10/13 Faraday AMPS 93, +2 83, PMPS 112, +3 67

Cali S

Member Since 2022
Last time …

Much drama has been had around these parts, fortunately not by Mr Faraday. Civvie had an intestinal blockage and needed surgery, and that has been a whole ordeal. Other craziness too, but I wanted to pop in because Faraday actually earned himself a dose reduction!!!

This crazy cat has been on the same dose since March (7 months!!) and finally decided to spice things up! He tentatively seems to be holding the reduction well, so all the paws crossed it holds.
 
Actually he did not earn a reduction. With over a year it’s reduction under 40. If the bg starts to rise dint wait too long to go back up. I hope it sticks.
 
Actually he did not earn a reduction. With over a year it’s reduction under 40. If the bg starts to rise dint wait too long to go back up. I hope it sticks.

Drat! So are three drops under 50 only for special cases? Maybe for less than a year post diagnosis who don’t hold reductions well? I don’t know how I got it in my head that that was also a qualification for reduction for a long term diabetic.

I’ll go back up tonight so he can earn it properly!
 
Drat! So are three drops under 50 only for special cases? Maybe for less than a year post diagnosis who don’t hold reductions well? I don’t know how I got it in my head that that was also a qualification for reduction for a long term diabetic.

I’ll go back up tonight so he can earn it properly!

Cats that don’t hold reductions can try 3 under 50 but since it’s been months on the same dose a drop under 40 would make more sense. You can continue on the lower dose if it’s working and go back up if the bg starts to go up though.
 
@tiffmaxee - does this mean I treat 40 as I used to 50?

Faraday is very comfortable in the low 50s, so I don’t generally do MC/HC in the 50s.

Does this mean when I see 40s now I don’t have to treat it as a hypo and jump on MC/HC? Or do I still want to avoid him going down into the 40s?
 
Yes you treat 40’s as you used to treat 50’s. I’d give hc and test in 20-30 just like we suggest with under 50. You don’t want to become complacent and put him into a symptomatic hypo. If he’s in the 50’s I would feed lc but test to make sure he doesn’t go under 40 or surf there too long.
 
Back
Top