10/12 Callie PMPS +4 29 +4.25 56 +4.5 60 +4.75 66 +5 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby & Callie

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

I am late. Callie is bright, alert and played with siblings. I think she plays tag with Buddy so often because she loves the grooming he gives her after (BG)
I've had a migraine every day for 5 days and some are recuring several times daily. I am trying to keep up though. My question is: Do I consider a new dosage at this point? She has had some blues and greens, so I am not sure how to go with this. Any advice appreciated! I have read EVERYTHING and still am not sure. Since I can't be sure of the nadir the following can't help me:

If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin.
I am not sure what this means to Callie, who is all over the place with her #s. Any help is appreciated. Thanks so much. Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243

Hi Libby, sorry about your migraines! I don't get them, but I know others who do, and they are brutal....I hope you feel better very soon!

I can't really advise you on increasing Callie's dose. I don't really have any problem making my own dosing decisions most of the time now, but I feel like I'm still way too new to Lantus to make a judgement for others. I would suggest putting "dose?" or something similar in your header so others will take a look and give you their opinion.

What do YOU think about increasing, are you comfortable with seeing lower numbers?
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243

I am not comfortable, but not as stressed before. I need to do whatever is best for her. I didn't like my gut feeling that I should wait till she was more "stable" since it looks like it may be a while. I have checked out other SSs and followed the dosages they gave there, but have not seen a real match for Callie. I'll keep looking though <BG> Thanks for stopping by to check on her! Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243

I'm not a dosing expert either, this will give you a bump though. Nadir is the lowest point in a cycle. It doesn't always occur at the same time , but there will be a low point. It may seem like forever, but you really haven't been at it that long. Things will settle down.
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 +1 262 +4 248

Thanks .. I do know that I lack a true grip on patience. Since it was suggested that it was about time, I just felt that I need to check. You are right, I haven't been here long and probably will be more comfortable later :YMSIGH: Better run but thanks ...Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 +1 262 +4 248

Libby, I think it's perfectly appropriate to be asking about a dose increase since Callie is still in diabetic numbers most of the time. I would still put the dose? in your header and get some opinions from others.

If you look at the quote from the protocol you put in your first post, Callie fits into that situation IMO.

Some of the decision is based on your own comfort level with seeing lower numbers....those numbers are the goal with tight regulation, but sometimes it's better to go slow if you don't feel ready to handle them...that's why I asked about your comfort level. However, at some point you will need to get used to those lower numbers, especially if you want to get Callie into remission!

I'm far from an expert, so get some other's feedback, ok?
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 +1 262 +4 248 dose?

Thanks Laurie! I needed that dose of reality! Yes .. remission is the goal and I am ready. I often put things off things that need doing and here I go again. I am ready .. I really believe that .. so we will have a go if you think so. I will put the dose in the header. I was called away for a while and forgot. Thanks and if it passes muster with everyone I'll up her PM dose by .25 as instructed :) Thanks again .... Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 +8 273 PMPS 313 dose?

I think you have room to increase Callie's dose to 2.25u.

Basically, if you're seeing nadirs that are generally yellows or below, increase by 0.25u. You'll want to hold the dose for a minimum of 3 days unless numbers drop and Callie earns a decrease.
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 +8 273 PMPS 313 dose?

I agree with Sienne, although Callie through a mini curve ball at me last time i said something!
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 +8 273 PMPS 313 dose?

Hi ... I went ahead and did give her an extra .25. I made certain it was a tiny bit under (the plunger head covered the line) I have had some sleep and her numbers are high, so I felt the timing was right. Now I'll have to wait and see :-) Well I am reading more and trying to eyeball her SS again for some little bit of insight :YMSIGH: I put her figures through excell to see if I could make a graph and made several until I realized I didn't understand those either .. lol Thanks for the nadir info. I thought that was it, but had thought that it would be steadier number, but she has them at all different times. I am guessing that an average would be +8. It seems most falll around +7-+9. I have seen them other times but on average that was where they fell. Now that I know it in based on that day it makes sense. I believe that Callie fits this lately:
"If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin." Callie is in the lower since it also says < 3.0 is lower and >3.0 is high and she in on 2.0 Am I right on this. I know it's done, but I did follow this protocol right? Ah now to see what's in this mystery box I opened (BG) thanks all .. and hopefully Callie will throw that ball straight! Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 +8 273 PMPS 313 dose @2.25

