10/11 Sunny AMPS 332, +3 367, +8.5 400

Holly and Sunny Bear

Member Since 2021
yesterday

I'm perplexed by these high numbers we're seeing now - is this a bounce? He was in the blues all day yesterday.

Given that Sunny had a neurolgic event of some kind this weekend (the ER vet thinks was a hyperglycemic event)... I am even more worried about these high numbers now. He was at 346 when it happened.

He also had a slight UTI and was given a shot of convenia on Saturday

We did see green on 10/8 - so I am holding this dose for now. But the vet seemed to think he might need a dose increase. I don't know. I'm wondering if his dose is too high.

Can someone take a look and advise? Does this look like too little or too much isulin? Would you hold at 2.25U?

thank you
Holly
 
Last edited:
Hi, Holly. I can't give dosing advice and the greens you saw a few nights ago might require you to hold the dose a few more cycles but wait to hear what an expert says. It probably is a bounce from the blues. I wanted to ask how Sunny Bear is doing. Any more scary moments since the weekend? I hope he is feeling good! :)
 
Thanks @Summer and Susie! We've not had any more events thank goodness, but Sunny was pretty lethargic and dull all weekend until late last night and he seemed to snap out of it. He seems like his normal self today pretty much :cat:
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom @tiffmaxee When you get the chance would you mind looking at Sunny's spreadsheet and let me know if you think he's having these high numbers from too high or too low of a dose? He's skating along in all pinks today. I'm afraid I'm doing him harm by not dosing correctly. We switched to Lantus to help with all the bouncing he was seeing on PZ, and at first it seemed to help regulate his numbers but now he bounces high for entire days or more. I'm really worried especially bc of his neurological episode this weekend. Is this the somogyi effect from him being on too high of a dose? Or do I just need to give him more time on his current dose?

thank you!
Holly
 
He’s not bouncing right now. He needs more insulin I think. When the bounce cleared he just got down to blue. I don’t think he sent hypo looking at his numbers but can’t tell you what caused the episode.
 
Back
Top