10/12 Tip PMPS-155 ... +6-177 +7.5-145 +8.5-140 +9-129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
10/11 condo

AMPS - 312
+3 - 304
+4 - 284
+6 - 182
+8 - 132
PMPS - 155
+2- 275
+4 - 215
+6 - 177
+7.5 - 145
+8.5 - 140
+9 - 129

Well, that's an interesting little thing Tip's decided to do. Looks like she had a late start to the insulin working(my best guess). So I asked if my grandpa could get a +8, and he said sure. That's in ~30-40 minutes from now. I think that'll show if it's just taking longer overall today, or if it's just having a short drop and coming back up. Either way, that 182 actually made me feel a bit better. Iv'e been beating myself up a bit about Tip's diabetes. Keep feeling like it's my fault, but I'm having to keep reminding myself that I simply didn't know any better.
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 +3-304 +4-284 +6-182

((((Cindy)))) FD is not your fault and please don't beat yourself up about it. You are doing a great job. Tip is a challenge, just like all the other kitties here. Woohoo on that blue!!! :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 +3-304 +4-284 +6-182

Anne & Zener said:
((((Cindy)))) FD is not your fault and please don't beat yourself up about it. You are doing a great job. Tip is a challenge, just like all the other kitties here. Woohoo on that blue!!! :-D :-D
Liz
*hugs* I know, but it sure feels like a lot of stuff could've been avoided Like she could've gotten diagnosed earlier than she was had I of said yes to extensive blood work when she was just seen by the vet for weight loss back in December. Rather than put on prednisone to see if that helped and then not getting the tests done until February. She would've been on insulin so much sooner. Thanks for the encouragement. It does mean a lot. :)
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 +3-304 +4-284 +6-182 +8-132

HI Cindy-
Just checking on condos on a quick break and saw your post. Please remember that you are doing the best you can for Tip and you did nothing to intentionally harm Tip.

I think many of us have 'regrets' had we known more then that we do now. My Baxter and Simon died within months of each other last year (kidney failure) and I had done brief research, enough to know that my boys should probably not be on dry kibble (we thought we were giving them 'good' stuff feeding them IAMS). I didn't do anything different.

However, when Fur Ball was dx'd last month, we just made the drastic changes to get him to a better place. You are doing great and just remember Tip loves his mommabean and knows how much you care.

Hope that helps. Hang in there!!! :YMHUG:

Karen
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 +3-304 +4-284 +6-182 +8-132

You're right....I was only doing what I thought was best for her at the moment.

You all are such great people. Seriously, I am feeling tons better now. I mean, I'm a little at a loss for words besides thank you.

In regards to Tips numbers....right now I'm deciding weather or not I want to ask my grandpa to test her in an hour(her +10) or if she'll be fine until I get home for her PMPS....I asked my grandpa when she last ate and he said that she at least ate directly after her +6 test, doesn't know past that since he was working outside, getting the wood ready for a murphy bed we're getting set up to make more room in one of the guest bedrooms.
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 +3-304 +4-284 +6-182 +8-132

Cindy

I think it's a good idea for your grandpa to get the +10 because she's clearing a bounce and you will likely be shooting a dropping number tonight.

Please don't be so hard on yourself. I know we all do it.....I have said so many times that if I could just have ONE "do over" in my entire life, it would be not giving Gracie steroids. We all make the best decision
we can at the time. And you are doing a good job with her diabetes.
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 +3-304 +4-284 +6-182 +8-132

Cindy, it's a great idea to occasionally get those later tests. Nadirs can move. For Neko I've seen them anywhere from +4.5 to +9. Generally earlier if she starts out lower and can be later is she starts out higher. ECID. But this does show that Tip is getting into some really nice numbers.

One other thing, just by being on this board, giving insulin, blood testing and following the protocol, you are doing WAY more for Tip's diabetes that a lot of cat owners do. Think of all the people who don't blood test, keep their cat on dry vet prescription food, etc. You are keeping Tip safe and now she is getting into some nice numbers. She is lucky to have you as a bean (and your grandpa too).
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 +3-304 +4-284 +6-182 +8-132

Ah, I'm sorry I missed these, I was getting ready to leave work to get home. She did get a 155(and then after food just to see where she was at, it was 230) though, so it looks like she started either going up or is holding her own. I'll still keep close watch on her, especially since it's saturday tomorrow and have nothing going on.
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 ... +2-275 +4-215 +6-177 +7.5-145

I know its kind of late in the states, so I'm not sure who all will be up, but I was wondering when it might be safe to stop testing? I'm getting pretty tired and it'd be nice to know if I'm fine just going to bed now or if I should start taking naps between tests.
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - AMPS-312 ... +2-275 +4-215 +6-177 +7.5-145

Hi Cindy,

I'm still up on the west coast. You should probably change your first post to contain the PMPS and numbers following so people know it's a current question. If my cat is low enough, I usually like to see a rising number or two before I pack it in for the night. You might want to try a sleep/test cycle for an hour. It'll be getting pretty late in the cycle so hopefully Tip will be up enough in an hour so you can be done. Thanks goodness tomorrow is Saturday!
 
Re: 10/12 - Tip - ...PMPS-155 +2-275 +4-215 +6-177 +7.5-145

Ah, thanks. Trying to make due with the limited number of characters in the subject line.

This is true, here it's ~20 minutes from an 8.5. I think depending on how low she actually gets, I'd probably just be happy with 1 rising number, but we'll see. I'm just nervous about leaving her without seeing a rising number. I'm still not quite used to how she is when in the blues.
 
Re: 10/12 Tip ...PMPS-155 +2-275 +4-215 +6-177 +7.5-145 +8.5

Once you've seen Tip enough in these lower numbers, you'll get a better feel for how she is going to react. I stare at my spreadsheet a lot trying to find patterns and predict what Neko will do by what she has done in the past. This late in the cycle, one rising number is probably OK, especially if it's a significant rise. The other thing that some people do is to abort cycles by feeding higher carb food. Some time when you are awake (ie. daytime weekend) if she is lower, you can try to see how Tip reacts to MC and HC, then that's another tool you have to steer her numbers. Overall, this looks like a great cycle for Tip tonight.
 
Re: 10/12 Tip ...PMPS-155 +2-275 +4-215 +6-177 +7.5-145 +8.5

I hope so. It'd be nice to know when it's okay to go to bed, especially when she decides to have a late nadir and it lands on a weekday. I'm not sure how I'd fare in classes if I had to stay up late in that situation.

Really? I thought using high carb in a situation other than hypo numbers wasn't a good idea. Huh. I currently don't have any medium carb. What range is that considered to be?
 
MC is 10% carbs or over. You can't always be there when the cat goes low, or sometimes you just have to sleep. In that case a higher carb food can ensure the cat is safe. If you are there to monitor, then you normally don't want to use HC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top