10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 another ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good day everyone!

We have another lovely AMPS number of 97 today. Green is green!

I am not going to feed this one unless she drops pretty low. She has really been giving me a hard time about poking those ears but I am more stubborn than she is. Food wins every time. I feel so badly that she is fighting it now but she does give in. I can't hold her down so I have to wait until she is ready to cooperate. Due to my arthritis, Morgaine is stronger than me. I have noticed how muscular she has become over the past year or so since she went on the wet food only diet. Makes her even stronger but I love it!
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97

Rosalie,

Morgaine is sitting pretty today. It's interesting that she is stronger on the wet diet. Weezer has been getting a little impatient with all the poking lately too. It does make me feel badly, but like you say with Morgaine, she gives in to my persistance, and enjoys the treat.
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97

Linda, I believe it is the higher protein that turns into more muscle. Cats need that for optimum well being. It really irks me that the cat food companies push dry food on our pets.
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

So by letting things take their course and not giving any additional food, Morgaine was a beautiful green 67 at +3. I always feed her at +3 so this was just perfect.

We took a little cuddle nap before lunch and she had my arm in a big kitty bear hug and wouldn't let go. I had to offer the phrase "time to EAT" before she would release her grip on me! What a sweetheart!
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 dose reduct?

Yikes!!! I was heading out to visit a friend and checked Morgaine at +5. she was 47! That is her lowest and it wasn't even the typical nadir for her. So I fed some HC and decided it was best not to leave her. At +6 she was 93 but I know she could drop once the food spike is over.

My question is, does she get a dose reduction? If so do I just drop back to the 3.50 without the fat dose or do I go back to 3.25? If I had not tested her before the +6 she could easily have gone lower. At +3 I fed her her usual 1.5 oz of FF Roasted ch with 10% carbs. Remember she has to eat a higher carb normally due to her need for lower fat foods.
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 dose reduct?

Hi Rosalie,
Morgaine looks great! Perhaps try a skinny 3.5 units?
Sorry to hear that she is getting increasingly grumpy about having her ears poked. Do you use a lancet device with fine-gauge lancets? I have found that the lancet device delivers a quicker, uniform, and much less painful poke than freehanding it.

Enjoy your evening and keep those greens coming,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 dose reduct?

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Rosalie,
Morgaine looks great! Perhaps try a skinny 3.5 units?
Sorry to hear that she is getting increasingly grumpy about having her ears poked. Do you use a lancet device with fine-gauge lancets? I have found that the lancet device delivers a quicker, uniform, and much less painful poke than freehanding it.

Enjoy your evening and keep those greens coming,

Ella & Rusty
I do use a lancet pen. I have several and the older models are the one's i like best for myself so i use that on her. It is shaped like a pen and is quick and less painful than the newer ones I have tried. I warm her ear with a rice sock as well. She has been okay about it today. I think the HC food thrilled her as she literally sucked it down. I may have overdone the HC as I actually thought I could give her that and leave more food for later but upon further consideration I changed my plans. Imagine my friend's surprise when I walked into the living room and told her I could not go out with her? She was already here to pick me up. She does love Morgaine and totally understood.
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 dose reduct?

I'm inclined to say hold the dose and monitor carefully. She is a long term diabetic - you may want to consider the 40-50 3 times on 3 separate days strategy before reducing. just my $0.02
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 dose reduct?

Sandy, is that 3 days in a row or 3 days on this dose? I am a little confused about that.

I am going to have to leave her next Friday. 10/21 as I have an appt. with my endocrinologist. No matter what, I will have to find a way to keep her safe if we get getting these lovely green numbers. I know now i will not leave her when she is in the 50-60 and under 50 range at least until I have more data on what she does. I was surprised she went down to 47 2 hours after feeding her 10% but now it all makes sense to me.
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 dose reduct?

Based on how we've modified the protocol, the criteria are different for a longer term diabetic. We make it harder for a cat that's more than a year past diagnosis to earn a reduction. This is also consistent with the Rand protocol. Morgaine would need to drop below 50 three time or drop below 40 once to earn a reduction.
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 dose reduct?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Based on how we've modified the protocol, the criteria are different for a longer term diabetic. We make it harder for a cat that's more than a year past diagnosis to earn a reduction. This is also consistent with the Rand protocol. Morgaine would need to drop below 50 three time or drop below 40 once to earn a reduction.
I understand that but in what time frame? Is it dropping below 50 3 times while on this dose or 3 times in consecutive days? I'm guessing it is while she is on this particular dose.
 
Re: 10/12 Morgaine AMPS 97,+2 107,+3 67,+5 47 dose reduct?

Another question?

Where is the information about newly diagnosed vs. long term diabetic cat? Phase three says reduce if the cat goes below 50 but nothing about how long the cat has been diabetic.

Also, is Morgaine still considered low dose?
 
hi rosalie, no advice - you've gotten the best. just wanted to check in and see how morgaine's doing. great job catching her today! you're an awesome bean!
 
julie & punkin said:
hi rosalie, no advice - you've gotten the best. just wanted to check in and see how morgaine's doing. great job catching her today! you're an awesome bean!
Thanks Julie! Morgaine is an awesome cat and so is Punkin and all our sugarcats. They make the world a betterr place with their sweet dispositions and their unconditional love.
 
The TR protocol doesn't make the distinction between newly diagnosed vs. a longer term diabetic. The three times below 50 or one time below 40 is applicable to all cats. At one point, the version of the TR protocol on the Tilly site (this site was developed by the German counterpart of FDMB/LL and where the data for the TR protocol was collected) did specify just a drop below 50 would result in a dose reduction. This changed about 12 - 18 mos. ago.

The distinction between new vs. a not so new diabetic was made here in the modification of the TR protocol
 
Thank you sienne. I have no problem holding this dose and seeing where it takes her and would prefer to see these lower numbers than have her moving back to the mid blues. I just wondered about the protocol and where it came from. Fortunately I am home for the next 8 days and can keep a close eye on things.

I am surprised that the HC food did not make her go higher. I retested at +8 and she was still in the 90's. Giving her a little break now before her PM shot.
 
What a nice day for Morgaine.....she really surprised you with that 47 but you got her up nicely.

Sorry you weren't able to go out with your friend. I love Morgaine's "little kitty bear hug".....adorable!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top