10/11 Sya PMPS 212 +4 168 Dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

K. Sya and Sophie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi,
I don't know if this is exactly the right place to post. I don't really tight regulate, but I know you have the most Lantus experience. Anyway...
So it seems I have a new vet. The vet who usually works with Sya has left in the past month and his patients got passed to the new person. She is very nice and has worked with Sya before, but we haven't really ever talked about Sya's meds. I e-mailed her numbers in, which prompted the call and dose discussion.
I have been playing with her dose since her dental. Not too methodically , and I know that's not proper. That much I agree with her on and I am going to just chalk it up to anxiety and stress. (my father passed away 3 months ago after a long battle with cancer and I'm still kind of reeling) :cry: Anyway.
So the vet says stick on 2.75 and hold a while and do a full curve in a week or so and we what it looks like. That much seems reasonable. But she also says she doesn't understand why I am testing as much as I do (I was kind of under the impression that I am doing about the minimum amount of testing to keep Sya safe) She says Lantus is so different from other insulins that you don't need to test every day and she advises her patients to just do a curve every month or so (at home ) and what I am doing is excessive and not necessary. She even went so far as to say that she would collect some articles that describe why daily testing is not necessary (which seems bizarre to me as all the humans on Lantus test daily and I'm not sure why cats would be different). I told her thank you but I didn't have any intention of changing how much I test as neither Sya nor I were bothered by what we ere doing.
Anyway, I'm rambling. Does it seem reasonable to hold at 2.75? Its kind of seeming like that is where we were headed anyway. She is doing very very well and I am trying to strike a happy medium between her health and safety and mine. So far we seem to be successful, so I'm also reluctant to rock that boat.
 
So sorry to hear about your father.

no input on the dose question...but congratulations for standing your ground on testing!
We do what we can do...and you know Sya better than anyone....
hang in there!

celi & binks
 
My question for a vet that says we test too much is to ask if this were her child, would she recommend not testing and getting a HgA1C every month or two. I think not. Since a cat can't tell us if they are feeling lousy due to low BG, our only alternative is to test as a means of making sure our cat is safe. Again, would a parent wait until their child was having a seizure to test? I don't think so.

I think you're fine holding the dose. I would encourage you to be a bit more consistent with your dosing. I'm not sure why you are decreasing at the points that you're dropping Sya's dose.
 
no help with the dosing but happy you told your vet you would stand your ground my vet whom I am very close to after working with him for 16 yrs thinks daily testing is hard and stressful on the cat I wish he could see me testing Do Lous feet all the while he is licking my cheek at the same time vets just do not understand how important it is to not shoot blind

Very sorry for you loss (((((hugs)))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top