You can use Tilly or you can use the modified protocol in the sticky. Personally, I think the modified version is a bit easier to understand!! Either is fine -- I just usually have to re-read the instructions in Tilly a few times to make sure I'm understanding it.
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79

Thanks Pat and Sienne you hit the nail on the head. I was considering the idea that I was a dunce because I read that protocol over & over & over! Still rubbing my head! I will check out the modified version. I never like to fly blind and it feels like I am sometimes. That's why it seemed like a miracle when I found this site :) I now have a group of people, who having gone through this themselves, are kind enough to help others who are following behind. I will get
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 +8 273 PMPS 313 dose @2.25

Ok she dropped and before I thought! I fed her a 4 carb dinner and didn't panic :) No more running to the cans of 22 or 24 carb. It looks like my baby girl wants me to be a night owl <BG> Must be a reason why she likes to go green late at night ... right?? I luv dem kittys .. dey don't play fair though :roll: Well I'll see you around the MB tonight all right! Hope she can pull off a good surf. Wheeeeee. Does this call for a bump? Just hanging out ..Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie AMPS 243 PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49

Ok so small panic has arrived. She hit 49 after an hour! I am going to give her a bite of the mid carb now. Thanks for being here. The thought of being alone thru this makes me shiver! I have seen no signs of distress, but she seems tired, but might be from being rousted from sleep so often. I put her in her little house I relocated to my bed in order to keep her close. I'll be back when I get the food. hanging in here :) Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 PANIC

Libby, a 29 calls for HC Do you have any???!!--If she doesnt come up within 15 min of what you just fed, you need to do HC gravy , food, and/or karo syrup or honey-OK?Be calm you can do this! You are in control!~
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 PANIC

I went right to the 22 carb after the 29. She ate it all, but it was only a teaspoon. Should I give more? I am getting readings every 15 min and have her next to me in her little house. She doesn't have any symptoms, but cats can fool you. Thanks .. am off for a test. Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 PANIC

Nevermind...just re-read the thread topic.

You need to get Callie some Karo, honey, maple syrup, etc., NOW. Then follow with some high carb food.
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 PANIC

Jana, she is already feeding her 22% carbs--Let's see what her reading is next--This is a +6 on a dose increase!
She should give a karo with food if necessary--Let's see if there is a rise...Looking at SS to see where Callie's nadir is.
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56

I looked at her SS, and it appears Callie has been at nadir between +6 and +9 most recently. I do see where the dose was increased .25, which seems like a reasonable increase given the numbers on the SS.

Given Callie may (or may not) be at her nadir, I'd give her a hit of Karo; however, failing that, I'd at least have my hypo kit ready.
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56

Ok she is rising. No honey after all. I hope I didn't give her too much and cause too fast an upward turn. Does that happen and if it does is it ok? Thanks for being here. I was so shken by her quick turn I started to shake all over. Gad .. well now I see her reaction and timing it will be easier when it happens again. She is still non symptomatic. I however am not! Thanks again Roni and Jana Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56

Great Job, Keep feeding the 22% carb a little at a time, so as to not make her full--OK?-You are doing great!
Unless she goes low again, keep feeding the HC>Then you can mix some Karo into the food, you are doing just fine!
Looks like her nadir is about +6-+8.
The cat is already going up..Dont panic, she is not having a hypo right now. Just low numbers from a dose incresase!
29 is very low--Please come on board in the am before you shoot--That 0.25U increase may have made her too low.
Speak to the experienced dosing people tomorrow about the dosage for tomorrow-OK
I am waiting here till your next post--Please just check her once more OK??
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56

Libby, it's good she is on her way up...but you need to keep testing for now. From time to time, our little four-legged people have a surprise or two in store for us.
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56

Hi Libby-

Don't panic...you're not alone. Looks like she's coming up now. I agree, maybe a little bit of food, but I would hold off on the Karo for now. You'll want to keep testing to make sure she's surfing/rising and feed as necessary, but you don't want to send her too high with the high carb food or syrup. Those first few rounds of low numbers are super scary nailbite_smile , but you're doing fine.

Haha...I'm laughing at your comments about being impatient. Sienne can tell you that I was the MOST impatient bean of all!! I had to sit on my hands at times...I was desperately waiting for the next change!! It happens, don't beat yourself up about it! ;-) I'm sure you've heard it before...I heard it a lot...it's a marathon, not a race. :-D Our numbers were all over the place in the beginning and then we seemed to hit our stride. I feel your pain!

Hang in there, you're doing great!!

s

EDIT: Sheesh! You guys are fast...lots of posts while I was typing!
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS 313 +2 176 +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56

Too Bad you guys couldnt have seen me in the beginning!! Basket Case!!! Panic room every day!! Been here a long time, but still say EEEKKKK!!! when I see a low number!
It usually catches you when you dont expect it, BUT Always remember--
You Have Strips(lots), you have MC and HC foods, You have Karo or honey, and you have the board!!
YOU ARE IN CONTROL!! I f you have all that, you just need to do what you are doing now..
Seemns like Moonie always dropped low when I was going out(she's a sneaky girl), going away, or going to sleep!! :lol: :lol:
These cats are crafty creatures!!
Where is Callie Now? Oh I see--When she reaches the 70's, maybe you could get a bit of sleep?
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60

You guys don't even want to know how crazy I was when B.K. was first diagnosed...then when we had him on Vetsulin for a time and he hypo'd more times than I can count...well, let's just say it made his bean old before her time! :lol:

Libby, please test again at +7 and post back. Smooches to Callie for being such a good girl!
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60

Thanks Roni, Jana' Michelle Sherry ..Ok guys panic is over. She is rising, but I will keep at the readings like advised. She is so filled with surprises my goodness. She did this before and and scared me then too. But a drop to 29 WHEW! She seems to have sudden long drops. Is this normal?? I'll get off and check for anything else I need to do. I will give her more HC, but don't want to raise her too high and get it bouncing up and down more than she already does. Thanks .. off testing. Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60

Listen, I just gave Michelle the first ever PURPLE PAW AWARD, as she is the most conscientious, stays awake all night & functions in the daytime like a champ, so she is the very first recipient ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile :lol:
I used to do that in my younger years, yep! Moonie has aged me too, this whole FD has, but made us Humble, Loving, & More then anything--PATIENT!!
Right Girls???

It's OK if you can still give her a bit more to keep her on the surf she is on--Look at that Green!!! Makes ya Proud, right Libby???
Right after you say EEEEEKKKKKKK!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: GOOD JOB!
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +4 79 +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60

:thumbup to Michelle for the Purple Paw (although around my house the "purple paw" would mean B.K. and/or Chester found an ink pad or ripe berry!) :lol:

It is true--FD will teach you alot of things, including patience, which is not exactly what I do best! :-D
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

You're a trooper, Libby! As you get a little more comfortable with all of this, you might be able to play around with the food (when it's not a panicky moment!) to see just how each of the carb foods affects her numbers. My girl was super carb sensitive, so I was usually able to bring her up even with the lowest carb food. ECID, so you'll have to get to know how your girl responds. Find your comfort zone, keep testing, and you'll be a pro in no time!! Nice work!

s
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Good going Michelle! You guys made me laugh .. turned to tears, but I needed it to get calm. Seeing how you have all done this and survived gives me hope I will be able to carry on the fight! Thanks I needed the giggles. So far so good and I am happy to see her in a green ... just not 29 green :) Thanks for sharing your babies rise over their lows :-D I am hanging out a while longer .. just in case. Thanks sooooooooo much! Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Oh yeah...forgot...you may already know this, but don't be surprised if you see some higher numbers tomorrow after her big ole dive into the deep end tonight! It happens. Just want you to be prepared. Ok...gotta get a little more work done so I can go to bed! Cheers!

s
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Girls, gotta go Ni Ni as I have an endoscopy tomorrow(UGH)--You did great Libby & Jana is here to help you--
Just Keep doing what you are doing, feeding hc or mc, testing- repeat!
You know you dont have to give them actual food, as the GRAVY has all the carbs in it, so
if you can keep getting her to lick some hc gravy that will always keep her up--Moonie gets full quickly, so I really need to gravy only her!!
We call what you have been doing here --Lather, Rinse, Repeat!! Oh it's an LL saying, but it is true--
BIG HUGS and YOU did a Great JOB--Will check on you in am--Ni Ni--Jana Thanks for helping here too!! You were great! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Roni and Moonie said:
Girls, gotta go Ni Ni as I have an endoscopy tomorrow(UGH)--You did great Libby & Jana is here to help you--
Just Keep doing what you are doing, feeding hc or mc, testing- repeat!
You know you dont have to give them actual food, as the GRAVY has all the carbs in it, so
if you can keep getting her to lick some hc gravy that will always keep her up--Moonie gets full quickly, so I really need to gravy only her!!
We call what you have been doing here --Lather, Rinse, Repeat!! Oh it's an LL saying, but it is true--
BIG HUGS and YOU did a Great JOB--Will check on you in am--Ni Ni--Jana Thanks for helping here too!! You were great! :mrgreen:
Tomorrow does not sound like alot of fun...good luck to you and let us know how you are doing tomorrow. Go get some sleep! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Great job Libby! I've been watching quietly from the sidelines (didn't want to get in the way of the advice)
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Goodnight Sherry. I will not be upset by higher numbers. She has had that area covered for some tiime :) I am going to check on her in 12 min & if still on the rise will get sleep myself (maybe). Lather rince repeat :) Go to bed. You guys did great .. big hand to all & thanks to Ann who lurker and stood guard :YMHUG: Everyone rest up .. you have lives to lead (BG) Hugs to you all.. Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Post back when you do your next test. Maybe the smooches from Oregon have inspired Callie to be a good girl the rest of the night? :lol:
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Your lips to Gods ear .. I do hope Jana that we get a run of greens .. nothing in the 20s or 30s please. Callie is sensitive too. Thats why I didn't go to HC on 40s. She rose way too fast and got pretty high readings. I feel better seeing a pattern with her. I am hopeful that I can get the food right and learn to have a balance to bringing her up. I panic too easily and fed HC at 105 last time (BG) I think the low 4 carb might have been what turned her. I feel like a mad scientist looking for just the right potion! Thanks again .. off to test. HUGS all around. Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

If Callie is very sensitive to the carbs in food then, as Sherry suggested, you may want to try bringing her BG level up using low carb food and see what happens. If you decide you want to try that in the future, talk to Sherry and I'm sure she'll share her experience with you. It would be great if Callie didn't need to have a higher carb food to bring her BG up when it gets in hypo range.
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

I was just saying that I was thinking the same thing Jana when an ad for bing knocked me offline :-x That would not be good if I was still in panic mode! You are right and I would prefer to do low c .and check often. This has been a great experience though. I learned a lot about how she would react and I think also that since she does rise quickly I won't be so scared :) I am going to save all this for referal when needed again. I think I am having an adrenaline poop out now. Shaking again .. will stop back in a few min to post new reading .. but need to walk a few minutes. Nasty shakes .. Thanks Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)
EDIT .. am I the only one who wished they had booze and / or valium after one of these runs?????

Profile
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +5 49 +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66

Hey Libby-

I wanted to check on you one more time before signing off. Where are you now? +(?) Your data in your SS say +9. Are we already there? For those 15m tests, you can put your data in the same cell. Take a look at my old spreadsheet if you want and see what I did (look at the beginning of Aug). That way you can note your tests in the appropriate hour. I have no sense of time...how long this has been going on tonight...we may be at +9! Poor thing...it's super late for you! I'll hang around a few minutes longer to see how you're doing.

s
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66 +7 73

LOL! Just saw your edit! No, you are not alone...it's stressful at times!! I say, if you've got 'em, drink 'em!! You earned it!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/12 Callie PMPS +6 29 +6.25 56 +6.5 60 +6.45 66 +7 73

73 at +7 tells me it's time to say goodnight...looks like Callie limited herself to only one surprise tonight! I still think smooches from Oregon may be the ticket... :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top