10/12 Blackie AMPS 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80905&p=873153#p873153

Well... Last night's PMPS # was a result of something that she found on the carpet (probably contraband like usual), and something happened 1/2 hour before I had to test/shoot/feed Miss Blackie. I was in the doorway of our small bathroom by the office, and I kept hearing a popping sound. The a/c was running at the time, and I had a bad feeling that it was the unit making that noise. Went into the laundry room, and the noise was sounding like it was coming from the inside blower unit. Not good. About a minute later, I heard a very loud noise, and then a whooshing sound. I looked outside at the a/c unit, and it was spewing freon like nobody's business. I quickly went to the thermostat that was located next to the bedroom, switched it off, donned my boots, grabbed the phone, called my husband, and went outside. He told me to go to the box outside where the breaker was located, and I pulled the breaker out, which ultimately kills any electricity going to the unit itself. I told him we had a choice.. Either I try and get someone out tonight to fix this, and we'll have a/c, or we wait until this morning to call someone, and hopefully get enough sleep due to being in a warm room. Like him, I don't sleep very well in a warm room, unless it's cold outside, then that's a different story. He told me that if it was up to him, he'd have someone come out. I started searching for someone immediately, and had to take care of Blackie in the process. Managed to get her shot on time, and I was already starting to sweat due to the rising temperature in this house (we live in a double wide mobile with a vaulted ceiling that is about 9-10' high). I was going to search the entire book for someone to come out, and managed to call a few people, until I found one that would come out and help us. I described what had happened to the owner, and he told me from what he's hearing it sounded like a blown compressor, or something. He told me that he has a used a/c unit for $850.00, and also warned me about putting in a new compressor in our unit, which could cost us $1000, and go out in 6 months. So, his tech called me, got our information, came out, talked to my husband about the pros and cons with regards to the installation of the compressor versus the used a/c unit. DH agreed with me on the installation of the used unit. Took the tech guy about an hour to install it, and we're back in business. Unfortunately, the unit inside the house will need to be replaced rather soon. It's as old as the house (17 years), and I just pray that it lasts longer. To replace that will cost us about $4000-$5000. The good thing about this company is that their service fee is $29.95, which is a whole lot cheaper than our regular person. They're BBB accredited, with a A+ rating (bonus!!), been in business for 3 years, but that's ok. Naturally, he waived the service fee as he was replacing a whole unit. He also comfirmed that the compressor blew. I kicked the old unit to show my frustration with it, and the name plate came off. :lol: They'll have our business from now on. The sad thing is... Our regular guy charges about $55 for a service fee (he may have gone up by now since our old unit was installed in '08), and they only work 15 minutes away (and yes, I tried calling their # last night several times only to get hung up on by their phone system), and this guy works about 30 minutes away, and charges only $29.95 for a service fee.

Oh, if that's not bad enough... This morning, the brand new (yes, brand new) coffee maker didn't make the full 12 cups this morning. I had to bang that sucker to get it to finish the job.

And one of my civvies is tired of the Evo Chicken & Turkey flavor wet food mixed with his Evo dry, so I pulled out a fresh can of the Beef flavor (for cases like this with him) so that he'll have something in his tummy. Now I'm watching him like a hawk.

WCR: Blackie's normal, other than the slight rise in the #, which is expected as she had a dose reduction yesterday morning, and of course, the wonderful goings on last night. Nobody ate much last night because of the stress, and frustration. Now, everything is calmed down, and hopefully will normal very soon.

WBR: Bean's recovering, slowly but surely. Still taking Zicam, and now the Robitussin Cough and Chest Congestion, which is helping. Thank you for all the well wishes. Nobody likes getting sick. I'm just glad that it's now than later in the season, say like over Christmas.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Hi guys .. wow, what a night you guys had! I'm glad you found a company that you enjoy working with .. I think blackie is looking good this morning especially cause of all the on goings last night .. she'll be green in no time! Have a great weekend!
 
Boy, you just have technical issues all over. And coffee ~O) too.

Still looking good Blackie. Stay on target!
Hope there is some green sliding today.

More feel better vines for you!!
 
Ugh! When it rains it pours, eh? Hope you get some better juju going in the electronics world. Good start for Blackie today!
 
Recap:

AMPS 116, 4.0u, 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.35 oz. Evo 95% C&T
PMPS 126, 4.0u, 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.75 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 45 - 0.35 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3.5 51
+4.5 55
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top