Jack & Mopem'sMom
Member Since 2020
It never fails....I work 2 jobs and every Thursday I have to leave my house in the late afternoon. I'm out anywhere between 8 to10 hours after his PMPS and dose. This is almost ALWAYS the day this dang cat decides to go low. This morning he ate regular pate (I guess the planets were aligned or something...) and tanked to 66. So, following SLGS, this afternoon he gets his reduction to 5.5 units, but God only knows what he plans on eating. If he eats regular pate we may be low. If he insists on something like filets that won't be enough. Also, the venison Ziwi didn't arrive yet, so I have nothing to leave out for him other than extra pate or the Dr Elsey's kibble (which will send him about 150 points higher) when I leave.
So that's the issue. here's the question: We have been doing SLGS because he is seriously the King of the Picky Pets and I can't get him to eat the proper way for TR. However, we are at a point where I can pretty much tell what the insulin will do based on what he eats. I'm thinking of trying the TR to avoid the highs and lows we seem to get with his ridiculous eating habits. How do you guys feel about varying the insulin dose a few units based on numbers and food intake? This morning he was 151, I gave him 6 units....now he's a bit too low...I would maybe have given him 4 since he ate properly. The other night he was 443...I gave him 6 units....I could have done 7units since he ate properly, but if he hadn't eaten the pate and insisted on something like prime filets, I could have done 7.5. I know this is not the recommended protocol at all. I'm just wondering what folks think since he is such a jerk about food and I'm getting rather desperate to find a solution that will keep him steadier. I appreciate any and all feedback....thanks in advance.
Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-amps-128-3hrs-154-6hrs.269537/#post-3007808
So that's the issue. here's the question: We have been doing SLGS because he is seriously the King of the Picky Pets and I can't get him to eat the proper way for TR. However, we are at a point where I can pretty much tell what the insulin will do based on what he eats. I'm thinking of trying the TR to avoid the highs and lows we seem to get with his ridiculous eating habits. How do you guys feel about varying the insulin dose a few units based on numbers and food intake? This morning he was 151, I gave him 6 units....now he's a bit too low...I would maybe have given him 4 since he ate properly. The other night he was 443...I gave him 6 units....I could have done 7units since he ate properly, but if he hadn't eaten the pate and insisted on something like prime filets, I could have done 7.5. I know this is not the recommended protocol at all. I'm just wondering what folks think since he is such a jerk about food and I'm getting rather desperate to find a solution that will keep him steadier. I appreciate any and all feedback....thanks in advance.
Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-amps-128-3hrs-154-6hrs.269537/#post-3007808
