10/13 Crushy amps 377 +6 178 +7 126 Pmps 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106212&p=1127066#p1127066


A lot of blues today after spending pretty much the entire night in the 400s. Im thinking of increasing his dose tomorrow. I havent seen any greens at all with this dose.

He seemed extra hungry this morning and last night. Ive been giving him a few extra carb free treats to try to placate him some but he took matters into his own hands this afternoon. He and Link ate an entire 1/2 lb bag of chicken hearts I left defrosting on the counter when I went to the gym this afternoon. :o They look quite satisfied and pleased with themselves. ( Im just glad they didnt eat the plastic bag.) Didnt seem to do much to his BG (it was carb free) You'd think Id learn not to leave stuff like that on the counter and leave the house though!

I would love to free feed Crushy but typically he just doesnt have an off switch when it comes to eating....each time Ive tried he just eats an eats and eats and gets huge. And now with the diabetes sometimes he's starving and sometimes he has no appetite. The feeder is helping a lot with that though.

hope everyone is doing well
 
Re: 10/13 Crushy amps 377 +6 178 +7 126

one of my new kittens (now 7 months old) is like that. i've wondered how much at once i'd have to give him before he stopped eating on his own! i'll be very happy to have him grow out of this phase, if he every does!

i'm wondering if the second reduction on 10/10 might have been too soon. when you reduce a dose it can take 6 cycles for the shed to deplete and readjust with the new dose, so sometimes low numbers are seen that are really from the previous dose. in other words, i'm wondering if the low numbers on 10/10 were partially caused by the 2.0 unit dose and it might have been too soon to reduce to 1.5u.

i'll ask for some more eyes on crushy's ss, but if it were me, i think i might go back up to 1.75. let's see what others think.
 
Re: 10/13 Crushy amps 377 +6 178 +7 126

hmmm interesting! thanks!

also, there is this from the protocol:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

I swear I see something new each time I read the protocol!

I guess I should have shaved the dose instead of gone down a full quarter on 10/10?
 
Re: 10/13 Crushy amps 377 +6 178 +7 126 reduced too soon?

I think I would have taken the full .25 reduction too. Crushy is a "new diabetic" and it looks like you had to work fairly hard to get him up above 50 on the 10th (and keep him there)

You can always increase again..Once it's in, you can't take it out again. I think to be safe, you did right by taking the full reduction.

The only thing I might have done differently would have been to "shoot through the bounce" on the PMPS cycle on the 10th....since he bounced to 308, you could have stayed at 1.75 for that cycle, and then dropped to 1.5 for the AMPS cycle on the 11th

BAD Crushy!!...eating all those chicken hearts!! :-D My first cat (when I was 7) used to eat anything we left out to defrost...when he ate his way through a package of T-bone steaks, my mom was fit to be tied...From then on, when we left meat out to defrost, we put a big bowl over the top of it so Kitty couldn't get into it
 
Re: 10/13 Crushy amps 377 +6 178 +7 126 reduced too soon?

michele, sorry for not getting back to you sooner - i'm having router woes and keep getting disconnected from the internet.

i see a 381 pmps - ouch. what did you decide to do on the dose? he did have a wonderful blue surf today - something to cheer about. and a nice little snack you left him too! ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 10/13 Crushy amps 377 +6 178 +7 126 reduced too soon?

thanks Chris, I knew about the idea of keeping the old dose if the pre shot # is high like it was on the 10th but after trying to get his #s up during the day that day I just sort of chickened out on that. I should have kept it because his #s went really high that night. Next time I will!

Julie, I went ahead and upped his dose to 1.75 tonight
I figured he had 6 cycles on 1.5 regardless if I should or shouldnt have reduced it to that.
The blues are nice but Im getting sick of these red and high pink #s. And I want to see some green again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top