10/12 Gracie PMPS 302 +2 293 +4 351

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27196

Recap:
AMPS: 291
+2: 301
+4: 322
PMPS: 273
+2: 286
+4: 283


Good morning to all and we hope you are having a lovely day. I only have a few minutes...back to TBP this morning so I'll check in on everyone's condos on my break...I LOVE reading about everyone's days and what we are all learning.

WCR: 4Ps in place and Gracie has been playing hide -n- seek with me this morning..so glad to see her acting like her self.
She has put back on a little weight and her coat is so glossy, sleek, and soft...she's like chinchilla :lol:

Three questions please:

1. She's had 8 cycles on 1.25u and we're not seeing much happening...actually, more pink than I'd like to see. Is it time for a dosecrease or are we finishing up a bounce and need to wait a little longer?
2. If you notice, it almost seems like her nadir has moved more towards the upper numbers...I was puzzled by the 322 at +4 yesterday; we didn't feed her normal snack at +8...we were out so we fed it at +10 and her PMPS was much lower so I'm wondering if she hit a lower number somewhere between +4 and +10; for the evening..it pretty much stayed the same until DH went to bed. DH will be home today to do some more monitoring to see if anything changed.
3. Anyone found lantus pens for less than $184? That is the price Costco quoted me and it was the cheapest I found...cannot find a hospital that will sell to "public".

Have a superb day in LL and the world outside!

Mannie...NO VETTY today :lol: :lol: :lol: Yep...I'd love to do something. We can go to Spot's pool or come here to ours but the water is cold and I don't think the beans will turn the pool heater on for us...cheap skates...they were mumbling something about the cost of ATLANTUS??
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 Dosecrease??

See if she brings herself into blues today but if not, then I agree with you that an increase would be great. Good thinking Marjorie! It is always nice to hear that you are thinking along the right lines, but in the end, it is up to us individually to decide on the dose, right? Good thinking on your part! This is exactly what this community is all about...Beans "getting it" and using the Protocol!! :mrgreen: I am proud of you!! :thumbup

As far as your next question....we can "guess" at what might have been, but unless we have a tangible number, we cannot really "know". The nadirs are a guideline but they do change some days. Makes it a little more difficult. That's why frequent testing is recommended.....
I buy my Levemir from Canadadrugsonline so i cannot answer the lantus question...maybe others will share...
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 Dosecrease??

Hi Marjorie! Good luck on returning to TBP. I hope all goes well. I always hated going back to work. oh well - I hope it is a good day for you.

As much as I am a non-expert, I agree with Pat - she is right on, as always. I would see how today goes, and then increase if you feel you need to. Good job!

just don't know on the pens. I pay $194 from my pharmacy, but do know others have found them cheaper. Maybe you should check out canadadrugsonline? It seems things do cost much less there.

And yes, I know on the shifting numbers and nadir. I know when Mannie's usually is, but there are days when that has not been the case. It's such a guessing game, based on accumulated data.

Gracie! Hey - we are going to Spot's today - his bean has this pie cooker thingie that sounds really cool, so we are going to try it out, and make salmon and tuna and chicken pies. YUM! Spot wants to have a bon fire too. So - yes - to Spot's!! (and I am so glad that you do not have to go to the vetty bean today. YAY!!!) See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147

Good Morning from DH. It figures, I guess, on the first day Marjorie is out of the house Gracie decides to move. Gave her 8% after +2 and I'll recheck her at 2.5
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147

A blue Gracie! Nice! She doesn't want you to get bored, and you gotta have something to text Marjorie about, right?
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +2.5 98 +2.75 93

Marjorie here from TBP :-D DH gave Gracie 10% at 2.5 and rechecked at 2.75...it had slowed so I did not have him feed. He is going to recheck at 3; this is his first day dealing with this alone so I'm having him check a little more often....hopefully we can get her to surf.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +2.5 98 +2.75 93

ahhhh HAAAAAA! Gracie responds beautifully to dose threats! Ok then. We got YOUR number
Gracie!
These are nice high greens....looking good. With feeding a little at each test now, you will keep her right where you want her!
Food is your friend! :mrgreen:
Looking good in here! :thumbup
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +2.5 98 +2.75 93 +3 83

Thanks Anne and Pat....DH is doing great...yep...teamwork.

And yes, Pat, I think you have her number...she isn't threatened by me saying "dosecrease" but when she heard you say "yes", then guess she changed her mind. Thanks for confirmation on feeding...he'll keep checking and feeding. Thank you so much for your help and for watching...I appreciate your guidance.

