Charlie'sMom22
Member since 2025
Hi all.
Charlie and I have been in and out of the ER vet since last Friday. This started with one of his usual (suspected) p-itis episodes that was no responding well to my usual protocol of gaba, cerenia, and ondansetron. I had to take him to the ER to get bupe, which worked. We went home and were good for a few days and he started having normal cycles again. I attempted to wean off his 100 mg gaba TID and that afternoon (after 2 doses at 75mg) his numbers spiked again up into 200s and he was breathing fast. I took him to a different urgent vet and got more bupe plus a B12 shot and a bunch of tests that the ER had refused to do. Spec was fPL off the charts and he had an abnormal ProBNP.
He's been recovering since then and had a beautiful cycle yesterday. I've been watching his breathing and I have a phone consult with an IM on tuesday, so I've just been trying to get us through the weekend. Earlier today he had a normal start to the cycle but then was 114 at +4, which is very unusual for him. I had skipped his cerenia dose this AM because I was trying to give him a break, but I I gave it when I saw that number because I Thought it might be inflammation creeping back in. We went for a walk and he saw a squirrel. BG after that jumped to 158 within minutes and has not come back down. It's been 3 hours. I just tested and he's 166. I feel like if it was a spike from seeing the squirrel he should be coming back down by now.
My question is this: Does anyone know how to interpret these numbers? He doesn't seem like he's in pain, but I also wonder if the gaba could be blunting it just enough that he's only showing it through his numbers. Or does it look like the start of a loss of regulation? Given his history of insulin resistance/high doses, I am always worried about letting his numbers stay elevated
I do have some buprenorhine I can give if needed but I try to avoid that since it causes constipation. Or I can just wait until his 8PM gaba dose and hope that brings him back down. Hoping someone can provide advice on what to do ASAP.
Please lmk if 911 isn't appropriate here--he tends to deteriorate very quickly so numbers climbing like this is an emergency to me
Charlie and I have been in and out of the ER vet since last Friday. This started with one of his usual (suspected) p-itis episodes that was no responding well to my usual protocol of gaba, cerenia, and ondansetron. I had to take him to the ER to get bupe, which worked. We went home and were good for a few days and he started having normal cycles again. I attempted to wean off his 100 mg gaba TID and that afternoon (after 2 doses at 75mg) his numbers spiked again up into 200s and he was breathing fast. I took him to a different urgent vet and got more bupe plus a B12 shot and a bunch of tests that the ER had refused to do. Spec was fPL off the charts and he had an abnormal ProBNP.
He's been recovering since then and had a beautiful cycle yesterday. I've been watching his breathing and I have a phone consult with an IM on tuesday, so I've just been trying to get us through the weekend. Earlier today he had a normal start to the cycle but then was 114 at +4, which is very unusual for him. I had skipped his cerenia dose this AM because I was trying to give him a break, but I I gave it when I saw that number because I Thought it might be inflammation creeping back in. We went for a walk and he saw a squirrel. BG after that jumped to 158 within minutes and has not come back down. It's been 3 hours. I just tested and he's 166. I feel like if it was a spike from seeing the squirrel he should be coming back down by now.
My question is this: Does anyone know how to interpret these numbers? He doesn't seem like he's in pain, but I also wonder if the gaba could be blunting it just enough that he's only showing it through his numbers. Or does it look like the start of a loss of regulation? Given his history of insulin resistance/high doses, I am always worried about letting his numbers stay elevated
I do have some buprenorhine I can give if needed but I try to avoid that since it causes constipation. Or I can just wait until his 8PM gaba dose and hope that brings him back down. Hoping someone can provide advice on what to do ASAP.
Please lmk if 911 isn't appropriate here--he tends to deteriorate very quickly so numbers climbing like this is an emergency to me
Last edited: