10/12: Bombay : AMPS 142/ +5= 77

Below 68 is the time when we "take action" on an AT. By that I mean give higher carb food. At that 77, I would give a couple tsps of his regular low carb food, and test again within the hour.
 
Below 68 is the time when we "take action" on an AT. By that I mean give higher carb food. At that 77, I would give a couple tsps of his regular low carb food, and test again within the hour.
Just rechecked and it was 94! So we r going in the right direction. Would you recommend getting a human meter ? I’m barely able to get little drops of blood the size of poppy seeds. So I’m worried I wouldn’t be able to get enough blood for human meters.
 
There are human meters with smaller blood drop requirements, you just have to shop around. If you are comfy with the AT, and OK with paying for strips, it's find to stick with it for now.

By the way, with that 77 today, Bombay has earned a reduction down to 0.1 units. Dry food in the picture means following SLGS for dosing, and SLGS says to reduce if you spot an under 90. :D There is a picture of the 0.1 unit dose in the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info, Fine Dosing.

Are you warming his ears before poking? I found it helped to put a little pressure below the poke spot. The blood flow is from top to bottom of the ear, and the pressure creates a little "dam" for the blood to well up.
 
There are human meters with smaller blood drop requirements, you just have to shop around. If you are comfy with the AT, and OK with paying for strips, it's find to stick with it for now.

By the way, with that 77 today, Bombay has earned a reduction down to 0.1 units. Dry food in the picture means following SLGS for dosing, and SLGS says to reduce if you spot an under 90. :D There is a picture of the 0.1 unit dose in the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info, Fine Dosing.

Are you warming his ears before poking? I found it helped to put a little pressure below the poke spot. The blood flow is from top to bottom of the ear, and the pressure creates a little "dam" for the blood to well up.
I am warming his ears, but maybe I should warm them longer! I am also kinda timid with sticking him... i didn’t realize the pressure flowed that way. I’ll have to try your technique.

awesome ! A dose decrease. He is doing Young Again Mature and FF. So the numbers on the SLGS protocol are followed with Alphatrak too? I thought the referenced numbers were only w human meters ?
 
We don't have a way of translating AT to human meters, so we just take the AT numbers at face value. With one exception, we don't want them below 68 on the AT, and we use 50 on the human meter.
 
Gotcha ! Ok well I’ll look into finding a human meter that will use a small amount of blood like the AT. Thank you so much!
 
Back
Top