10/11 Nick AMPS 400 +4 311 +6 281 +8 250 New Member

Nick's Human

Member Since 2021
Hello all, I hope I've done the thread title correctly. Nick & I are new to Lantus (less than 3 weeks in) We are using the SLGS Method. He was diagnosed diabetic on March 5th and we have tried Caninsulin & Prozinc with limited success. He has always seemed to have pretty high AMPS even when no suggestion of a bounce. I don't feel I understand Lantus fully yet, I have read the stickies and looked at some posts and SS's here and I would very much appreciate any insight and thoughts on what might be going on for Nick. I suspect he may have hit nadir after +8 on yesterdays AM cycle as he had a huge leap (bounce?) at PMPS. Hopefully his SS can be accessed via my signature but my link seems to be different to others here so I'm not sure if I messed up.
 
Hi Nick's Human! Welcome to the Lantus forum. Your thread title is perfect and we can see your spreadsheet just fine. You're doing a great job testing him and catching those lower numbers. I see he's eating wet food--would you consider following the TR protocol? It's a bit more aggressive but since you test a lot you could get him into better numbers faster. Here is a link to a description of both SLGS and TR if you want a refresher: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Welcome to the forum! I did the trifecta of insulins too (Vetsulin then Prozinc and now Lantus). I’m definitely happiest with Lantus out of the three. I personally started seeing much better numbers when I started following TR (being able to shoot lower numbers and being able to increase the dose more frequently if necessary), so I would second Katherine’s suggestion of potentially thinking about following TR if you’re interested and able.
 
Hello and welcome to FDMB! :)

Nick needs more insulin. We don't hold doses longer than 7 days - even with SLGS. You can take him up to 1U tomorrow morning.
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome. I hope Lantus will work well for the two of you. My girl was on Caninsulin first too, so happy when we switched!

As something to make it easier for those of us who look at spreadsheets, do you mind putting something in the lines before you started Lantus. Just something simple like "start Lantus" and maybe a change in cell colour on the spreadsheet will do. You also have to make the change on the US version of the SS too.
 
Back
Top