10/12, Binie, AMPS 398, +3 444 - increase to 2 IU?

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...500-l-8-5-517-accu-check.294833/#post-3213342

Good morning,

seems my brain is not working right. I was sure today would be day 7 on 1.75 but it is day 8 already. I think there is no doubt she needs an increase? The vet said that the high bg might be due to the antibiotics and she gets the last dose tomorrow. But anyhow, I feel I shouldn't wait, right?

I could do the increase to 2 IU tonight.

@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

Hope everyone has a relaxed Saturday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Update: I gave the 2 IU just now. If it doesn't make sense I can go back again but I am concerned about the rising ketones.
 
Last edited:
Hello Heike!
It seems very high for being due to the antibiotics. Is her infection better now?
I hope you have a good Saturday!

Hi Cecile,

thank you for checking on us! I don't really know what is happening. She is drinking and peeing a lot but that can be due to her high bg. I don't see other signs of a UTI anymore I saw before (licking her private parts, hiding, loosing tiny drops of urine and a urine smell all over). I wonder if I did a fur shot yesterday morning. The plunger went down so easily but I checked and didn't feel any moisture or insulin smell. She had an inflammation where the last libre was but it is healing and she is in no pain if I touch it. I just checked her ketones and they went up to 0.4 mmol/dl which is not very concerning but a trend upwards I don't like. So I don't have a clue. She doesn't seem to be too unwell. If this continues I will bring her to the vet on monday.

Hope you have relaxed Saturday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad you increased. There was no doubt she needed it. Even if the antibiotic had sweetener, she could have developed some glucose toxicity or gotten used to higher numbers. The increase will help.

I hope the antibiotics worked.

Thank you for the confirmation Wendy! She is already going down and below 350 at +3 which she hasn't been for the last two days. And you are right, there is sugar in the antibiotic. I studied the leaflet after you remark and it says "Saccharum", which is another word for sugar. I think they added it because it is also for dogs, who seem to taste sweet. I'm glad tomorrow morning is the last dose. We are going to do another urine test in one week to see if it was sucessful. I hope so...

Hope you have a relaxed Saturday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, wishing you very good luck with the increased dose. Hoping it brings Binie’s numbers down, and she will feel better as a result of that.
I’m glad to hear it Sounds like she’s feeling OK and she’s coming to the end Of the antibiotic. Now we can hope and pray that she has good results at the end of this medication.

Wishing you both a restful night and more healing for Binie. Safe surfing pretty girl :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, wishing you very good luck with the increased dose. Hoping it brings Binie’s numbers down, and she will feel better as a result of that.
I’m glad to hear it Sounds like she’s feeling OK and she’s coming to the end Of the antibiotic. Now we can hope and pray that she has good results at the end of this medication.

Wishing you both a restful night and more healing for Binie. Safe surfing pretty girl :bighug::kiss::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci! I am quite happy right now because she is going down in yellow numbers again. I haven't seen yellow for days! I'll go to bed now and hope you have a restful night later too! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...500-l-8-5-517-accu-check.294833/#post-3213342

Good morning,

seems my brain is not working right. I was sure today would be day 7 on 1.75 but it is day 8 already. I think there is no doubt she needs an increase? The vet said that the high bg might be due to the antibiotics and she gets the last dose tomorrow. But anyhow, I feel I shouldn't wait, right?

I could do the increase to 2 IU tonight.

@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

Hope everyone has a relaxed Saturday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Update: I gave the 2 IU just now. If it doesn't make sense I can go back again but I am concerned about the rising ketones.
Hi Heike,
Good luck with the increase. Safe surfing, Binie! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top