10/11 Mikey AMPS 151/166, +2 148, PMPS 179, +3 110

You can give the full shot since you can get a +2. If necessary, you can feed higher carbs at +2.

ETA: You could try going down in dose to 0.75U
 
You could try going down in dose to 0.75U
Hi Bhooma. I'm questioning just because I'm trying to learn, not because I disagree. I'm sure you know much more about this situation than I do. If this kitty is on TR, why would there be a need for a reduction? Why a question whether to shoot the full dose at 150? Maybe because the Mikey is newly diabetic and Lynn has to work and can't test for several hours? Just being cautious?
 
Hi Bhooma. I'm questioning just because I'm trying to learn, not because I disagree. I'm sure you know much more about this situation than I do. If this kitty is on TR, why would there be a need for a reduction? Why a question whether to shoot the full dose at 150? Maybe because the Mikey is newly diabetic and Lynn has to work and can't test for several hours? Just being cautious?
Yes. Mainly because Mikey has been on insulin for only 5 days and the initial depot is still building. It's possible that the starting dose is too high. In any case, with caregivers whose cats are new to insulin and don't have enough data, we suggest skipping below 150 (if the cat has no ketones.)
 
Yes. Mainly because Mikey has been on insulin for only 5 days and the initial depot is still building. It's possible that the starting dose is too high. In any case, with caregivers whose cats are new to insulin and don't have enough data, we suggest skipping below 150 (if the cat has no ketones.)
Gotcha! That makes perfect sense! Thank you for explaining. :)
 
Lynn, words of encouragement... Mikey is looking REALLY good for just starting on insulin. I'm excited for you that he is already in the blues. Hopefully he continues this path and you will be able to do an OTJ trial soon! Sometimes all they need is a diet change but most of our vets put them on insulin or too much insulin right off the bat. Safe surfing today!
 
Back
Top