Little bugger just dropped to 64 so I told Mike to give her a tsp of 10% and recheck in 15 mins. Hope she doesn't go any lower than that. The 10% slowed her down before...fingers crossed.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +2.5 98 +2.75 93 +3 83 +3.2

Oh but her daddy is doing such a great job. It's been rough leaving them since I've been home for 3 weeks...
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +2.5 98 +3 83 +3.25 64 +3.5

Little bit of LC gravy @ 3.5 to get her to surf. DH doing awesome..I'm so proud :-D
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93

Oh what fun!! and what teamwork!!! DH - you are awesome. WOW - first day back to work, and Gracie says uhhhhh - what about me? Cats!: how do they always know.

You guys are doing great - looks like the 10 % kicked in. Might be a food game for a while: which % ? - I hope she can surf this for a bit.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93

Wow...she sure responds to LC....he never gave her anything above 10%.

Questions:

1. Is it better to not steer her so much so that she actually gets down to 50? If one is oversteering and keeping the kitty above 60, how does the kitty
ever qualify for a dose reduction since she wouldn't qualify unless her nadir was 50...but we steered her before she got there.
2. I'm assuming we leave her at this dose and see what she does next. I'm also assuming that she is still considered to be newly diagnosed so she
would only have to get below 50 once to qualify for a reduction or since she's been on insulin +3 weeks she would need three 50s on separate days?

Thank you!!!
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93

Great job Mike! :thumbup You learn a little more about controlling her drops every time.

Marjorie , yes Gracie is still newly diagnosed. On the steering, I think it's a matter of how well they hold the reductions. And there will come a time when you cannot keep her above 50 with food, then she has earned the reduction. That's the situation I'm in with Tess. She has proven so hard to hold a reduction that her goal is now <40, and I can't just let her go there. She has to work to get it. The longer they sty in the healing number the better off htey are in the long run.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 147 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93

So agreed:
Ann & Tess said:
On the steering, I think it's a matter of how well they hold the reductions. And there will come a time when you cannot keep her above 50 with food, then she has earned the reduction. That's the situation I'm in with Tess. She has proven so hard to hold a reduction that her goal is now <40, and I can't just let her go there. She has to work to get it. The longer they stay in the healing number the better off they are in the long run.
Mannie is not quite yet where Tess is - his overall range is higher than hers, so we are in the 3 times < 50 protocol, before I can reduce. We have not really had the issues that Ann had withholding reductions - so far he has, with an exception here and there. When Steering I too think it is important to try and keep them in the healing range as long as they will let you. The goal for me is healing more than it is reduction.

Anyways - good job!!! :-D :thumbup
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95

surfing a little. maybe just boogie boarding but happy with the +5 number.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 BI

Ok...now I need some help please :-D I had Mike test her at +6 just for info...had she hit her nadir, etc. So her +6 has dropped 10 which is not that big of a deal but I'm wondering if he should just retest at +7, feed a little very LC and retest at +7, or retest in 30 (but she's been through alot of testing today) or what? This is the first time we've gotten her to surf so long so I hate to spoil it; I don't know if betwen +6 and +7 she could drop WWAAAAYYY low ...she hasn't before. Thanks!!! I know this is a tough question since only we know Gracie but any ideas are appreciated. If left on my own, I probably would just retest in one hour without feeding (she gets a snack at +8). Of course...if she keeps surfing, we might have to do our first SHOOTING LOW at PMPS nailbite_smile nailbite_smile (anti jinx
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 BI

Hi Marjorie & Mike,
I'm sure others will be along soon, but if it were me I would retest at +7 and then based on that number decide if you want to feed or not. It looks like the MC food kept her in the 90's, but without it she started dropping again.

Thanks for the questions in our condo, Marjorie. We have been using Azodyl for more than a year. I don't think its helping and I'll stop as soon as I'm out. I also give Methylcobalmine and Renal Essentials which has other B vitamins and other good stuff. And aluminum hydroxide (phos binder), potassium and Miralax. He's also on Calcitriol, but only for the last few months. I know its a long list of stuff that he gets - our kitchen counter looks like a pharmacy. :roll: Blackie hasn't been vaccinated in several years. Both our old and new vet thought it was a risk that wasn't necessary. Thanks for the good thoughts.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 BI

If it were me, I would not feed and then test at +7, since she would normally be on the way up. If +7 is lower, I'd feed a little then. But that's just me, and I have little to no experience with the feeding thing :lol:

Too funny about talking colors with the vet tech - I always have to stop myself from doing that too. It's so much easier to say she's consistently in blue and green than to remember what actual numbers she's been at!
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3 83 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85

3 weeks already eh? You are still in the newly diagnosed range Marjorie. One number <50 will suffice. And you are not over steering anyone or anything. You are feeding the surfing curve. If/when she is ready, she will go lower even if you do give her HC...(like some kitties I know whose name begins with the letter S)
DH and you did a fine job today. This was the 8th cycle on this dose, right? It finally kicked in for Gracie.
Have you read this post by Libby? viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26571

