10/12 Austin AMPS 454

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Austin (Aussie)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27169

Last night I really thought I was doing the right thing by him when I checked his PMPS. He was at 140 - which is low for him and lower than 150. So we stalled an hour+.
Checked him at 45 mins and then 70 mins. his number was falling and at 137. So I didn't shoot anything....now he is up in the 450's again.

The weird thing is - when the numbers are going into the blues and I'm excited to see it - he seems less and less like himself. Sleepy and laying down a lot. When he's up in the 300's up to 450's its playtime for him, chomping on his mouse in the morning - purring. I don't get it. Is he tired because his body is processing his blood sugar so much?

The neuropathy is taking its toll on me stress wise as well. It improves, it declines. I dunno. Not having a pity party but I want my baby to feel well again. It's always darkest before the dawn but I feel like I'm on such a roller coaster ride these last three months.
 
This is the pattern with Austin when you skip a shot...I noticed that happened previously on a low preshot. There are many ways to deal with lower than usual prehot numbers. Maybe you will post the number when you get it and be prepared to retest in 15 minutes. Someone will walk you through your options. This is good data for you at any rate.
There is a post from Libby that discusses low preshots: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26571

Without a little insulin last night, Austin is bouncing and has depleted his shed. Maybe you will post next time and we will talk it over with you. Sometimes, we choose to shoot a lowered dose so at least there is some insulin on board.
Take another look at the sitcky above "Ready to Shoot Lower Numbers" viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
Come back then with any questions you might have. It is scary when you get a lower-than-usual preshot. But there are ways to deal with it if you just post that number and ask for assistance, Ok? :mrgreen:
 
Thanks for that great post Pat. I've marked it as a favorite for the future. I *thought* what I was doing last night was heeding the advice from the "shoot low" sticky. 140, and then an hour later + some 137 - to me is a number going down. I should have shot something though - now I see that. I was scared. Now I just feel bad. :sad:
I will ask for some assistance next time too! Thanks for reaching out. :smile:
 
Oh please don't feel bad Tara....it's all part of the learning thing, isn't it? He will get back up to speed in no time at all. It's just that there are so many considerations when you get a low number like that. We have found in the end that shooting something is better than shooting nothing (again,in most cases) :razz:
After getting lots of data you will feel confident in what to shoot when. But in the beginning, it's a heart-stopping moment when you see those lovely lower numbers, isn't it?

Skipping completely leaves them in a higher number. Shooting a BCS dose (big chicken something dose) ;-) will still leave them with higher numbers, but just not sooo high. Shooting a lower number when you are home with plenty of HC gravy and test strips is one thing, but if you have to leave right away, that changes the circumstances.

You will faint if you see what numbers I have shot Shadow at....but really, it's because i try to get a lot of data and I think I know him a little bit at this stage. When you get lots of data, you will be feeling a lot better about shooting lower numbers. But for right now, it is perfectly fine if you post and we will walk you through it. You got great information on how Austin reacts with no insulin on board. This is a good thing. Just post next time if you have any doubts at all, okay?
You are doing a good job! It will get better...don't worry! :YMHUG:
 
The only thing I would add to what Pat said is that each time you shoot a number (e.g., the 172 or the 176 on 10/7), you have a bit more data about how Austin reacts to your having shot a lower than usual number. He did fine on 10/7. Having a PMPS of 140 is not really all that different from the 172. You now have data that would suggest shooting the 140 would be OK. If Austin's PMPS was a 70, I'd have thought long and hard and probably said you weren't data ready to shoot that low. Like Pat suggested, a BCS dose would have offset a red AMPS today. That's one of the choices you have.

What I'm trying to communicate is that the cut off of 150 isn't set in stone. You collect data that will allow you to shoot lower than that. If you take a look at some of the AMPS values today, you'll see a wide range. In fact, Pat shot a 94 today. The goal is to collect as much information as you can so you are able to shoot low safely for Austin and comfortably for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top