

Too bad she couldn't stay in the blues :cry:
I swear I don't get that girl.....she is just all over the place.
Right now, she is laying down on the floor next to me using her paw to take TINY pieces of food to eat. a swipe and a lick, a swipe and a lick. Don't know what that is about. ;-)
Tried working on my profile, but it didn't work...will be working on it for a while. now....wish me luck!
M&M
 
Re: 10/13 Missy AMPS 190 +207; +4 284; +10 388

Too bad she couldn't stay in the blues :cry:
I swear I don't get that girl.....she is just all over the place.
Right now, she is laying down on the floor next to me using her paw to take TINY pieces of food to eat. a swipe and a lick, a swipe and a lick. Don't know what that is about. ;-)
Tried working on my profile, but it didn't work...will be working on it for a while. now....wish me luck!
M&M
 
Re: 10/13 Missy AMPS 190 +207; +4 284; +10 388

Too bad she couldn't stay in the blues :cry:
I swear I don't get that girl.....she is just all over the place.
Right now, she is laying down on the floor next to me using her paw to take TINY pieces of food to eat. a swipe and a lick, a swipe and a lick. Don't know what that is about. ;-)
Tried working on my profile, but it didn't work...will be working on it for a while. now....wish me luck!
M&M
 
hi mares! here's your condo from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54126

we include those every day because it helps people who are giving advice if they can look back a page or two to make sure of the story.

i looked at missy's ss, and i would wonder if it's possible that missy went a little low in last night's cycle. the low preshot this morning, then increasing numbers throughout the day today would suggest a bounce off of a low number. i know you've got MS and can't get night time tests, but i wanted to suggest to you that my guess is that this is what might explain today's higher numbers.

also, you usually don't want to change the dose based upon the preshot numbers unless it isn't safe to shoot. if the preshot number is too low to safely shoot, then we consider options - of which there are 3.

1. you can stall without feeding - wait about 15-30 minutes without feeding and retest. the purpose of that is only to see that the BG is rising on its own at the end of the lantus cycle. then you can go ahead and shoot.
2. you can give a reduced dose or
3. you can skip the shot.

lantus doesn't onset for 2-3 hours, so the BG number you are seeing at the time of the shot is not what the BG will be when the lantus begins working.

if missy's bouncing, her numbers might stay high for as long as 72 hours. during that time you hold the dose and don't increase it. when her numbers come back down then you'll be able to see what the dose is really doing.

good job getting all those tests in during the day. her patterns on lantus are going to get clearer with all of these tests! well done!
 
Julie,
Thanks for the encouragement! I am planning on getting some PM numbers...maybe even tonight, as I am feeling pretty well.
I wonder how much of her high numbers during the day are a result of feeding? She usually wants a tsp or so of food a couple times during the day.
Do you think going off the Clavamox will affect her numbers? She has had diarrhea, even with me giving her live culture probiotics and some yoghurt. I know SHE will be happy to be off it! Poor little butt.
Still having issues with the profile...I may just do my own doc. I keep getting all the code when I attach it to my signature. :? Cannot find the tab under "Edit" that says edit html. I am not a real techie....should be obvious, because now I am getting double posts when I reply. :oops: I have a post over in the tech section to hopefully figure THAT out!
Thanks again for the encouragement!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top