You might want to get a +11 this evening just to get an idea of where she is at that time, ok?
You could test at +7 and then feed if you think she dropped....and then test at +8 and give her her regular snack.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83

Pat...you are SOOO smart and I really appreciate you anticipating my next question!!! I was going to ask if we should still feed her +8 snack and you must have known I'd ask that!!! So Mike will retest and feed her...her normal rotation is Wellness Chicken which is 4% and I told him to only give her 1-1/2 tsp at most. I have no idea if this girl is going to continue to surf or not into her PMPS...she's never done what she's doing today (we're SOOO excited!!). I have read (and even printed out) Libby's post that you sent but that doesn't mean that in the heat of things, I would want to do it by myself. We'll get a +11 to see where she's headed and then hope someone is around to help us if her PMPS is low (she's never had a PMPS under 250!). In the past on her brief surfs, she's popped way up by PMPS time. This will be interesting..the good thing is we will be around all night to monitor her.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Go Gracie what a day she is having wonderful!!!!
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83

One important thing to remember is: do not feed right away, post the number here first and talk it over.
another important thing to remember with lower preshot numbers is to get a +1 after. no matter which course of action you decide upon, ok?

If you will be home to watch her and you have enough tests strips and plenty of HC gravy and karo if necessary, you might want to try shooting a lower number at her regular dose.
You are welcome to look at Shadow's SS to see how he reacts sometimes to a full dose at a lower preshot.
All kitties are different of course, and he has been at this for awhile, as well as me being right there with him too. I know him and I know that I will be there to test him frequently. But I do remember getting my first low preshot...I fed him and kicked myself afterward!! Do not feed right away, just post here. :mrgreen:

Remember that food is your friend. You can always get them up out of a lower number with HC gravy and even a couple of drops of karo if need be.

Get your +11 and post that number. And when PMPS times comes around (from now on and forever!) , if her number is low, retest in a few minutes just as is said in Libby's post. You will always do that....low numbers must be retested so you know which way they are going, ok? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 +3.5 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83

I guess this means you're not increasing the dose tonight, right? (Just kidding.) Isn't it amazing how they know what we're thinking? Beautiful cycle and great teamwork today.

FYI - "newly diagnosed" is within a year of FD diagnosis. Gracie is very clearly a newly diagnosed kitty.

Anne and Michelle did a great job answering your question about how you end up reducing the dose if your managing the curve with food. The only thing I would add to their description is that there are times when you are really working hard to prevent numbers from dropping low, especially at the beginning of the cycle. If you look on Gabby's SS during the PM cycle of 10/6, she dropped very quickly from the pinks to the greens. It was taking considerable amounts of HC, including Karo to keep her numbers from dropping too low. That provided a rationale for lowering Gabby's dose.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 88

This is so exciting!!! I can't wait to see what she does. It will all be fine, so don't get nervous - lots of folks here to help. As all have said, get your +11, post it here, and I am sure there will be folks here to help if you need it.

GO GRACIE!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 88

look what i almost missed!!!

wonderful work, you guys!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 88

Thanks Pat, Sienne, and Michelle....Mike and I both have butterflies in our stomachs thinking of the possibility of our first low shot. Mike gave Grace her normal +8 snack after testing. We'll do a +11 and post. Then we will do a PMPS, not feed, not shoot, but post first....unless of course her PMPS has gone back up...then we'll do our regular thing and shoot the normal dose. If her PMPS is below what it normally is, which is about mid 200s, then we'll post and get advice unless you tell me right now that I can just go ahead and shoot anything above ...what 150? We are planning on being there all night and we have about 40 strips in the house and I ordered 200 from Hocks last week (hoping they arrive today). If they didn't and her numbers are low, one of us will just run up to the corner pharmacy and buy another 50 (who needs money anyway :lol: :lol: ). Also, if her PMPS is low, after we post, we will recheck in 15. I've seen you all do this with Binks on at least 2 occasions and have followed what he does after Celi shoots. I'll look at Shadow's and Gabby's, too.

Thanks, Sienne for clarifying on the reductions and definition of "newly diagnosed"....I figured that meant 3 months or so!! It does seem intuitive that if you are really having to pump alot of HC and karo in them to keep them up above 50, that they should get a reduction. Oy yeah...and no dosecrease tonight :lol: :lol: So here's an interesting tidbit...I had switched to chest shots about the time I increased the dose...all the shots went in just fine. This morning, I went back to a scruff shot....coincidence...perhaps....probably because the chest shots should have been just fine (when I say chest...they were behind the shoulder blades and about 2" down from spine into the skin tent).
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS 284 67 +4 93 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 88

I step away from LL for one day and look at what I almost miss. What a beautiful surf Gracie has and what a great job you and dh have done today. I hope she gives you an exciting pm number.
Are you ready to shoot your first low number?? Looking forward to seeing that +11.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 8

