10/13 Bocephus AMPS 159 Do I skip shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Also, since Bocephus isn't in imminent danger (thankfully! :) ), when you get a moment it'd be good for people's blood pressure if you could take down the 911 and replace it with a question mark icon. :)


Mogs
.
 
Allowing for variance between meter readings basically he hasn't budged.

Does Bocephus have any history of testing positive for ketones or any episodes of DKA?


Mogs
.
 
If there was DKA it's something you'd definitely know about (treatment requires hospitalisation).

The good news is that, after 10 cycles at 1IU, the depot is established and with last night's mid-cycle and today's AMPS tests you're starting to really see the effectiveness of this dose. Because you've only got a few days' worth of BG data since Bocephus switched to Lantus and the (stalled) AMPS is less than 200, my suggestion is that it would be safest to skip this morning's dose.

Please let me know what you decide to do.


Mogs
.
 
Ta for the additional info, Wendy. :)

The reason I asked about ketone/DKA history is that some cats are more prone to developing ketones and one has to be a little more cautious about skipping doses in those instances.


Mogs
.
 
If there was DKA it's something you'd definitely know about (treatment requires hospitalisation).

The good news is that, after 10 cycles at 1IU, the depot is established and with last night's mid-cycle and today's AMPS tests you're starting to really see the effectiveness of this dose. Because you've only got a few days' worth of BG data since Bocephus switched to Lantus and the (stalled) AMPS is less than 200, my suggestion is that it would be safest to skip this morning's dose.

Please let me know what you decide to do.


Mogs
.
I think I will skip it. I'm so new to this and I'm still confused about the SLGS vs. tight methods. I'm just trying not to kill the little old guy.
 
Thank you, Wendy! Whenever there's a 911 on the board it automatically puts the heart crossways. :nailbiting:


Mogs
.
Totally understand that o_O I went ahead and dropped the ? Out of the title as well since you've already helped me that way other's can focus on the other folks that need help.
I really appreciate your time this morning. Now I can feed him and have some:coffee:
 
:D

The core differences between the two dosing methods are:

1. Diet: Cats on TR must be fed exclusively with wet, low carb food.

2. Length of time a dose is held: TR allows for fewer cycles between dose adjustments.

3. Threshold at which dose reductions are earned: With SLGS dose is reduced if BG goes below 90. TR is a more aggressive method and dose reductions are earned when BG goes below 50 (human meter values).

4. Testing: While the minimum recommended number of tests required for both methods is 2 preshot and 2 mid-cycle tests per day, effectively TR tends to require more testing because the dose reduction threshold is much lower.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
:D

The core differences between the two dosing methods are:

1. Diet: Cats on TR must be fed exclusively with wet, low carb food.

2. Length of time a dose is held: TR allows for fewer cycles between dose adjustments.

3. Threshold at which dose reductions are earned: With SLGS dose is reduced if BG goes below 90. TR is a more aggressive method and dose reductions are only earned when cat goes below 50 (human meter values).

4. Testing: While the minimum recommended number of tests required for both methods is 2 preshot and 2 mid-cycle tests per day, effectively TR tends to require more testing because the dose reduction threshold is much lower.


Mogs
.
That's a little clearer. I tend to overthink things and make them harder than they have to be.
 
Now I can feed him and have some:coffee:
Might join you in the :coffee:. I've got a stinking cold and a cuppa sounds very appealing right now.

Shout any time you need help, Wendy.

Tip: I'm not sure about your daily schedule but it would help you if you could manage to grab a few daytime mid-cycle tests (cats typically run lower in one of the cycles - usually the PM one).

BTW, if you initially follow SLGS you can always switch to TR at a later stage if you choose. :)


Mogs
.
 
That's a little clearer. I tend to overthink things and make them harder than they have to be.
Don't be so hard on yourself, Wendy. ;) In the early days the learning curve is nigh on vertical and it does take a while for such a large volume of new information to sink in. And that's on top of worrying about Bocephus! :nailbiting:

How is your boy's paw doing today?

(((Bocephus)))


Mogs
.
 
Might join you in the :coffee:. I've got a stinking cold and a cuppa sounds very appealing right now.

Shout any time you need help, Wendy.

Tip: I'm not sure about your daily schedule but it would help you if you could manage to grab a few daytime mid-cycle tests (cats typically run lower in one of the cycles - usually the PM one).

BTW, if you initially follow SLGS you can always switch to TR at a later stage if you choose. :)


Mogs
.
Oh no that's not fun. We hope you feel better soon. I will grab some more mid cycle tests this week. I held off since we just switched to Lantus to give it time to really get going. I was going to do a curve today but this morning really messed that up :facepalm:. I am really starting to understand the importance of the mid cycle tests and not just pre-shot.
 
Don't be so hard on yourself, Wendy. ;) In the early days the learning curve is nigh on vertical and it does take a while for such a large volume of new information to sink in. And that's on top of worrying about Bocephus! :nailbiting:

How is your boy's paw doing today?

(((Bocephus)))


Mogs
.
His paw is slowly getting better. We may still require surgery to completely get it back in control but for now we're just going to let the doxycycline do what it can for it and focus on the diabetes and let his body have a break and hopefully clear itself from all the steroids and things he's had in the past few months. I'm really hoping that waiting it out some will make it better without surgery. Fingers and paws crossed. Thank you for asking about it.
 
Thank you for the good wishes about the cold. I've had it for a couple of weeks and I can't shake it off. I think the variable weather we're having at the moment isn't helping; one day mild, next day freezing. :rolleyes:

I am really starting to understand the importance of the mid cycle tests and not just pre-shot.
Both types of test are important for different reasons:

1. Preshots: Tell you whether it's safe to give the next dose.

2. Mid-cycles: Tell you about dose duration (how long dose has a lowering effect on BG over a cycle) and also about dose safety (how low the nadir is).

Dose adjustments for Lantus are based on the nadir BG.


Mogs
.
 
His paw is slowly getting better. We may still require surgery to completely get it back in control but for now we're just going to let the doxycycline do what it can for it and focus on the diabetes and let his body have a break and hopefully clear itself from all the steroids and things he's had in the past few months. I'm really hoping that waiting it out some will make it better without surgery. Fingers and paws crossed. Thank you for asking about it.
I'm very glad to hear that Bocephus' paw is improving. I really winced for him when you told us about the abscess the other day. :( I hope he won't need surgery. We'll keep rooting for him over here.

(((Bocephus)))


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top