10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Plz

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good Morning World! Welcome to our home!!! Last Condo

KT
AMPS 340

KT'S BACK!!! We had PERFECT POOP this morning! His body is now digesting food correctly, he's eating and has regained about half a pound!!! We almost lost him thru this one...he told us he was ready to go about a week ago but we wouldn't let him. I syringe fed, started probiotics, FINALLY found digestive enzymes and started those. NOW he's ready to pounce on anyone and PLAY! He still wants HC gravy food, dry food crumbles on top - all those "PLEASE EAT" things we were doing. Today he starts back on his 'diabetic regime' - LC food and no dry. His numbers have been AWFUL the last 3 days but I'm celebrating them - it means FOOD is absorbing! He got an INCREASE in insulin up to .75u's today but I'll bet we have to go higher right now. This morning he's already eaten a whole 5oz can of LC PLUS 2 saucers of fresh chicken!

DAKOTA
AMPS 147

Sweet Dakota got an increase also - he's up to 4units per dose but we're FINALLY seeing blues. We had our lowest AMPS we've seen in FOREVER! He's being his silly self, all P's in place. I just have to share the cutest thing. Dakota has developed a close relationship with our LeoKitty - the one with all the breathing issues that we've almost lost twice now. Dakota was sleeping under our bed, Leo was in the hallway crouched listening to a noise - hey, it MIGHT be a toy (as in live mouse). Something scared him, he jumped and turned hitting the desk then the chair scrambling to get away from 'whatever'....(brave soul he is...). Dakota comes shooting out from under the bed, chest and neck puffed, runs down the hall where Leo stopped, slid beside him then they BOTH watched for 'whatever'. Big Brother was ready to whoop on whatever was gettin' his 'baby brother'. They are such wonderful, happy blessings that make us smile all the way to our toes.

I apologize for the lapse of time between our condos - it's been a very emotional time. Friday mid-day, my little elderly neighbor that I help called...it was her Border Collie's time to cross. I took her in and loved her across, came back and buried her. DH was VERY attached to her, his heart was extra broken. When she came out to potty, all the other neighborhood dogs always had to bark at her. We always knew it was Lady, DH dropped whatever he was doing to go out, take her a treat and walk her back home. The neighborhood is way too quiet...

When we finally arrived back home, we found our SpikeKitty (the FORMERLY 'shared' one), with a urinary blockage and almost gone. I had to rush him to the ER where they immediately admitted him. The estimate for treatment was $996. I went thru it with a fine tooth comb, removed a lot of unnecessary stuff, changed ab's and fluid plan reducing it down to $596. That included a 24 hour stay for the price of 12 hours. We pulled all our grocery money and pennies from everywhere - threw half of estimate at them to start. Thru fb and with Venita Wood's help, we started a 'YouCaring' fund request. BLESS MANY OF YOU! A total of $410 was gathered toward the bill - we have GROCERY $$ again! I picked Spike up last night about 6pm! His cat door is now shut, his room is a hospital. He's already peed and pooped, eaten a bit and is hollering OUT OUT OUT! We're saying NO NO NO!

I got back here last night just in time for a terrible storm to hit - dumped .75 inch PLUS 10 straight minutes of marble to golf ball size hail! We have a metal roof...it was so loud we couldn't hear each other talk in normal voices. What a welcome home!

Today we HOPE to just rest - all our babies are home on the way to healthy again. Extra thoughts and prayers for all needing them, LOOOOONG hug to Sue/DH losing Samwise and Jeanene losing Tabitha. We HAVE been visiting condos but haven't taken time to post, just wanted to be sure everyone was OK.

BIG HUGS to all that visit today!!!
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS 147 KT'S BACK!!!

Sending peaceful vines to your house today. what a week you've had. I'm so glad that KT is eating normally again. Hugs all around and sending stay well vines for everyone.

big Bro Doc to the rescue! :lol: :lol: :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

Would someone remind me again what I need to 'manage' to keep SpikeKitty from developing crystals again? He eats both wet and hard - need to change to Urinary hard and even get rid of it from him too if I can.

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!!! Spike's sleeping like a log - reading his charts, he didn't sleep hardly at all while he was in the hospital.
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

That's a lot!

Here's hoping you can rest a bit.
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

Yay, KT! You have such great beans. :-D :-D :-D Dakota, you are a funny guy. That Leo needs a big brother. What a rollercoaster for you and DH! Big hugs!
Liz
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

Adequate water and low phosphorus are the main things for keeping the urinary tract flushed out and healthy, dry food is the opposite of what he needs. Here's the link to Dr Lisa's UT page. Low phosphorus /low carb canned food is recommended.

Crystals can form in urine after the sample is taken. There should be no more than half an hour before the test is run or you can get a false positive for Ut crystals. I looked around for UT supplements for Tess and cranberry/d-mannose is recommended. I liked the price and composition of CranHealth from Drs. Foster and Smith.
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

My civie Theo is also a crystal kitty. Lots of water is the main thing and wet low phos only. He's getting raw (extra water and the vet's recommendation). I am now making his food very gravy like. Theo will not drink out of a bowl but will lap up the "gravy" or water I add to his food and mix in. The vet wants his USG (urine specific gravity) to be on the low side. My vet also recommended glucosamine supplements. Theo is getting Cosequin and after his last episode he got a set of four cartrophen (Adequan in the US) injections. That's supposed to help the bladder wall. Plus he's getting cranberry.

As Ann says, the crystals can form in the sample if it's not tested quickly enough. Plugs can also be created by mucous.

Other things I've had recommended is Feliway plug-ins. It's usually the nervous nelly cats who come down with this and the goal is to de stress them as stress can cause the episodes.

Good luck! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

Thank you All!!

The ER vet said it was struvite crystals causing the plug. Looking at the nursing notes and times, it was done very quickly. It indicated

Collection Method: Catheterization
WBC: Moderate, 1.25
Nitrates: Negative
Color: Dark yellow
Appearance: Clear
Urobilinogen: Normal, 3.2
Protein: >20 (++++)
pH: 8.0
Blood: Negative
Ketones: Negative
Bilirubin: Negative
Glucose: Negative
Specific Gravity: 1.005
Sediment: Struvite (++++)

I know I need to get him off the dry but prior to this, I had no control over his wherebouts and when he was here to eat. We kept dry available as he might show up when we were busy elsewhere. I already fed 1/2 can Friskies twice daily. He's a crackhead so it's going to be tough to convince him they don't make such a thing anymore. cat(2)_steam

BIG HUGS and THANKS Again!
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

So thrilled to hear KT is eating again and pooping purrfect piles :lol: :lol:

Loved the story..It's always such fun to see them all "poofed out" looking all big and bad...and then running for the hills if something actually does show up....LOL

Hope your life settles down some now and everyone will give you a break from all the worry!
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

I'm glad KT and SpikeKitty are on the mend. You are such a good person. You :YMHUG: , and your DH :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/13 KT AMPS 340 Dakota AMPS KT'S BACK! Crystals ? Pl

My crystal-prone cat never had a problem again after I switched him to raw. In fact, that was the impetus, because the other choice at the time was a "medical" diet that would make him thirsty and drink more. This seemed absurd.

Wishing everyone peace and healing xo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top