Thanks, Eva...it has been an exciting day to see her surf this so long!!! We are so happy you checked in. We would say we miss Achilles but we are thrilled that he is OTJ ..what a great party for him. (((Achilles))).
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 8

You'll do great! and as regards the BOS...there's some sort of secret delivery service built into the FDMB...when you shoot, and you have all these folks here backing you...they magically appear for you!

go, girls (and mike)...go!

celi & the brat prince
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 8

LOOK WHAT I MISSED!!!!!!!!!! Gracie, we are so happY for you! What a gorgeous surf!!!
WHOOOOO HOOOOO party_cat party_cat party_cat Marjorie!! Great Job !!!
Call tomorrow or order from them--www.canadadrugpharmacy.com--
Lantus Solostar pens== $97.00 + small shipping fee!!! Takes about week & a half to 2 weeks!!-I couldnt believe it!
I'm using the pens now...Looking so very good over there! HUGS!
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 8

Hey Marjorie, What a fantastic day for Gracie and you and DH today!! You all are doing just great. I'll check back later to see what is happening!!!

Ella

p.s. CanadaDrugsOnline sells Lantus cartridges 5-packs for $119 and solo-star refils for $128 (plus $10 shipping fee). You need to join and then have your vet fax the prescription. http://www.canadadrugsonline.com/DrugMoreInfo5636.aspx
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 8

Thanks, Celi....we got lots of test strips :lol: Gracie just needs more ears :lol: :lol:

Roni..well DH has done all the testing. I was the controller from TBP :lol: :lol:

Ella...it means so much that you checked in on Gracie and I hope you will check back if you have time. We always appreciate the support!

I've seen that others order from the canadadrugsonline but how do they keep the insulin cold for that long esp shipping to Arizona where it's almost never cold?
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +7 83 +8 8

They pack it for travel Marjorie. It might not be ice cold when it arrives, but as long as it was not frozen it will be okay. I have never had trouble with it and I am in Florida.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +8 88 +11

Well...no excitement in the Gracie household tonight confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat ....looks like she wants everyone to be able to watch them bring the Chilean miners up safely!!! Also looks like Mr. P not quite ready to show us what he's got. :lol:

Thanks to all of you who have checked in today and helped us. Maybe tomorrow!!! Have a good evening.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +8 88 +11

ah - the bounce! well - it could have been worse. and she had such a great day!!! What alot of healing numebrs today. Congrats to you both. I hope you guys have a great night. Gracie too!

Hey Gracie - tomorrow we can go the ellabeans camp - she invited all us kitties. it is so fun there!!! Stu and I used to hunt mice and make mice stew. It was so cool. You wanna come? ~~ Mannie, NCIC
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +8 88 +11

whew what a rise! kind of glad you won't be shooting a blue just yet...now we can all watch the miracle in chile. already having a problem over there...a damaged door on it's first trip down, a real nail biter. prayers, fingers and paws crossed around the world for these guys. please get them out and back to their families safely. all eyes on chile.
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +8 88 +11

Yes....many prayers and get out of the mine vines for these guys!!

Michelle...know thy cat, eh? Mike and I both were not surprised by this bounce...I think I would have been more surprised if she had stayed down :lol: :lol: Sorry I won't be up for the pj party!!
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +8 88 +11

and now you're just a little disappointed, right marjorie? that tells you how ready you are for the day it happens!

and i'm all for the mine vines too! glad you brought it up, lori. nice to see a positive story in the media...

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +8 88 +11

The more time in those pancreas healing ranges the better. It was a great cycle. The good news with a bounce is that you know Gracie's liver is working just fine!
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie AMPS284 +2 147 +3 83 +5 95 +6 85 +8 88 +11

Fantastic day Miss Gracie!! Excellent work Marjorie and Mike! How exciting is this? Is actually good no pj party, Mike needs some rest :thumbup
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie PMPS 302

Celi..yes...we are disappointed but....another day...we'll learn to shoot low sometime..whenever Grace is ready.
They just sent the first rescue guy down and we're getting ready to eat dinner and watch....please Lord let them all get up safely!

Anne...he did do GREAT but I'm not sure if he's more tired or Gracie is...after all...she only got about 16 hours of nappus today :lol:

Thanks, Sienne...what is the exact healing range? Is it 50-200 (got that off the protocol where it states that's where you want to keep the cat but not sure if that is the exact healing range). We are very excited that she stayed there for so long but we definitely expected the bounce. Looks like Gabby is doing great!!
 
Re: 10/12 Gracie PMPS 302

Marjorie - thanks for your kind words in our condo today.

Gracie - Was tons of fun today. I did get a little messy, tho, didn't I? I just couldn't helps it, it was sooo yummy! Can't wait for Ms Ellabean's tomorrow - see ya then ok? - Muffin
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top