10/13 DC PMPS=229 +4=284

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
DC had a good night.

I have to go to San Diego on a business trip on Sunday and will be gone for 2 weeks.
My question is the person I may be getting to look after the cats has a strange schedule.
The shot times would mostly be 8am & 8pm, a few days at 8am & 10pm, then it will be 10am & 10om for 2 days and then back to 8am.
Is this feasible or will it totally mess up DC's BG or put him at risk for too many lows?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Or even if anyone knows of someone in the Edmonton area that could pet sit.
 
Re: 10/13 DC AMPS=146 QUESTION

Noreen&DC&Frisky said:
DC had a good night.

I have to go to San Diego on a business trip on Sunday and will be gone for 2 weeks.
My question is the person I may be getting to look after the cats has a strange schedule.
The shot times would mostly be 8am & 8pm, a few days at 8am & 10pm, then it will be 10am & 10om for 2 days and then back to 8am.
Is this feasible or will it totally mess up DC's BG or put him at risk for too many lows?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Or even if anyone knows of someone in the Edmonton area that could pet sit.

hi noreen. could you give us a little more info, please?

  • will the pet sitter be staying with DC or will he be alone between shot times?
  • will the sitter be available for spot checks?
  • will you be available to the pet sitter via phone to discuss dosing on low ps numbers?
  • will the sitter update DC's ss while you're gone?
  • will you or the sitter be posting during the 2 weeks you'll be gone?
  • many kitties do not eat normally when their caregiver is gone. does DC?
  • will you be using a timed feeder to feed in-between shot times?

generally speaking, we suggest dropping the dose when peeps are leaving town. lots can change for our kitties within a two week time period. dose adjustments may be needed.
 
Re: 10/13 DC AMPS=146 QUESTION

Jill & Alex said:
hi noreen. could you give us a little more info, please?
  • will the pet sitter be staying with DC or will he be alone between shot times?
There will be someone with DC 80% of the time, but it is someone who will not do tests. She will feed DC every 3 hours or more if needed.
  • will the sitter be available for spot checks?
She will to tests before all shots and AM+8 daily and on some days she will get in a few more tests as well.
  • will you be available to the pet sitter via phone to discuss dosing on low ps numbers?
Yes
  • will the sitter update DC's ss while you're gone?
I'm not sure, but she will be keeping a manual log that I have.
  • will you or the sitter be posting during the 2 weeks you'll be gone?
I will see if I can get her to post periodically, but for certain it wouldn't be daily.
  • many kitties do not eat normally when their caregiver is gone. does DC?
DC eats normally while he is there and sometimes even gets into their dogs food.
  • will you be using a timed feeder to feed in-between shot times?
No. He will be fed during the day by a person and will almost always have wet food out for him.
 
Re: 10/13 DC AMPS=146 +3.5=58 +4=72 QUESTION

He is getting 1.25u presently, right Noreen? he is doing very nicely on that dose...look at those greens today! So, this is the reason we usually suggest a lowered dose when someone else will be shooting and monitoring is not the way you yourself would do it. Maybe if you post again on Saturday to check what dose would be good. Do you have any thoughts about the amount yourself?
My worry is about those days when she can only shoot at 10/10 after doing the 8/8. The first time, the shot will be 2 hours late, and the next switch, it will be early by 2 hours. Hope someone with some creative thoughts can suggest something.

I only went away from Friday night to Sunday night and I guess I made it a BIG production! ;-) But I had never left them in the past since their dx. I made a list of a number that was a no shot number. I left HC gravy with instructions for that. This was my fist experience with this DPS but it turned out okay. Shadow's numbers were a little wonky by the time I got back home, but once he was back on his regular dose, he straightened right out. but YOU are going for 2 weeks....good for YOU! :razz: Well, I wish you well...I am sure you can work something out...
 
Re: 10/13 DC AMPS=146 +3.5=58 +4=72 QUESTION

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
He is getting 1.25u presently, right Noreen? he is doing very nicely on that dose...look at those greens today! So, this is the reason we usually suggest a lowered dose when someone else will be shooting and monitoring is not the way you yourself would do it. Maybe if you post again on Saturday to check what dose would be good. Do you have any thoughts about the amount yourself?
My worry is about those days when she can only shoot at 10/10 after doing the 8/8. The first time, the shot will be 2 hours late, and the next switch, it will be early by 2 hours. Hope someone with some creative thoughts can suggest something.
He has been on 1.25 units since I returned from my last trip, which I wouldn't have gone on if I'd known I'd be going away again so soon.
I was thinking of lowering his dose to 1 unit while I'm gone, which is what I did for the last trip.
Last time when I lowered the dose to 1 unit he was getting 1.75 units.
It will be the same petsitter, the only difference is her schedule has changed due to a play she is in.
 
Re: 10/13 DC AMPS=146 +3.5=58 +4=72 +6=126 +8.5=185 QUESTION

I think I gave DC too much HC gravy @ +3.5.
At least he's staying in the blue for now.
 
Re: 10/13 DC AMPS=146 +3.5=58 +4=72 +6=126 +8.5=185 QUESTION

thanks for filling in the blanks. the more info we have, the easier it is to suggest a dose which will keep DC safe while you're gone.
as for dose, i like pat's suggestion to wait until saturday to come up with a dose. i know it's only 3 more days, but DC looks like he could be wanting a reduction any time now. :-D
 
I have no clue what happened with DC's numbers from supper time on.
Hairball? Fur shot? Probably just too much gravy, @ AM +4, although I gave him less than I normally do.
He started out having such a good day too.
AMPS = 146
+3.5 = 58
+4 = 72
+6 = 126
+8.5 = 185
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top